Expertz 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Expertz. if you jam brake often during those time. you got something wrong with your foot liao lah. those are not call jam brake those are call stop start traffic. sometimes the car infront is SUV or MPV cannot see infront of it leh then the traffic from stop can flow until 50 or 60km/h and all of a sudden stop again without any warning so must jam brakes lor if the car infront had been moving off gradually and stopping gradually still ok the best i can do is tap brakes to warn the car behind me not to tailgate ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 sometimes the car infront is SUV or MPV cannot see infront of it leh then the traffic from stop can flow until 50 or 60km/h and all of a sudden stop again without any warning so must jam brakes lor if the car infront had been moving off gradually and stopping gradually still ok the best i can do is tap brakes to warn the car behind me not to tailgate not really a good excuse. normally if there is a car like MPV or suv infont. just shift slightly to the side (still in lane hor incase you think hog 2 lane) you can see the font liao. also, dont follow too closely lah. but i think you mistook our E-brake as your Hard Braking liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JX83 3rd Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Goodness, this thread is still going on? If all drivers just depend on the 2 sec rule or the 10km/h 1 car length rule, we'll probably have twice as many fender-benders than we are having today. These are general guides driving instructors use to teach learner drivers who know nuts about road conditions and going at 50km/h. Please don't gauge safe distance just by the car directly in front of you. Look 2 to 3 cars ahead. If you are alert, you'll know when to brake, even before the car in front of you does. If your vision is blocked, slow down to maintain a bigger gap, or switch lane. If all of us depend on our reaction times to brake, half of us would not be here to post. Ya i agree with u too.. Thats the right way.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 (edited) i usually keep a distance of 2 car lengths and on most cases i travel at around 110 - 120km/h yet till date i haven't encountered any accidents or near accidents due to braking distance/reaction time from my experience i doubt that i'll ever need 5 car lengths, perhaps i'm younger thats why i could react faster i'm 22 btw I think u never experienced someone doing emergency brake all the way till they stop at 110-120km/h. What u experience is only hard braking. At 2 car lengths at more than 100km/h u only have 0.2s to react which is impossible. Me and my cousin are both 20 btw. So nothing to do with age. lol. Edited October 26, 2010 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 U are driving integra right ? I have done many swerving before and never had this problem . Most likely u have over steered and not stepping on ur accelerator . Anyway I travel on sle daily and mostly, it is start stop traffic. The worse expressway is pie where all my e brakes were done in the past 10 years. I drive ard quite a lot and clocking ard 40k per year. i was driving back on saturday nite when while filtering left into the exit from the expressway, a car came up from behind my blindspot and horned at me so i swerved to the right to avoid an accident, in the process i lost control of my car! it ended up going left, right, left, right until i finally lost enough speed to regain control or i finally got strong enough to control the steering wheel. i can't even recall if i took my food off the accelerator at all... pretty scary incident! maybe braking without swerving might be a better idea lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 There were other cars on the road. On his left and infront of them. But he could not see the branch falling off the lorry. So even though he was looking further ahead, there were no signs that the car infront was going to jam brake till he saw the brake lights light up. Could it be their luck? Hope there was no casualty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 quite often actually, i frequently drive along SLE which seems to be jammed 24/7 just 2 weeks ago a car rear ended mine but there was very minor damage so i let the guy off oh, last week friday at 7.30pm there was an accident along the SLE, 3 cars middle 1 was a taxi i saw because i was stuck in the jam on lane #1 as usual Have u ever wonder why so many jam brakes with u around? Are u the cause of it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 that someone is me to which my reply will be: this is assuming that the car 5 car lengths infront of you has magical brakes and can stop immediately else taking into consideration that cars don't have magical brakes, from the 5 car lengths plus the distance the car infront of you needs to stop, it'll become something like 10 or 15 car lengths if you threw me out of the window and i accelerated to 100km/h, i think i'll be able to come to a complete stop in 8 car lengths using my shoes. Do you want us to believe you were kidding with us, when you mentioned Kia Forte can stop in less than 5 car-length from 100km/h? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Not true, if the tyres are no good, you can get abs activated even if you did not hit the brakes hard. He definitely stepped all the way. Cuz can feel the abs and got abit of screeching and some skid marks. Thats the reason why I feel that at 100km/h should keep more than 5 car length distance. Cuz I doubt most ppl in Singapore will be using high performance tires. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 IMO, it's more likely that most pple don't know their tyres well enough, the strengths and weakness. I believe many wet tire are marketed as high performance tire, when they can not brake well on dry roads. Drivers may assume otherwise and rear-ended each others even on dry roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 i was driving back on saturday nite when while filtering left into the exit from the expressway, a car came up from behind my blindspot and horned at me so i swerved to the right to avoid an accident, in the process i lost control of my car! it ended up going left, right, left, right until i finally lost enough speed to regain control or i finally got strong enough to control the steering wheel. i can't even recall if i took my food off the accelerator at all... pretty scary incident! maybe braking without swerving might be a better idea lol No mention if you had looked out for vehicle within your blindspot earlier. No mention if you had signalled with trafficator earlier. No mention if you had served into the path of another vehicle. When someone horned at you, it suggests that due to negligence or otherwise, you had endangered the driver behind or at least make that driver feel uncomfortable with your driving When you served to the right upon being horned from behind, you endangered any road-users on your right, it also suggests that you had not keep proper look out before filtering/turning left into the sliproad When you served to the right and lost control of your car, it suggests that the car may not be quite roadworthy (worn shock-absorbers, tire...), worse lack of driving practice if you just got your driving licence (I am not a Driving Instructor) When you mentioned you can not even recall if you had took your foot off the accelerator, it suggests that you are among more panic-prone drivers (not alone if you are a lady) Perhaps you may find some refresher driving lessons useful I believe I can only help you so much, avoiding repeat of the same or more serious incident, based on what you mentioned If you had taken that sliproad within 50km/h (I assume level and dry road), I suggest you send the car for roadworthiness check by a Vehicle Mechanic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Do you want us to beileve that we understand what you are trying to say? (laugh) Food for thought? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 Errr...I really don't understand what you're trying to say dude. Just give way! No way? Give way. See? (laugh) You should be talented go-kart driver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 That sounds like very poor driving on your part. Turning off an expressway and no idea of cars behind you!!!! For a long time before you filtered you should have been aware of any cars behind you even in your blindspot and taken action accordingly. Some more you call yourself Expertz. Agree (read my recommendations to her). Some years back other self-declared Experts confessed themselves to be laymen when discussion goes technical Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 well i did check my mirrors, i honestly have no idea where that car came from my guess would be that he was speeding Mercy-mercy. Do you check your mirrors to look for vehicles around you? No mention you turned your head to look out for vehicles around you? You driving by guessing more than observations? Do go for refresher driving lessons. I believe this is all the help I can give you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 And how many times has the car in front of you e-braked to a complete stop? So you think that your reactions are more than twice as fast as the average person? If you are so good you should be a top sportsman oreddy - or maybe I should just ask you "How is the Waterloo campaign going Napoleon"... You obvioulsy have delusions of grandeur that are not supported by facts. You got the point. You are right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 i usually keep a distance of 2 car lengths and on most cases i travel at around 110 - 120km/h yet till date i haven't encountered any accidents or near accidents due to braking distance/reaction time from my experience i doubt that i'll ever need 5 car lengths, perhaps i'm younger thats why i could react faster i'm 22 btw hahaha...i am 14 years older than you but i think i react faster than you...but I guess most times I do not need to react faster than you but use my experience, appropriate driving style and anticipation instead. actually at 120kph, you wanna tailgate bumper to bumper also can, no need 2 car lengths. it all depends on the road condition ahead of the car you are tailgating and whether that fellow is also playing with you, or he got the balls to e-brake on you, then you see who react faster and brake within a shorter distance. but at that speed and tailgating, 99% you lose lah. from what you wrote so far, u need to learn when to back off. judge the traffic condition way ahead and dun assume younger means faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 See, I've got this feeling that you have no idea what two car lengths looks like. Because driving at 120 and 2 car lengths from the car in front you'd either have to have nerves of steel or be stupid. I know what I think you are I second you if you are of the opinion she should surrender her driving licence for road safety sake. 70km/h with 2-car length distance, cars are often filtering with/without signalling, irregardless of it is Lane 1, 2, 3. She does 120 with 2-car length? go-kart? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...