Should I migrate?

Vid

Been to the coastal town of Kiama, NSW, Aust. about 20 years ago and was so smitten by it that I entertained thoughts of setting up food outlet selling asian smorsgabord food, competing for a share of the pie with the Vietnamese-Aussies there [laugh] [laugh]

.....but seriously, there's a reason why we were born here.

Aust was actually for studies (my Chinese was damn jialat!), to be frank I don't think I would like to work there hehe. Anyway it was Perth not much prospects except doing handyman stuff.

For UK I cut a deal with my boss, spend one year in India and get to work in UK after that.I didn't have much options actually since the Sgp functions were being moved to India  :scared:

Wah, so good de, u get to work overseas in different Ang moh countries, great exposure u have

Aust was actually for studies (my Chinese was damn jialat!), to be frank I don't think I would like to work there hehe. Anyway it was Perth not much prospects except doing handyman stuff.

For UK I cut a deal with my boss, spend one year in India and get to work in UK after that.I didn't have much options actually since the Sgp functions were being moved to India :scared:

U super brave de! [thumbsup]

I would never have considered India, every time I go there, I get diarrhea 100% even when I only ate at their 5 star hotel restaurant for breakfast, lunch n dinner

The UK part is great, very nice :)

It more of a case of too much regulations, bullying of glc and clamping down on creativity.

Take for example, uber became successful, regulations comes in fast and furious to make sure auntie lucy rice bowl is protected

The entire economy is structured for people to follow and not be creative.

And foreigners are treated much better

But that's my 1 man's view.

You are quite right though.

Why didn't people think of migrating to island countries? Trinidad may be nice. So are Maldives, Seychelles and those in the Caribbean

Hi, what's the criteria for nz huh?

Sounds like a better place compared to Aust

The downside is the long travel hours, I hate taking long flights now...not sure if body can take it when older though

You can tahan the earth under ur feet shaking? Earthquake!!!!

You are quite right though.

Why didn't people think of migrating to island countries? Trinidad may be nice. So are Maldives, Seychelles and those in the Caribbean

Huh....Islands may be good for short term holidays, long term stay could be inconvenient...need to take a boat just to get out, neighbors is part of consideration too [grin]

hmm

not sure why so many of you guys so keen on oz and nzl

the winter will kill you when older. lol

i was actually thinking of thailand. changmai or something.

so much closer to sg and our retirement dollar can stretch a long long long way.

http://www.thaiembassy.com/retire/retire.php

why bother so much go angmoh countries to be 2nd class citizens?

Very true. Quite a few of my ang mo colleagues(British and Scottish) here are PR in Thailand where they call home. They never wanted to go back to UK.

You can tahan the earth under ur feet shaking? Earthquake!!!!

Hehehe...just considering nia.......most likely will still stay in SG one de...

I can't stand being second class citizen or being looked down in another country

Hehehe...just considering nia.......most likely will still stay in SG one de...

I can't stand being second class citizen or being looked down in another country

Can try Indonesia islands if you like to stay on an island. Those bigger islands, a bit ulu. Sulawesi and Papua New Guinea. Or just stay in Batam. One of my ang mo manager married an indonesian and stay in Batam over weekends, long weekends and spend his long holidays there. Just a boat ride away.

The only island I have been is bintan, heard batam got nothing much and got vices activities?

Btw, there wu haze bo?

Just touched down from holiday at Malaysia ...

Oh boy, can I say I am just happy to be back to where I am born ...

This is still my country, my family and my everything :)

Just touched down from holiday at Malaysia ...

Oh boy, can I say I am just happy to be back to where I am born ...

This is still my country, my family and my everything :)

Isn't it interesting how we mostly kpkb about SG when in SG?

Most of the time, when overseas, all we do is miss SG.

Except for one scenario (in my case) - when I'm doing 200+ on NSHW, it's very hard to miss SG. :D

Isn't it interesting how we mostly kpkb about SG when in SG?

Most of the time, when overseas, all we do is miss SG.

Except for one scenario (in my case) - when I'm doing 200+ on NSHW, it's very hard to miss SG. :D

Human nature. Tbh. Most of us here are car owners and home owners. By virtue of car prices, that would make most of us top 25 percentile of earners in singapore?

To be able to afford a 100k car and 500 k flat in sg. Are we really doing that badly that we need to emigrate just to survive ?

foodcourt price ... average sgd $7-$8

nothing can beat our beloved hawker meeepok, laksa, char kway teow, and chicken rice ... lol

but asahi super dry is super cheap ... Likes ... [thumbsup]

post-7984-0-83022100-1447212744_thumb.jpg

bro, i think you have mixed up emigrate with having multiple properties in europe/countries where you can stay for a few months whenever you like ... that's T3 ... [thumbsup]

that's majority sporean kena smoked by agent buying properties in msia and thailand as retirement long stay home and holding to spore passport (let out hdb ... lol)

Even if you eventually don't migrate, it is useful to think what your ideal retirement life is like.

For me, I think I will still hold on to the Singaporean passport but I probably will spend substantial time overseas.

I like Europe. Hopefully can spend a few months there every year, during retirement.

I never considered Malaysia as a place to migrate, I felt that Chinese would not have a place there

Furthermore, I can't speak Malay

Personally, i feel race riots will be unavoidable in another 5-10 years time.