RogerNg_185295 6th Gear February 16, 2018 Share February 16, 2018 so far honda subauru and mit is giving 3 years servicing and 5 years warranty while mazda is giving only 3 year servicing and 3 years warranty only. Is it because of the skyactive engine that they do not give 5 yrs warranty? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
retiredman 1st Gear February 16, 2018 Share February 16, 2018 Mazda 6 looks at a good deal at $109800. Seems like one of the historically low price How does it stack up against the other cars in the same class? I.e. from Toyota, Kia etc? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear February 16, 2018 Share February 16, 2018 Mazda 6 looks at a good deal at $109800. Seems like one of the historically low price How does it stack up against the other cars in the same class? I.e. from Toyota, Kia etc? Toyota as usual will put more Camry on the roads. Kia k5 is a rarity though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear February 16, 2018 Share February 16, 2018 I think try on civic and forestor and feel that this two car are more responsive than m6. Not sure if that fair testing with M6. But I guess that this M6 is the best interior jap car that you can find. the resale value for this cat seems very value and attractive low. Not too concern in the resale value as right now there are demand for such car. Just that the servicing and warranty is lacking what Honda & Mitsubshi is giving now. Resale value can be ambiguous. You should check the new price 1-2 years ago for this and see if the perceived "good" resale value exist today for those 1-2 year old unit. $100k for a 2 year old unit or $109k for a brand new unit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 16, 2018 Share February 16, 2018 Toyota as usual will put more Camry on the roads. Kia k5 is a rarity thoughAt about 150k, camry is priced for extingtion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear February 16, 2018 Share February 16, 2018 so far honda subauru and mit is giving 3 years servicing and 5 years warranty while mazda is giving only 3 year servicing and 3 years warranty only. The last I know, TEK does provide warranty and free servicing up to 5yrs/100k mileage. One can opt for lesser for upfront cash discount Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear February 16, 2018 Share February 16, 2018 Toyota as usual will put more Camry on the roads. Kia k5 is a rarity thoughFor the current generation, there seems to be more Mazda 6 on the road than Camry; especially for those SL* plates Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear February 16, 2018 Share February 16, 2018 At about 150k, camry is priced for extingtion.It's not priced at 150k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ralfale Clutched February 17, 2018 Share February 17, 2018 Whats the current walk in quoted price for new camry? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear February 17, 2018 Share February 17, 2018 Whats the current walk in quoted price for new camry?146k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
retiredman 1st Gear February 17, 2018 Share February 17, 2018 146k that is very high compared to the Mazda 6. almost 40k more. Mazda 6 is now 109k. i wonder why it is priced so competitively. what are the chances that it will dip further? as a retiree, every penny counts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ralfale Clutched February 17, 2018 Share February 17, 2018 Mazda 6 109k Camry 146k Sonata 116k Accord (Don't see listing in sgcarmart) M6 looks superb value comparing against mid size sedan class. When Mazda is cheaper than Hyundai, really no need to think anymore:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tbt001 1st Gear February 17, 2018 Share February 17, 2018 Just to add to the topic of comparing the Camry with Mazda 6, check out these figures from sgcarmart: Camry: $146k 13.7 km/l 165 bhp 0-100 kph in 10.8s Mazda 6 $109k 16.9 km/l 162 bhp 0-100 kph in 10.5s Power and acceleration more or less the same but big difference in price and FC. I prefered a bit more power so I bought the Mazda 2.5. I also liked the electric sunroof. The Mazda 6 2,5 is only $136k compared to the Camry 2.0 $146k. The Camry engine tech is outdated, hence the FC lags way behind the Mazda 6. I remember that 10 to 15 years ago, Camry used to have class leading FC. I guess they are still resting on their laurel; caught sleeping in their dreams. The FC of my 2.5 averages 13.3 to 13.5 km/l. This is quite near the official 15.4 km/l number. I avoid jams and peak hour traffic and use the expressway 60% of the time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 17, 2018 Share February 17, 2018 that is very high compared to the Mazda 6. almost 40k more. Mazda 6 is now 109k. i wonder why it is priced so competitively. what are the chances that it will dip further? as a retiree, every penny counts. At 106k they are making about 18k gross margin, after various expense , they will still be profitable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Empire 1st Gear February 17, 2018 Share February 17, 2018 Just to add to the topic of comparing the Camry with Mazda 6, check out these figures from sgcarmart: Camry: $146k 13.7 km/l 165 bhp 0-100 kph in 10.8s Mazda 6 $109k 16.9 km/l 162 bhp 0-100 kph in 10.5s Power and acceleration more or less the same but big difference in price and FC. I prefered a bit more power so I bought the Mazda 2.5. I also liked the electric sunroof. The Mazda 6 2,5 is only $136k compared to the Camry 2.0 $146k. The Camry engine tech is outdated, hence the FC lags way behind the Mazda 6. I remember that 10 to 15 years ago, Camry used to have class leading FC. I guess they are still resting on their laurel; caught sleeping in their dreams. The FC of my 2.5 averages 13.3 to 13.5 km/l. This is quite near the official 15.4 km/l number. I avoid jams and peak hour traffic and use the expressway 60% of the time. Hi To have fc that 13.3 for a 2.5cc is damn good. So guess that the 2.0 will have a better fc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear February 17, 2018 Share February 17, 2018 I also say this is superb for a 2.5l (albeit partially helped by start-stop engine) despite riding on 19 inch rim. Camry is riding on puny 16 inch for a 2.0l. Of course this helps on fuel economy, comfort and road noise but at expense of asthestic and handling. Actually, such comparison are flawed and also often not fully apple-to-apple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear February 17, 2018 Share February 17, 2018 I also say this is superb for a 2.5l (albeit partially helped by start-stop engine) despite riding on 19 inch rim. Camry is riding on puny 16 inch for a 2.0l. Of course this helps on fuel economy, comfort and road noise but at expense of asthestic and handling. Actually, such comparison are flawed and also often not fully apple-to-apple. Their target customers want good fc,comfort and road noise. They dun really bother about the inches Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tbt001 1st Gear February 17, 2018 Share February 17, 2018 I also say this is superb for a 2.5l (albeit partially helped by start-stop engine) despite riding on 19 inch rim. Camry is riding on puny 16 inch for a 2.0l. Of course this helps on fuel economy, comfort and road noise but at expense of asthestic and handling. Actually, such comparison are flawed and also often not fully apple-to-apple. Perhaps I should state the conditions for my 13.3 to 13.5 km/l FC. I bought the car in May 2016. When I ordered I asked for the 17 in tyres because at that time the 19 in tyres were like $300+ each to replace. (I even delibrately took a less popular colour but managed to bargain hard for the other things. For example, I managed to get 5 years free service.) The tyres are pumped up at 255 kPa (about 36.5 PSI). I use 95 petrol. Although the engine will take 92, the FC and power may be affected. 98 will be somewhat wasteful in Singapore. Most of the time, the sports mode is off and the stop-start is on. Aircon is set to 25 which is cold enough but when it is parked in the sun, I reset the aircon to 23 for 30 minutes. I drive normally trying not to accelerate hard or having to brake too much (leave a bigger gap to the car in front). However I am not slow (cannot state speed here or else wait kena....). Sports mode comes on only occasionally, e.g. joining expressway from slow feeder lane. Then, bo pian, have to accelerate harder, once in a while. In he first 6 months, when the car is new, the FC is a bit higher; around 12.5 km/l. It later improved to current figures and has been more or less steady for the last 1+ year. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...