Driver killed by falling tree....

Wind30

there is a first hand report in another forum.

http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.ph...pic=80381.0;all

I am pretty sick and tired of ALL THE EXCUSES given by our government. Nobody is blaming them for the death. But how can they say it is caused by MICROBURST after 24 hours?

Don't they even bother to investigate the root cause why that tree fell?? The guy in the other thread suspect it is due to the new drainage works weakening the roots. They just come out and cover their backside and push the blame to something else. Just like the orchard road flood.

This is getting ridiculous. I am actually thinking of running for the opposition...

this is indeed a freak accident. that tree is so damn big..cant understand why it could be uprooted.

to be frank, i really dunno how one can blame the gahmen for a fallen tree like this. unless its due to poor maintainence of course. but we all dunno the reason.

RIP to the deceased. amitabha.

well, i don't wanna say blame the gahmen. not when i have not written to them stating my case AGAINST any form of trees planted by the roadside.

I think all trees should be removed from along the roads. really. gazette more nature areas if need be, but trees don't belong by the roads.

even without rain, i find that the shadow and bright areas are too contrasty in the day. cos the shade is uneven. i'd much rather have no shade at all along the highway than have intermittent shade screwing up my vision.

this is not the first time a tree has landed on a car with people in it, and certainly won't be the last. i still remember few years back a branch pierced the roof of a car and impaled the front passenger seat. it was driven by a lady with her two sons, BUT luckily, her sons were seating in the back as was their usual practice.

pruning the trees only reduces the risk somewhat, but doesn't really eliminate it.

of course, tree-huggers will come to flame me, but maybe cos they haven't come close to getting squashed by one yet.

when i'm more free to draft a proper letter, i'll send it to all local papers and to yacob and friends. then will keep u guys posted. meanwhile, anyone who is free and agrees with me please do the honours first

Goodness! Microburst, now terms for aviation meteorology also come out.

Wind speed of 65km/hr also can say it's microburst.

They should have just said it a very unfortunate incident.

It's really impossible to predict such incidents, it's only preventable if there is no trees on the road which is not what we want also.

They must say something cheem to smoke us mah. Microburst? Nanoburst? Ultra-microburst? liak boh kiew leh.

T

Goodness! Microburst, now terms for aviation meteorology also come out.

Wind speed of 65km/hr also can say it's microburst.

They should have just said it a very unfortunate incident.

It's really impossible to predict such incidents, it's only preventable if there is no trees on the road which is not what we want also.

My fart can hit 30km/h if I microburst hard enough.

well, i don't wanna say blame the gahmen. not when i have not written to them stating my case AGAINST any form of trees planted by the roadside.

I think all trees should be removed from along the roads. really. gazette more nature areas if need be, but trees don't belong by the roads.

even without rain, i find that the shadow and bright areas are too contrasty in the day. cos the shade is uneven. i'd much rather have no shade at all along the highway than have intermittent shade screwing up my vision.

this is not the first time a tree has landed on a car with people in it, and certainly won't be the last. i still remember few years back a branch pierced the roof of a car and impaled the front passenger seat. it was driven by a lady with her two sons, BUT luckily, her sons were seating in the back as was their usual practice.

pruning the trees only reduces the risk somewhat, but doesn't really eliminate it.

of course, tree-huggers will come to flame me, but maybe cos they haven't come close to getting squashed by one yet.

when i'm more free to draft a proper letter, i'll send it to all local papers and to yacob and friends. then will keep u guys posted. meanwhile, anyone who is free and agrees with me please do the honours first

OT. Not relating to this case. It did cross my mind that why don't we have more pockets of nature reserves instead of planting trees along the roads (eg. narrow turf, too much digging to lay cables, etc, roots sometimes destroy pavements, fallen branches my destroy properties/people, etc....) .

Really a microburst? What happened to the area around the tree? If the winds were strong enough to uproot the tree, the car would've been blown off in the first place. Cars like the Honda Freed don't hold up that well against crosswinds, much less winds that are capable of uprooting a huge tree like that. I guess we're being taken for a ride yet again.

It sucks to die that way.

RIP...

When you got to go...you got to go...no matter how...

Totally agree. Sittting in a double decker bus can also get killed.

I saw the news yesterday. What disturbs me is at the wake, there was a Swastika, aka Nazi sign displayed over the body.....

Sad for the little girl he left behind and the wife who apparently has to continue paying the car instalments....insurance?

I saw the news yesterday. What disturbs me is at the wake, there was a Swastika, aka Nazi sign displayed over the body.....

Sad for the little girl he left behind and the wife who apparently has to continue paying the car instalments....insurance?

There's a few religion that uses that symbol, including buddhism. Nazis don't own that symbol..

Thnks for enlightening me.....learn sth new [thumbsup]

The swastika has been in use for thousands of years, by various groups and religions. It's just that the Nazi 'hijacked' the sign, and in our modern age, it has unfortunately been associated with them.

Anyway the nazi swastika looks very different from that used by say, Buddhism.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swastika

http://buddhismatoz.com/s/Svastika.html