clasher 4th Gear June 18, 2016 Share June 18, 2016 I need a little help with how OMV, CEVS and PARF work: For OMV - if it's high, I get more $ back? CEVS rebate - is it the same ? How about PARF? Thanks! parf value depends on arf, and arf is based on omv. so yes, if omv is higher, you will have a higher "scrap value" after 10 years. cevs rebate is based on the vehicle's carbon emission, and will be offset against the arf. so if your car qualifies for cevs rebate, you will get back lesser for your parf. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic June 18, 2016 Share June 18, 2016 What are you talking about? All cars that are on the road must be LTA tested and approved and also go through VICOM testing when on the road, so why worry? all are approved. So no issues with safety on any lights in Singapore. It is not like you can pick and choose the lights that come with the car.I agree as long as LTA approved heck care led, lcd or bulb. Hahaha In my previous rides I only change bulb when it was blown. Never ever changes two or more bulb at the same time. Is cheap to change as well. Less than $15 (depend on brand) I can get it. Haha sometimes I diy. The Vezel on headlight is the auto light. Now I don't worry batt flat. Hahaha engine off all off. To be honest, unless thunder storm our road do brightly lighted. Haha sometime I do forgotten to on headlight. Can tell the different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lamboluver Neutral Newbie June 18, 2016 Share June 18, 2016 I agree as long as LTA approved heck care led, lcd or bulb. Hahaha In my previous rides I only change bulb when it was blown. Never ever changes two or more bulb at the same time. Is cheap to change as well. Less than $15 (depend on brand) I can get it. Haha sometimes I diy. The Vezel on headlight is the auto light. Now I don't worry batt flat. Hahaha engine off all off. To be honest, unless thunder storm our road do brightly lighted. Haha sometime I do forgotten to on headlight. Can tell the different. In the end of course it is a matter of choice for some people between halogen and leds, which in Singapore, is mainly for aesthetic reasons, I can respect that, even if leds are better than halogen lights, fine, I accept that also, but unless one goes rallying in the Malaysian jungles all the time, actually halogen or sodium lamps are still the mainstay. For Singapore roads only cars imported here have to meet international and Singapore standards, so do not bring in the topic of safety into this discussion. Up to the last day of owning my previous car which I sold to the new owner, who insisted I send the car for VICOM testing, the 8 year old halogen projector lamps still passed the VICOM test with flying colors. Yes and like you said, Singapore roads are one of the most well lit roads in the world, so safety is not really an issue with the type of lights, I have never seen any case of owner suing car manufacturers for supplying lights that were not up to standard and caused accident due to insufficient visibility. In fact LTA's usual enforcement is to stop people from installing "extra safe" headlamps or lighting system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AKB48 1st Gear June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 From functional point, agrees. From maintenance point of view, halogen needs to be replaced regularly. It will become dimmer & dimmer over time. On the other hand, LED works fine 8 - 10 years. The only downside is once spoilt, need to replace entire headlight. From aesthetic point of view, it make the car look 21 century. If you can't tell the diff, maybe you should take B.M.W. The difference in brightness does not matter. Even if you have the brightest led brake lights in the automotive world, it cannot stop a person from rear ending your car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 What are you talking about? All cars that are on the road must be LTA tested and approved and also go through VICOM testing when on the road, so why worry? all are approved. So no issues with safety on any lights in Singapore. It is not like you can pick and choose the lights that come with the car. VICOM is a joke lah. It is common knowledge that headlight will fail most of the time. But everyone still pass the inspection. U can pick and choose the light depending on what car u buy. Lastly, LTA has make themselves a joker to the world with the way they test the imported used Tesla. U still trust them? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 VICOM is a joke lah. It is common knowledge that headlight will fail most of the time. But everyone still pass the inspection. U can pick and choose the light depending on what car u buy. Lastly, LTA has make themselves a joker to the world with the way they test the imported used Tesla. U still trust them? Precisely my point... so talking about passing the inspection for lights so that whether LED or HID or halogen doesn't make a difference is moot... the type of lights does make a difference. The light assembly technology also makes a big difference. For example auto levelling head lights ensure no glare in the opposite direction. Helps to reduce accidents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 (edited) Just went to Kah motor, they selling the new HRV Premium at $112,999. Earliest delivery is Oct 2016. How much is PI selling now? Yes. Alternatively, if you want, you may try to stop with lesser brake pressure. With that, the start stop system will not activate. Or else if you want to restart the engine before shifting gear, turn the steering wheel abit and the engine will restart. Maybe you would like to switch off the "auto start-stop" when you do parking? Edited June 19, 2016 by MadDog70 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lamboluver Neutral Newbie June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 VICOM is a joke lah. It is common knowledge that headlight will fail most of the time. But everyone still pass the inspection. U can pick and choose the light depending on what car u buy. Lastly, LTA has make themselves a joker to the world with the way they test the imported used Tesla. U still trust them? Whatever it is the high beams on the Honda Vezel are still good old fashion halogen bulbs. I pick the better car to buy and not based on the lights. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 Whatever it is the high beams on the Honda Vezel are still good old fashion halogen bulbs. I pick the better car to buy and not based on the lights. Lights are one of the things that make a car better or worse. Sorry but I buay tahan have to highlight two fallacies: 1) Meeting a minimum safety standard (eg, LTA headlight regulations) doesn't mean there's no point in choosing something that exceeds the minimum. That's like saying there's no benefit to better brakes as long as can stop. When it comes to safety, better is always better, if the option is available and if you can afford it. 2) Singapore's excellent lighting infrastructure does mean car lighting isn't as crucial, but doesn't mean there aren't real safety benefits from better headlights, regardless of whether it's in a dark twisty carpark, or when approaching an inattentive driver or pedestrian who might not otherwise notice you. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, and their choice of how to spend their hard-earned money. As long as the discussion's purely in the realm of opinion, no one has grounds to contradict you. Eg, if you simply don't like to consider lights when making a car purchase, hey, your money. But if you insist that headlights are entirely about aesthetics, and that other forum members shouldn't bring safety into the discussion, then I think you're mistaken - about the logic of your arguments, and about what's relevant to safety. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keira 4th Gear June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 Diehard halogen light fan spotted!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 Lights are one of the things that make a car better or worse. Sorry but I buay tahan have to highlight two fallacies: 1) Meeting a minimum safety standard (eg, LTA headlight regulations) doesn't mean there's no point in choosing something that exceeds the minimum. That's like saying there's no benefit to better brakes as long as can stop. When it comes to safety, better is always better, if the option is available and if you can afford it. 2) Singapore's excellent lighting infrastructure does mean car lighting isn't as crucial, but doesn't mean there aren't real safety benefits from better headlights, regardless of whether it's in a dark twisty carpark, or when approaching an inattentive driver or pedestrian who might not otherwise notice you. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, and their choice of how to spend their hard-earned money. As long as the discussion's purely in the realm of opinion, no one has grounds to contradict you. Eg, if you simply don't like to consider lights when making a car purchase, hey, your money. But if you insist that headlights are entirely about aesthetics, and that other forum members shouldn't bring safety into the discussion, then I think you're mistaken - about the logic of your arguments, and about what's relevant to safety. Well said bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Intel Clutched June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 Thanks! But why/how the factor 2.3 is being used. Thank in advance. In this case, the base cost is around 20.5k x2.3 =47.15k which seems logical & make sense as the price quoted by PI is around 101k (cost 47.15k+COE 53k), hence, if COE stay at 53k, anything above 101k will be the PI profit margin. If the base cost is 20.5k, this will be the calculation OMV = 20,500 ARF = (1.0 x 20000) + (1.4 x 500) = 20,700 Excise Duty = (0.2 x 20500) = 4,100 GST = (0.07 x (20500 + 4100)) = 1,722 Total = 47,022 (This is the cost of the car before CEVS rebate) If the dealer is selling at 53,000 and CEVS rebate is 10,000 Their margin will be (53,000 - (47022 - 10000)) = 15,978 But also take note of the stuff they give u, car will come without head unit, reverse cam, leather seat, cae cam etc All this will be fitted locally, so you subtract accordingly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
gnail 2nd Gear June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 If the base cost is 20.5k, this will be the calculation OMV = 20,500 ARF = (1.0 x 20000) + (1.4 x 500) = 20,700 Excise Duty = (0.2 x 20500) = 4,100 GST = (0.07 x (20500 + 4100)) = 1,722 Total = 47,022 (This is the cost of the car before CEVS rebate) If the dealer is selling at 53,000 and CEVS rebate is 10,000 Their margin will be (53,000 - (47022 - 10000)) = 15,978 But also take note of the stuff they give u, car will come without head unit, reverse cam, leather seat, cae cam etc All this will be fitted locally, so you subtract accordingly. Thank you very much of your effort to work out the details. After all this calculation, it seems that the possible real base cost of Vezel is around 47k plus. PI may get more discount of the base cost if they can sell more units. The other possible PI profit is through the bank loan interest (min loan period of 5 years), they usual share half-half with the approved bank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 On spore road light not a critical factor in choosing purchasing decision. Headlight is for other to see you (external). Infact nos of airbag, maintenance cost the highest. To me led is just like spoiler or body kit. Good to has but not a must. Nite time driving honestly I can't tell on coming car is led or halogen. I rather concentrate on the traffic. The only time is at the carpark. Wow..led light swèe. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 On spore road light not a critical factor in choosing purchasing decision. Headlight is for other to see you (external). Infact nos of airbag, maintenance cost the highest. To me led is just like spoiler or body kit. Good to has but not a must. Nite time driving honestly I can't tell on coming car is led or halogen. I rather concentrate on the traffic. The only time is at the carpark. Wow..led light swèe. LED is not like spolier or body kit. LED headlight is the way forward. Halogen waste a lot of energy to heat the tungsten. Look at all the LED headlight from BMW. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 Does anyone know if the Kah version comes with a spare tire? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 If the base cost is 20.5k, this will be the calculation OMV = 20,500 ARF = (1.0 x 20000) + (1.4 x 500) = 20,700 Excise Duty = (0.2 x 20500) = 4,100 GST = (0.07 x (20500 + 4100)) = 1,722 Total = 47,022 (This is the cost of the car before CEVS rebate) If the dealer is selling at 53,000 and CEVS rebate is 10,000 Their margin will be (53,000 - (47022 - 10000)) = 15,978 But also take note of the stuff they give u, car will come without head unit, reverse cam, leather seat, cae cam etc All this will be fitted locally, so you subtract accordingly. In other words, we are paying 5 times the OMV to drive in Singapore!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear June 19, 2016 Share June 19, 2016 Does anyone know if the Kah version comes with a spare tire? Thanks No spare tyre too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...