Should I migrate?

Vid

Mate, you sure have a negative outlook for life in Singapore. Lol. For me, I would like to think of life is how we make out of it.

Singapore can reclaim land to increase her land size. Right now, we still have plenty of land to cater for more housing, thanks to long term planning. While some housing are expensive, first time owners are entitled to BTO which are much cheaper, using CPF, and enjoy grants and subsidies as well. As for those who sell off their house to encash the profit, the government simply cannot guarantee they have cheap housing every time they do so.

Thanks to foreign investments, education, a sound financial ecosystem, judiciary system, transport and civil service, we have much lower unemployment rate than most other countries. In Taiwan, their graduates take a pay of about a SGD$1000, and most end up doing blue collar jobs despite their education.

In Singapore, one also can have social life beside working. We can plan time with our family, friends and relative. In actuality, most of us have such social activities often despite our work and family commitment. It is a matter of planning.

While in other countries like NZ or USA, it is actually much more difficult to socialise. For one, you cannot meet up with your friends at coffee shop or the like, cos people stay very far apart and shops are all closed by early evening. This is precisely one of the reason why I couldn't get used to and left my job in New Hampshire USA.

Lastly, I find it ironical that some formers are always saying money is not everything and blame the government for making us work and emphasizing on economic growth, and yet they are the same ones complaining money is not enough for this and that and things are getting expensive and out of their affordability. Isn't the government trying to address our needs and the most burning issue then ?

I am not saying govt is sitting around and not doing anything but our lack of natural resources and limited land space mean fewer options for Singapore.

Generally, there is an inverse relationship between population density and general happiness of the people, according to some studies. Competition is good but too much may not be a good thing for most people.

I hope we will celebrate SG100 the way we celebrated SG50 but few city states have survived more than 100 years in the history of mankind. Hard truth.

well said [thumbsup]

one man's meat is another man's poison ...

all the beautiful countries that one think want to migrate might end up in hell ... lol

To be fair, also got some living happily after migrating.

Much depends on ones outlook in life and personal circumstances. Hard to use any one single yardstick to gauge.

Very true,

Its always to know the bad as opposed to the good, the article actually brought up some factors for me to consider as well.

Then again money solves all problem, I just need more much more hehe :D

To be fair, also got some living happily after migrating. 

Much depends on ones outlook in life and personal circumstances. Hard to use any one single yardstick to gauge.

Here is a read from someone who actually moved to NZD and regretted, written from a Caucasian perspective. Wife sent me this when we were discussing :D

http://e2nz.org/migrant-stories/chapter-2/we-chose-to-go-with-new-zealand-big-mistake/

My friend who migrated to US many years ago and now works as a restaurant manager earning pays that most MCFers will scorn at is very happy with what he has over there, it really depends on what you want.

Here is a read from someone who actually moved to NZD and regretted, written from a Caucasian perspective. Wife sent me this when we were discussing :D

http://e2nz.org/migrant-stories/chapter-2/we-chose-to-go-with-new-zealand-big-mistake/

Depends on what people look for in life.

I was in Wellington a few days last year

and I found it really boring. The 100 mph wind never stops.

Its great for people that likes to go to sleep at 9.30 pm,

the nature and scenery is fantastic and the beer is cheap.

If people like late night shopping centres, geylang

and hawker centres its just not for them.

And the lamb chops were terrible.

The best quality ones are export quality

and they were well exported.

The fish, beef and pork were very nice though.

And to know more about life in these countries

I am doing my research now and trying to talk to 

as many young ladies as possible about life

in these countries. Planning and preparation

is everything.

And to know more about life in these countries

I am doing my research now and trying to talk to

as many young ladies as possible about life

in these countries. Planning and preparation

is everything.

Ahemmm....i'm sure those ladies would like you to come sooner than later.....

my cousin is middle income (so he says) but he got a 2 storeys house - 1 porsche and 1 toyota SUV with 3 kids ... enjoy life leh

your cousin is telling the truth abt being middle income

brand new Cayenne overseas cheaper than a compact jap SUV in Singapore driven by middle class singaporeans  [laugh]

your cousin is telling the truth abt being middle income

brand new Cayenne overseas cheaper than a compact jap SUV in Singapore driven by middle class singaporeans [laugh]

It's all relative lah. Frankly, pay in Oz not all that high esp when u factor in the high taxes. It's quite amazing that a middle income earner in sg can still afford a S$100k 'rolla. Doubt the same middle income person in Oz buys a A$100k car.

yeah man, Nothing beats Singapore when comes to convenience and full lifestyle.  

To me, no where is better than Singapore

In OZ I do get the impression that they party and drink whenever they can, everyday or every other day. Food stuff is also rather expensive unless you cook.

So a middle income person in SG pays less tax and has a lower food bill as compared to OZ, so this gets re-directed into transport bill / costs from car ownership and use?

So the middle income is still middle income anywhere.

It's all relative lah. Frankly, pay in Oz not all that high esp when u factor in the high taxes. It's quite amazing that a middle income earner in sg can still afford a S$100k 'rolla. Doubt the same middle income person in Oz buys a A$100k car.

About taxes.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Income_tax_in_Australia

I would think those who want to migrate/PR there are those earning in the late 3rd & early 4th tier.
In this case, consider housing at ~400k, car at ~40k.  It should not be too difficult.  However, I do agree that the main push factor is the QoL for next gen.  Best is hold Sg Pass, hold PR down under.  Do not let go the former & burn ur own bridge.

Those in tier 5, I don't think these would want to move there.  OZ's taxation is progressive, as oppose to the stereotype.....'u think there is good? In angmo country, u pay half your salary to the garmen!'

They don't really sleep early. They just sit in their backyards drinking and talking cock  [:p]

About taxes.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Income_tax_in_Australia

I would think those who want to migrate/PR there are those earning in the late 3rd & early 4th tier.

In this case, consider housing at ~400k, car at ~40k.  It should not be too difficult.  However, I do agree that the main push factor is the QoL for next gen.  Best is hold Sg Pass, hold PR down under.  Do not let go the former & burn ur own bridge.

Those in tier 5, I don't think these would want to move there.  OZ's taxation is progressive, as oppose to the stereotype.....'u think there is good? In angmo country, u pay half your salary to the garmen!'

Exactly. Why would anyone wanna uproot themselves juz to earn a salary of <A$37k and be treated as a 4th or 5th class citizen?

Wanna enjoy the fresh air, sunshine, beach? Take a 2 week holiday and veg out there lah. Happy memories. 

Indeed the jobs are not in ANZ .. their economy does not quite support a growing middle class. Why do people think so many ANZ PMETs are in Singapore ? Just for lower taxes ? Thought life is good there ? 

[sly]  [sly] [sly]  

31E7AtOHHQL.jpg

Rejoining Malaysia or even reverting back to a british colony might be a consideration.....however impossible it might sound.

bro, i actually shared ur sentiments - procure a plot of land like JB, however impossible. then property n car prices might moderate, n new biz might move over there w shifting of population in tandem. however, reality might b very different due to political n social issues.