The_Bear Turbocharged March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 The comfort is amazing, and it will be a far more engaging drive than the Camry - but back seat is small. Very frankly, given the weather and driving conditions here in Singapore, rather than spending the extra dollars for a cabrio I would much prefer to "convert" them into a bigger, more powerful or more engaging drive. But that's just my berry humble opinion. I've never been to NZ but I would imagine it would be rather perfect cabrio country. Btw, I've seen this fella driving top-down during winter in Hokkaido, temperature was around -4 deg. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 I've never been to NZ but I would imagine it would be rather perfect cabrio country. Btw, I've seen this fella driving top-down during winter in Hokkaido, temperature was around -4 deg. Yes a cabiro is nice there - my wifey used to have the CRX hardtop cabrio...we drove up through arthurs pass in it with the top down the whole way (she drove I relaxed) - was totally swee swee. Last time I had the Mazda six with the sunroof - in the six months I had it here I NEVER opened the roof, and kept the fabric cover closed the whole time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 i am just afraid the thrill of the open top car wears off quickly and then it just becomes a normal sedan 320. and a sedan 320 is far less appealing than the xc60. Yes, i got a feeling it (the thrill) will wear off. I got sunroof also never open one. so bloody hot, noise, risk of bird s--t, etc. initially u might tink its cool but the novelty will wear off soon and u ll have to live with the inpracticalities for the rest of the tenure of ur ownership. But if you do decide to get a convertible, u can also consider VW Eos (cheaper & more powerful) or Lexus 250C (more expensive but more powerful). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 want the wind in your face? Ride an aprilla lah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 Yes a cabiro is nice there - my wifey used to have the CRX hardtop cabrio...we drove up through arthurs pass in it with the top down the whole way (she drove I relaxed) - was totally swee swee. Last time I had the Mazda six with the sunroof - in the six months I had it here I NEVER opened the roof, and kept the fabric cover closed the whole time. talking abt sunroof....1 of my frens told us some time ago tat in the first week of getting his new car (Avante sunroof version), he kenna bird s--t/urine TWICE while driving with sunroof open....we all laughed until tears come out... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubberstamp Neutral Newbie March 4, 2011 Author Share March 4, 2011 i have only driven 1 convertible before. that was my friend's MX5. it was the older generation one. i drove it close to midnight. and it was hot!! i was even breaking into a sweat. a lot of heat was coming from the foot well area... i thought it was an old car, hence so much heat. how about the newer convertibles? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 i have only driven 1 convertible before. that was my friend's MX5. it was the older generation one. i drove it close to midnight. and it was hot!! i was even breaking into a sweat. a lot of heat was coming from the foot well area... i thought it was an old car, hence so much heat. how about the newer convertibles? New ones are pretty okay. You can even switch on the air-con with the top down. With the deflectors and windows up, no much turbulence gets into the cabin below 100km/h so the cabin stays pretty cool. Can't do much about the sun but I keep a cap around for those sunny days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 i have only driven 1 convertible before. that was my friend's MX5. it was the older generation one. i drove it close to midnight. and it was hot!! i was even breaking into a sweat. a lot of heat was coming from the foot well area... i thought it was an old car, hence so much heat. how about the newer convertibles? new ones are okay, better ergonomic design and less intrusive for wind. in the night, not warm at all. of course, people need to measure and see where they are gg first. for e.g go neighbourhood market, if go topless.. obviously showing off and no purpose. i used to check weather conditions v often last time, its not really a chore at all hehe. oh yeah, get the wind deflector. certain convertibles have heater / hot air coming out from neck area of the seats too, for cold countries. some choose to leave on aircon. i mostly turn off. 7pm onwards is a good time to drop the top. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 okay then, im not interested in taking this further as its digressing too much in someone else's thread. like i mentioned, i mean no harm at all. come on, i drove a cheap convertible.. and i agree people can buy even cheaper ones easily off the market and enjoy somewhat the same experience, but most people don't because they limit themselves mostly due to hearsay and what they perceive about driving topless in singapore, which again, mostly aint true. im not trying to force my mindset on others. just trying to share the other side of opinion, even if its harsh. i already stated, if i go up to someone who has nvr driven a roadster before and say "dont b-------t lah u havent driven one while i have", very offensive right? over here, i can't think of any way else to put it across in a nice manner other than the one i already have, without sounding elitist or trying to compare wealth. too bad im easily misquoted, recently when i use the terms conti, MIK, MIJ to differentiate too much, people say i look down on others.. wah piang... ok lah, the end, you win. let's help this fella with his decision. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubberstamp Neutral Newbie March 4, 2011 Author Share March 4, 2011 okay then, im not interested in taking this further as its digressing too much in someone else's thread. like i mentioned, i mean no harm at all. come on, i drove a cheap convertible.. and i agree people can buy even cheaper ones easily off the market and enjoy somewhat the same experience, but most people don't because they limit themselves mostly due to hearsay and what they perceive about driving topless in singapore, which again, mostly aint true. im not trying to force my mindset on others. just trying to share the other side of opinion, even if its harsh. i already stated, if i go up to someone who has nvr driven a roadster before and say "dont b-------t lah u havent driven one while i have", very offensive right? over here, i can't think of any way else to put it across in a nice manner other than the one i already have, without sounding elitist or trying to compare wealth. too bad im easily misquoted, recently when i use the terms conti, MIK, MIJ to differentiate too much, people say i look down on others.. wah piang... ok lah, the end, you win. let's help this fella with his decision. what convertible do you drive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karnaugh Neutral Newbie March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 okay then, im not interested in taking this further as its digressing too much in someone else's thread. like i mentioned, i mean no harm at all. come on, i drove a cheap convertible.. and i agree people can buy even cheaper ones easily off the market and enjoy somewhat the same experience, but most people don't because they limit themselves mostly due to hearsay and what they perceive about driving topless in singapore, which again, mostly aint true. im not trying to force my mindset on others. just trying to share the other side of opinion, even if its harsh. i already stated, if i go up to someone who has nvr driven a roadster before and say "dont b-------t lah u havent driven one while i have", very offensive right? over here, i can't think of any way else to put it across in a nice manner other than the one i already have, without sounding elitist or trying to compare wealth. too bad im easily misquoted, recently when i use the terms conti, MIK, MIJ to differentiate too much, people say i look down on others.. wah piang... ok lah, the end, you win. let's help this fella with his decision. Chill bro it was never about winning or losing but simply I am voicing out the sentiments of my own and possibly some of the others here as well. Perhaps you really meant no harm but think about it, people wouldn't complain if there is absolutely nothing wrong with your style of writing. You are an educated man and i am sure you possess the capacity to do some self evaluation. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myblackie4422 Neutral Newbie March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 I've never been to NZ but I would imagine it would be rather perfect cabrio country. Btw, I've seen this fella driving top-down during winter in Hokkaido, temperature was around -4 deg. I like you way of offering your opinion. I just say, come on lah, here in Sinkingland, there is no way for convertables. Every 500m 1 traffic light. Siao! NZ downunder us china asia, anywhere, imagine being in a convertable during Spring, Autumn and best of all, Summer, coz siao angmoh loves to turn brown. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 (edited) in singapore, locals drive cabrios or convertibles in the night or minimum evening. ang mos do it in the day time, hot scorching afternoon.. but hey, they like it! weekends mornings are nice too, when i have to go work or school.. when there are no jams. weekdays, cannot be bothered. i always looked forward to those mornings, long drive on ECP with sun up, cool morning breeze, minimal cars.. probably 7-8am that alone justifies any reasons or clears any lingering doubts to buy a convertible. Edited March 4, 2011 by Coupecabriolet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 i would like to offer my opinion. if u wan to get a 320 cabriolet, u'll get bored of the car very quickly simply because it has NO power for its 1.7tonnes body Acceleration 10.9s (0-100kmh) ====> i can't imagine it is slower than my odyssey. people argue that u may want to drive slow to show off ur car, oh come on. for me, power is very addictive, which the XC60 has plenty (it has above 200bhp). it looks very modern and pretty for a Scandinavian car, much like a swedish babe. so essentially, if u really want to buy, choose a 325 cabriolet. else, choose a XC60. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myblackie4422 Neutral Newbie March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 Sometimes driving convertables also very mohbeng = angmoh ahbeng. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 i would like to offer my opinion. if u wan to get a 320 cabriolet, u'll get bored of the car very quickly simply because it has NO power for its 1.7tonnes body Acceleration 10.9s (0-100kmh) ====> i can't imagine it is slower than my odyssey. people argue that u may want to drive slow to show off ur car, oh come on. for me, power is very addictive, which the XC60 has plenty (it has above 200bhp). it looks very modern and pretty for a Scandinavian car, much like a swedish babe. so essentially, if u really want to buy, choose a 325 cabriolet. else, choose a XC60. if 325 convertible is too costly.. i suggest the lexus is250c. well the looks of it is questionable and abit feminine, but heavy as it is, its still more agile than 320 with its 4 cylinder. or the EOS like Bavarian suggested, 7.8s or so with 2.0TSI, looks wise not the strongest attribute though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 if 325 convertible is too costly.. i suggest the lexus is250c. well the looks of it is questionable and abit feminine, but heavy as it is, its still more agile than 320 with its 4 cylinder. or the EOS like Bavarian suggested, 7.8s or so with 2.0TSI, looks wise not the strongest attribute though. IMHO, E93 325 can got very bad pwr to weight ratio. Pwr/torque is not everything. But u will need it (for eg, during overtaking), u will regret it. The roof & its mechanism weights about 300kg. I also don't think it is is a good idea to buy IS250C. The pwr & weight is almost identical to E93 325. TS, get a used MX5 RHT & use it for some time. It is the lightest RHT car i know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 is there a difference in driving feel between the XC60 and other SUVs? Coz when i test drove the XC60 and my colleagues Picnic, i think there is quite a big difference in feeling. i am not sure if i feel so because of the brand or if it is indeed true Erm , Picnic is a MPV bro.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...