Lala81 Hypersonic April 20 Share April 20 On 4/14/2026 at 4:19 PM, Lala81 said: I just changed from my Michellins to cheaper tyre yesterday. Yokohama Aspec A349 The tyre don't seem to have tread wear indicators ar? I have to go take a proper photo sometime. No time yesterday to do that. Finally took a photo this morning. Really puzzled why no tread wear indicators. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic April 20 Share April 20 On 4/20/2026 at 6:59 PM, Lala81 said: Finally took a photo this morning. Really puzzled why no tread wear indicators. Yokohama Tyres no need Tread Wear Indicators,because left 50% Tread,either too noisy or too poor Grip,Owners will ''Auto'' change new Tyres.! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 20 Share April 20 On 4/20/2026 at 7:11 PM, ER-3682 said: Yokohama Tyres no need Tread Wear Indicators,because left 50% Tread,either too noisy or too poor Grip,Owners will ''Auto'' change new Tyres.! Or buang then change car😅 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20 Share April 20 After the tyre change, I'm also hearing a roaring sound somewhat at around 80-85kph being most obvious. But after that the sound seems to be less obvious at higher speeds. And also the car feels fine. Lower speeds I don't hear anything. I don't feel any alignment issue. Asked chatgpt and this is what i got. Quote A new noise right after a tyre change is a big clue—it’s usually something about the tyres, installation, or wheel setup rather than the engine. The fact that it shows up around 80–90 km/h and then doesn’t scale much louder is also typical of certain vibration/resonance issues. Here are the most likely causes: 1. Tyre tread pattern noise (very common) Some tyres—especially more aggressive or cheaper ones—produce a “roaring” or “drone” at certain speeds. This happens when the tread blocks hit the road at a frequency that creates a harmonic sound. Often يظهر only at a specific speed band Doesn’t always get louder beyond that speed More noticeable on rougher asphalt If you switched to a different brand/model, this is a top suspect. 2. Wheel balancing issue If the wheels weren’t properly balanced, you can get vibration that turns into a humming/roaring sound. Usually felt slightly through the steering wheel or seat Often most noticeable in a specific speed range (like 80–100 km/h) Even a small imbalance can cause this. 3. Tyre mounted incorrectly (directional/asymmetrical tyres) Some tyres are designed to rotate in a specific direction or have an “inside/outside” orientation. If installed wrong: You can get unusual road noise Grip and water dispersion can also be affected Worth visually checking the sidewall markings. 4. Uneven tyre seating or bead issue If the tyre didn’t seat perfectly on the rim: It can create slight irregularities Leads to noise or mild vibration at speed This is less common but happens. 5. Wheel alignment slightly off If alignment is out (or was already borderline before): New tyres can reveal it immediately Can cause a humming/roaring sound due to uneven contact Usually paired with the car feeling slightly “off” or drifting. 6. Wheel bearing coincidence It’s possible (though timing is suspicious) that a worn wheel bearing is the real cause. Typically a constant hum/roar that changes with speed Often gets louder as speed increases (unlike what you described) May change when you turn slightly left/right Because your noise doesn’t keep getting louder, this is less likely—but still worth keeping in mind. What you should do next Go back to the tyre shop and ask for: Rebalancing of all wheels Quick check of tyre direction/orientation Ask them to take a short test drive with you so you can point out the noise If the issue persists, check alignment If you want, tell me: The tyre brand/model you installed Your car model I can help you narrow it down further—some tyres are known for exactly this kind of noise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic April 20 Share April 20 On 4/20/2026 at 7:17 PM, Lala81 said: After the tyre change, I'm also hearing a roaring sound somewhat at around 80-85kph being most obvious. But after that the sound seems to be less obvious at higher speeds. And also the car feels fine. Lower speeds I don't hear anything. I don't feel any alignment issue. Asked chatgpt and this is what i got. I never like Yokohama or Falken Tyres,new Tyres 80-85 Km/h have Roaring Sound,after 20,000Km,sure need Ear Plugs. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic April 20 Share April 20 EVs very quiet,so Tyres need to be very quiet,or else spoil the peace. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20 Share April 20 (edited) On 4/20/2026 at 7:22 PM, ER-3682 said: I never like Yokohama or Falken Tyres,new Tyres 80-85 Km/h have Roaring Sound,after 20,000Km,sure need Ear Plugs. B&B car what to do. Yokohama already better than what Blackhawk/Tourador etc right. That price point is yokohama/dunlop. So i just chose yokohama lor. Both are budget tyre category. Car scrapping in May 2028. My mileage around low 20+k km/year. So just nice to reach there if really wait until scrap. Edited April 20 by Lala81 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20 Share April 20 Interestingly enough, while I was at the tyre WS (drove my kids to school and then later drove to the tyre WS just before 11am), the malaysian mechanic suggest i change battery. Battery around 1.5+ years old. Then he showed me the voltage 12.78 volts, asked me whether want to change. Quoted me $120, I was like ... ok lor i guess ... I also scared of being stranded from dead battery. Then walking back into the waiting area, I checked chatgpt, seems like have to do crank from cold engine to get reliable reading and the voltage should be much lower before it's considered "unhealthy". Seems like he's trying to upsell me... In the end, the mechanic came in few mins later and said he quoted wrong price (difference of $20) and asked me again if I'm ok, then I said not to change then. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic April 20 Share April 20 On 4/20/2026 at 7:25 PM, Lala81 said: B&B car what to do. Yokohama already better than what Blackhawk/Tourador etc right. That price point is yokohama/dunlop. So i just chose yokohama lor. Both are budget tyre category. Car scrapping in May 2028. My mileage around low 20+k km/year. So just nice to reach there if really wait until scrap. Chey,i thought your Car is a quite new EV... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20 Share April 20 On 4/20/2026 at 7:34 PM, ER-3682 said: Chey,i thought your Car is a quite new EV... i only post here since it's the hottest tyre thread mah. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 20 Share April 20 On 4/20/2026 at 7:11 PM, ER-3682 said: Yokohama Tyres no need Tread Wear Indicators,because left 50% Tread,either too noisy or too poor Grip,Owners will ''Auto'' change new Tyres.! Yoko are banned for me, unless there is no more rain in SG. 🤣 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20 Share April 20 On 4/20/2026 at 7:49 PM, Mkl22 said: Yoko are banned for me, unless there is no more rain in SG. 🤣 uncle liao. driving slower and slower. see so many reckless driver videos until get scared Always scared i miss a pedestrian or someone doing some stupid crap. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 20 Share April 20 (edited) On 4/20/2026 at 7:31 PM, Lala81 said: Interestingly enough, while I was at the tyre WS (drove my kids to school and then later drove to the tyre WS just before 11am), the malaysian mechanic suggest i change battery. Battery around 1.5+ years old. Then he showed me the voltage 12.78 volts, asked me whether want to change. Quoted me $120, I was like ... ok lor i guess ... I also scared of being stranded from dead battery. Then walking back into the waiting area, I checked chatgpt, seems like have to do crank from cold engine to get reliable reading and the voltage should be much lower before it's considered "unhealthy". Seems like he's trying to upsell me... In the end, the mechanic came in few mins later and said he quoted wrong price (difference of $20) and asked me again if I'm ok, then I said not to change then. 12.76v ok la, very healthy. Malaysian mech always like to smoke and scare. It’s not the voltage but internal resistance and state of health measured via CCA. this is my amaron 380CCA. 45aH. Measured a few days ago. Installed Since 13aug2024. what you want to have is 70% of CCA to be safe and internal resistance of below 10ohms. At least this is what I adhere by for the last few batteries that lasted 3years and never been stranded. i DIY change batteries for my own and parents. Edited April 20 by Mkl22 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 20 Share April 20 Maybe Mechanics get commission for selling battery🤭 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged April 20 Share April 20 On 4/20/2026 at 7:49 PM, Mkl22 said: Yoko are banned for me, unless there is no more rain in SG. 🤣 my car is using AD08R now you are right, very lousy in the rain almost crippling the car, got to drive like it is on black ice 😅 @Lala81 mine have TWI (tread wear indicators) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 20 Share April 20 (edited) On 4/20/2026 at 8:18 PM, Gnahp said: my car is using AD08R now you are right, very lousy in the rain almost crippling the car, got to drive like it is on black ice 😅 @Lala81 mine have TWI (tread wear indicators) Dry they are very good. Stiff sidewalls and excellent traction. AD08R should be quite old. Now AD09 already. Heard it’s better in the wet. But never dare to try. Also more ex than my current favorite RE004. RE005 will be out in June for my size. Waiting to try. Edited April 20 by Mkl22 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic April 20 Share April 20 On 4/20/2026 at 6:59 PM, Lala81 said: Finally took a photo this morning. Really puzzled why no tread wear indicators. i am suite sure got, u turn out the front wheel see larger area, or look for a triangle sign at the side wall follow in 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic April 20 Share April 20 On 4/20/2026 at 8:18 PM, Gnahp said: my car is using AD08R now you are right, very lousy in the rain almost crippling the car, got to drive like it is on black ice 😅 @Lala81 mine have TWI (tread wear indicators) this model is not suppose to be good in the rain😅. its for chionster who go track occasionally, but dun have a 2nd sets of wheels😊 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...