Pisces69 6th Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 Agreed mate. If you believe in karma, what goes around comes around dude... I quite often see chain collisions on our roads n wonder how many of them wud hv been avoided if only e drivers has observed e 1 car length per 10kmh or 2 seconds rule. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 If that u travel from Woodlands to PIE, the jam at peak hours is to MYS checkpt and maybe to KL. If that u travel from Tampines to Town, need the airport runway to Q! During traffic jams, e speed travelled is usually abt only 20kmh so 2 car lengths wud suffice. Still its up to individual drivers if ty feel a smaller gap is enough. Most like to follow too close cos ty dont like other divers to cut in front of them. Ty dont like to give way. Plain n simple. I guess its our ''culture'' to b selfish. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 No lah, no lah... Most here would say that I'm a dangerous driver Driving fast n driving dangerously/recklessly is 2 totally different things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 During traffic jams, e speed travelled is usually abt only 20kmh so 2 car lengths wud suffice. Still its up to individual drivers if ty feel a smaller gap is enough. Most like to follow too close cos ty dont like other divers to cut in front of them. Ty dont like to give way. Plain n simple. I guess its our ''culture'' to b selfish. Whenever people do that at jam, the jam will be longer. Read about driving lessons in Europe that they encourage people to drive faster at traffic lights as more will clear thru = shorter jams. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 Dunno leh cos i usually travel at 140kmh n end up i am overtaking e others on lane 1. But many times I am e one hv to 'undertake' those other slow pokes who tailgate n refuse to give way to faster vehicles on lane 1. 1Car length fr every 10kmh is e international standard fr driving. Maybe SG very special n hv their own 'standard'. HAHAHA SG is a very unique country..got many Schumachers and Hamiltons around..they think their skills very good and expect others to be as good as them..they pay the same road tax like everyone else and expect others to give way for their selfish motive. but whatever it is..still doesn't change the fact is 1 car length for every 10km/h..100km/h is 10 car length Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 SG is a very unique country..got many Schumachers and Hamiltons around..they think their skills very good and expect others to be as good as them..they pay the same road tax like everyone else and expect others to give way for their selfish motive. but whatever it is..still doesn't change the fact is 1 car length for every 10km/h..100km/h is 10 car length Exactly. This is e accepted international safe following distance recommended by e experts to stop SAFELY. Well maybe we got better experts here. HAHAHA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 (edited) ps arh. met a bugger on PIE this evening... WHOLE of lane 1 and 2 is clear (and i mean it's like 100-200m infront and behind), and he simply just stay on lane 1 at 95kmh throughout Edited October 25, 2010 by Lamzh87 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 Whenever people do that at jam, the jam will be longer. Read about driving lessons in Europe that they encourage people to drive faster at traffic lights as more will clear thru = shorter jams. The lead car needs to move off on green. So many time people day dreaming, scratching dun know what then move off after the green going to change to yellow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 Whenever people do that at jam, the jam will be longer. Read about driving lessons in Europe that they encourage people to drive faster at traffic lights as more will clear thru = shorter jams. Driving off faster at traffic lights and keeping safe distance are 2 different things. If people follow the 2s rule there would be alot lesser accidents which will also reduce the amount of traffic jams. Cuz during peak hours most of the accidents are usually those rear end ones where people don't keep safe distance and end up holding up the traffic even more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 All this talk of safety distances and braking times do NOT detract from the fact that if there's a faster car behind you...GIVE WAY!!! No way most of the time. If there is another faster car behind, either its speeding (above speed limit), or I was in Lane 2. That car can use Lane 1 to overtake me?. If I was in Lane 1 overtaking Lane 2 car, no way I can keep left either (laugh). Driving skill important, too (laugh) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 The lead car needs to move off on green. So many time people day dreaming, scratching dun know what then move off after the green going to change to yellow. Hmm... so sorry, do you want us to believe you got colour-blindness to Amber (you see yellow when the light is Amber)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 ps arh. met a bugger on PIE this evening... WHOLE of lane 1 and 2 is clear (and i mean it's like 100-200m infront and behind), and he simply just stay on lane 1 at 95kmh throughout Usually hand-phone driving if within speed limit along Lane 1. At 95km/h, no idea? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 SG is a very unique country..got many Schumachers and Hamiltons around..they think their skills very good and expect others to be as good as them..they pay the same road tax like everyone else and expect others to give way for their selfish motive. but whatever it is..still doesn't change the fact is 1 car length for every 10km/h..100km/h is 10 car length I believe on good road with good visiblity, road-holding tire (non-drifting tire) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 During traffic jams, e speed travelled is usually abt only 20kmh so 2 car lengths wud suffice. Still its up to individual drivers if ty feel a smaller gap is enough. Most like to follow too close cos ty dont like other divers to cut in front of them. Ty dont like to give way. Plain n simple. I guess its our ''culture'' to b selfish. At 70km/h with 3-car length from front car can sometimes invite Lane 2 car (below 70km/h) to accelerate into Lane 1 (sometimes they jammed brake once inside Lane 1). Many bumper to bumper convoy/chain collission could be due to such situation if less than 3-car length is maintained Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 I quite often see chain collisions on our roads n wonder how many of them wud hv been avoided if only e drivers has observed e 1 car length per 10kmh or 2 seconds rule. Good idea. I wonder how often our roads free from heavy traffic enough for us to practice such luxurious addiction (laugh). I really make the effort to find such road conditions daily (laugh) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 Dat's da way to drive mate! Safe, but not Selfish Do you want us to believe you keep to Lane 1 when Lane 2 is clear as well? If yes, I believe Lane 2 is a safer lane (laugh) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 He definitely stepped all the way. Cuz can feel the abs and got abit of screeching and some skid marks. Thats the reason why I feel that at 100km/h should keep more than 5 car length distance. Cuz I doubt most ppl in Singapore will be using high performance tires. I believe many wet tire are marketed as high performance tire, when they can not brake well on dry roads. Drivers may assume otherwise and rear-ended each others even on dry roads. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...