Safe Overtaking

Kelpie

All this talk of safety distances and braking times do NOT detract from the fact that if there's a faster car behind you...GIVE WAY!!!

Do you want us to believe you got braking problem/lacks driving skill (laugh)

Dunno leh cos i usually travel at 140kmh n end up i am overtaking e others on lane 1. But many times I am e one hv to 'undertake' those other slow pokes who tailgate n refuse to give way to faster vehicles on lane 1.

1Car length fr every 10kmh is e international standard fr driving.

Maybe SG very special n hv their own 'standard'. HAHAHA :D

Be very careful. That 'slow' one in Lane 1 may just filter left into Lane 2 as he was 56 metres ahead when he last saw you. At 140km/h with 14 car length = 56 metres (1-car length = 4.0 metres), I wish you good luck (you may need overhelming lots of it). I believe this is all the help I can give you

He didn't clutch in. He let it stall. He was p-plate at that time but in my family cuz we run a transport company all of us started driving at around 15-16. Normally he looks 3-4 cars ahead so although he keep 5 car lengths he still can react in time cuz he see far ahead. For this accident there was no other cars to look out for except for the car directly infront of him.

How to keep 5 car-length when he normally look 3-4 car ahead only? He often rear-end others?

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

if cannot see far enough (lorry, mpv), keep a greater distance away. if no lateral space in case of emergency, keep greater distance away. if tired from a hard day's work, keep greater distance. rainy day, greater distance.

also depends on what is the car in front, whether got wide tyres, BBK, Lambo, etc. that will affect your safety distance too. just imagine a F1 driver jam brake his F1 machine in front, give you 3 second also no use.

2s may be a good gauge for most, but there is no hard and fast rule, different people react at different speed, brake differently, judge differently. car also behaves differently.

best is on a quiet and empty weekend morning, with sufficient light for safety (to see others and for others to see you), go try e-brake urself, try out your ABS. anyway this is only stopping distance, not counting the car traveling distance you took to react.

do not assume ABS will always help to decrease stopping distance in all circumstances.

my personal opinion is if you need a total of more than 0.6s to react (i.e. mentally plus place foot on brake pedal only, the moment foot on brake and pressure applied is counted as braking distance), better keep greater distance.

I dun have ABS ler, so cannot one shot depress the brake totally... [:p]

Do not worry without ABS. You can DIY. Step hard onto the foot brake pedal. Release the foot from the foot brake pedal. Step hard onto the foot brake pedal again. Keep repeating this, and its about the same as ABS. ABS most useful when driver panicked, jammed brake and hold foot down even when car start to skid

He was alert. His reaction time also quite fast. Just that at 100km/h with only 5 car lengths most ppl's reaction time is definitely not fast enough to do that. Just the movement of ur leg from accelerator pedal to the brake pedal already take up all of ur buffer of 5 car lengths.

So sorry, do you want us to believe he got inadequate alertness at that point in time. 5-car length barely enough for braking distance with good brakes. Reaction time not mentioned = rear-end front car. Hmm... perhaps I do not understand reaction time/braking distances or lancer braking distance (100-0km/h) more than 5-car length, or all of them?

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

No need left foot brake also can stop on time if he is alert. And I suppose he is new to manual cars and clutch in when he braked ?

I personally witness a BMW on lane 1 next to me at lane 2 on aye who got whacked in the rear by a lancer who was more than 5 car lengths when the BMW came to a stop. At that time which was evening peak hr , the traffic speed was ard 70km/h. The lancer did not even attempt to brake whom I guess was dreaming.

I believe at that point in time, the Lancer driver distracted with his mobile ordering his dinner. Traffic during daily peak hours along AYE: accelerate to apply emergency brakes before reaching 90km/h, for any reason(s). Any driver new to the scenario can likely rear-end another.

If u read the first few post I did explain how it happened. He was watching the vehicle that was infront of the car infront of him. Couldn't see more than 2 cars ahead cuz it was a lorry. A large branch fell off the lorry and the car infront jammed his brakes when he saw the branch. My cousin didn't notice the branch fall off the lorry cuz the leaves of the branches were hanging out of the lorry and made it hard to see the branch fall off. Maybe thats why lorries should not be on the first lane. All of them were travelling at constant speed of around 100km/h before the accident.

I seen video of trucks races in America. Now 100km/h lorry here in Lane 1. Assumption in driving can be accident

if that is the case.. please avoid lane 1 at all cost. [;)]

CAUTION: Avoiding Lane 1 does not make is any safer. Ever encountered not in Lane 1: 2 buses, 2 cars, braked and stopped on separate occassions, but their brake lights did not light up. One other car had only the third brake light on when it braked in Lane 3.

All this talk of safety distances and braking times do NOT detract from the fact that if there's a faster car behind you...GIVE WAY!!!

Agreed!! Well Said!!

So sorry, do you want us to believe he got inadequate alertness at that point in time. 5-car length barely enough for braking distance with good brakes. Reaction time not mentioned = rear-end front car. Hmm... perhaps I do not understand reaction time/braking distances or lancer braking distance (100-0km/h) more than 5-car length, or all of them?

I am trying to say that 5 car length at 100km/h is not enough. Cuz that gives u only 0.8s to react. The 5 car length u keep is not ur stopping distance. Its the time that u take to react. So at 100km/h 5 car lengths is around 07-0.8s. So if u take more than 0.8s to react u will definitely rear end the front car already.

But at 100km/h with 5 car lengths u only have 0.9s to react and step on the brakes. Even then u there will be no gap between ur car and the car infront after both stopped. And thats assuming that both cars have exactly the same stopping distance. But then I also agree that 5-6 car lengths is what I would tolerate. lol. Cuz its not often that the car infront has to emergency brake all the way till completly stop. Just that for my cousin's accident the car stopped completely cuz a branch fell off from a lorry infront and the guy was trying to avoid it.

then slow reaction plus bad judgement lor.

How to keep 5 car-length when he normally look 3-4 car ahead only? He often rear-end others?

U don't understand what I am trying to say. He keep 5 car length. But he looks at 3-4 cars infront of him. Not the car directly infront of him only. Normally this method works. But for this accident he had no other cars to look at so could only rely on the brake lights of the car directly infront so didn't have time to react and brake in time.

then slow reaction plus bad judgement lor.

Don't agree with the slow reaction part cuz thats average human reaction but the bad judgement yes. Cuz should not follow behind lorry. Don't know when something will just fall off.

Yap.. maybe just poor judgement.

for me i challenge back, if you think you are fast, lets see if you can keep up with me

speed off and let him bite the dust

Just to add......as he gets closer to u then u jam brake......

U don't understand what I am trying to say. He keep 5 car length. But he looks at 3-4 cars infront of him. Not the car directly infront of him only. Normally this method works. But for this accident he had no other cars to look at so could only rely on the brake lights of the car directly infront so didn't have time to react and brake in time.

Accidents are caused by 3 factors.

Road conditions, vehicle malfuction or driver error.

Which factor do you think caused the accident with your cousin?