BlueOldMan 1st Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 Wow. Then next u can try do diy balancing fr yr wheels. I saw 5th gear jeremy diy n use small coins n superglue instead of lead weights. He can balance @@ easier than trying wheels ba Hahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 (edited) Ya, mine oso 60 n 5 blades U bought the fan 100+ rite like mine oso this price range I meant the other bro say got so many steps to balance The price would be steep too Er....mine that time is 500plus each incl light kit n installation. Brand is Elmark. Ty give a lifetime guarantee on it. Edited June 8, 2013 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 ok, another calculation for me.. i intend to get 4 ceiling fan, bigger one at living while smaller ones in the rooms. nowadays most items from china, maybe kdk in malaysia but no light.. so unlikely to be kdk wah.. no choice.. buy 1 ceiling fan in sg, can get 2 over in malaysia. still save.. any recommended installer? oh, what happen if the blades are not balanced? noisy? but good part is more wind if not balance you see the lighting kit shake lor......... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 It should be the fan no need the mc cos oreadi can spin with it's motor Hahaha more like the fan need a machine to stop it from spinning............ [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 He can balance @@ easier than trying wheels ba Hahaha [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 Ya my earlier smaller fan n my present 60" fans all e blades r made of wood. I think wood sud b more lasting than plastic. but I heard they slowing replacing the woods with plastic liao...........mayb because of cost ........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 Wow. Then next u can try do diy balancing fr yr wheels. I saw 5th gear jeremy diy n use small coins n superglue instead of lead weights. wheels cannot lah............that one need machine wor........... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 He can balance @@ easier than trying wheels ba Hahaha @@ easy to balance...............that one I know since young............. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 but I heard they slowing replacing the woods with plastic liao...........mayb because of cost ........... I think wood more lasting. Mine abt 15 yrs n still no problem. Maybe can last 30-40 yrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 wheels cannot lah............that one need machine wor........... [laugh] I saw top gear jeremy use small coins n superglue. Maybe u can try n see how? If fan can diy....maybe car also can diy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 I think wood more lasting. Mine abt 15 yrs n still no problem. Maybe can last 30-40 yrs. Blades usually quite lasting be it wood or plastic............is the motor that is the issue with most ceiling fans...........so far all complaints I came across are abt the motor dying............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 I saw top gear jeremy use small coins n superglue. Maybe u can try n see how? If fan can diy....maybe car also can diy? ok i go try and let you know............. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 Blades usually quite lasting be it wood or plastic............is the motor that is the issue with most ceiling fans...........so far all complaints I came across are abt the motor dying............ Plastic after some time exposed to uv light wil become brittle n disintegrate. My motor was sold as big motor. Ty guarantee fr life. I ask how long is life. Ty say 15 yrs good already but mine already 15 yrs n all 5 fans still very good. I think easy 20-30yrs. Maybe more even. Hope ty last cos quite troublesome to change celing fans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 Plastic after some time exposed to uv light wil become brittle n disintegrate. My motor was sold as big motor. Ty guarantee fr life. I ask how long is life. Ty say 15 yrs good already but mine already 15 yrs n all 5 fans still very good. I think easy 20-30yrs. Maybe more even. Hope ty last cos quite troublesome to change celing fans. thats true of plastic......... 15 years enough liao lah................ [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 thats true of plastic......... 15 years enough liao lah................ [laugh] Ive seen celing fans at relatives n frens old homes....usually brands like USHA...or sumtin like that...damm old. Wobble wobble n got kraak kraak sound sumore but still working. I chked that brand is now made in india. Ty r maybe 40 over yrs old n still working. Thats why i install good celing fans. Can last forever....dun take up space.....n gives very natural breeze. I still hv a couple of stand fans in storeroom as stand-by just in case its needed but seldom used at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djim 1st Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 http://www.bigassfans.com/ anybody tried buying this before, I am thinking about it but i can't find a distributor here, sounded very good on paper but not sure if it is all that good in real life Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 Er....mine that time is 500plus each incl light kit n installation. Brand is Elmark. Ty give a lifetime guarantee on it. Oh then I'm wrong with the prices 8 yrs ago..... Maybe one light is ard 100+, think a fan maybe ard 300-500 My bad Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear June 8, 2013 Share June 8, 2013 There's a new type of ceiling fan that has 6 speed and can reverse direction for air circulation instead of "blowing". It also save 60% electricity over conventional ones. If interested PM me, I pass you the contact. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...