Should I migrate?

Vid

House value will be converted to ringgit dollar for dollar :D ahhh

Rejoining Malaysia or even reverting back to a british colony might be a consideration.....however impossible it might sound.

Like HK due currency haha, if we do merge it would solve any labour issues we have though likely face same issues as HK (overcrowding etc), sinkies become 2nd crass citizens, ah and Istana will be the Johor prince's new residence :D

Maybe converted to something like the Euro dollar. Haha.

What makes you think that Singapore needs to keep increasing the population to 20 or 30 million to survive ?  A smaller country\economy also can have its footing in the world.  The bigger population Singapore needs is to have a sizeable labour strength so as to compete and have a piece of the world economy pie, without which, will face a severe labour shortage and wages will be driven up artificially, and will lose competitiveness. People think of New Zealand of the tulip garden and country side, but what about the other side of the equation ?  Just to share, my aunt and her husband, both have no financial problem and are rich, migrated back from Netherland to Singapore, but I don't know the reason.  Point is, the grass is always greener than the other side.

There will be people who will succeed, and people who will not in an economy of opportunities.  If one hasn't even fight the war already thrown in the towel, how to even have any chance of success ?

u hit the nail on the head. Your aunt is rich. so naturally SG is the best place.

This yr's HSBC expat survey placed SG as the number one destination for expats. With a quarter of SG expats making above USD 200K pa, i can see this is really the rich man playgroud (incidentally, we rank one of the worst for work life balance and cost of raising kids, but the other merits outweigh these inconveniences) 

For middle class, i would suppose it is a good option to relocate elsewhere. Where one's skill is recognized (eg nursing in australia). Or where salaries are higher (GCC)

I'm starting to consider a relocation

Those who are thinking of relocating, I strongly suggest that you consider very carefully and study into details of:

1. Taxes (local, federal, income, property, etc)

2. Health care cost (insurance, eligibility, etc)

3. Job prospects

4. Social tolerance of foreigners

5. Area you would like to live and work

6. Your children's education (public vs private schools)

I am a lower middle class in Singapore and if migrate over I am still a lower middle class foreigner in foreign land, then may be staying put is a better option.

Those who are thinking of relocating, I strongly suggest that you consider very carefully and study into details of:

1. Taxes (local, federal, income, property, etc)

2. Health care cost (insurance, eligibility, etc)

3. Job prospects

4. Social tolerance of foreigners

5. Area you would like to live and work

6. Your children's education (public vs private schools)

I am a lower middle class in Singapore and if migrate over I am still a lower middle class foreigner in foreign land, then may be staying put is a better option.

Good pointers

The other side is always more enticing

Singapore is the playground of the rich, but it is also the playground for almost every other income class, or it would not enjoy the success it does today.

While the rich enjoy their bungalows, the middle to lower income enjoy our HDBs.

While the rich cruise in their luxury cars, the middle to lower income goes point by point in BB cars, or take public transport (admittedly slowed down not more than 1 time a month on average).

While the rich flashes their Rolexes and premium brand watches, we read our faithful Seikos and Casios and then slip our hands into our pockets.

The rich dine in classy restaurants while we enjoy our noodles and rice in hawker centres / food courts. In calorie count and nutrition, is there any real difference? (Incidentally, we do know of at least one rich man who dines in hawker centres often).

Other than those, we (middle and lower income) enjoy the same level of safety and security and education, and public facilities like swimming pools, resorts, childcare, museums etc. Our vote is just as heavy as their vote. For the less fortunate, there are much more subsidies to ensure that all can continue to swim upstream.

Just what is it that the rich have in SG that the middle or lower income do not have, that cause the rich to flock to SG while the middle or low income have to migrate? Which garden or park is not free for all Singaporeans regardless of income level, Botanical Gardens or Gardens by the Bay?

Anyway, it's not easy getting employed in OZ as a foreigner. I have a relative with postgrad qualifications who gave up after trying for one year.

u hit the nail on the head. Your aunt is rich. so naturally SG is the best place.

This yr's HSBC expat survey placed SG as the number one destination for expats. With a quarter of SG expats making above USD 200K pa, i can see this is really the rich man playgroud (incidentally, we rank one of the worst for work life balance and cost of raising kids, but the other merits outweigh these inconveniences) 

For middle class, i would suppose it is a good option to relocate elsewhere. Where one's skill is recognized (eg nursing in australia). Or where salaries are higher (GCC)

I'm starting to consider a relocation

Edited by Seohster

Singapore is the playground of the rich, but it is also the playground for almost every other income class, or it would not enjoy the success it does today.

While the rich enjoy their bungalows, the middle to lower income enjoy our HDBs.

While the rich cruise in their luxury cars, the middle to lower income goes point by point in BB cars, or take public transport (admittedly slowed down not more than 1 time a month on average).

While the rich flashes their Rolexes and premium brand watches, we read our faithful Seikos and Casios and then slip our hands into our pockets.

The rich dine in classy restaurants while we enjoy our noodles and rice in hawker centres / food courts. In calorie count and nutrition, is there any real difference? (Incidentally, we do know of at least one rich man who dines in hawker centres often).

Other than those, we (middle and lower income) enjoy the same level of safety and security and education, and public facilities like swimming pools, resorts, childcare, museums etc. Our vote is just as heavy as their vote. For the less fortunate, there are much more subsidies to ensure that all can continue to swim upstream.

Just what is it that the rich have in SG that the middle or lower income do not have, that cause the rich to flock to SG while the middle or low income have to migrate? Which garden or park is not free for all Singaporeans regardless of income level, Botanical Gardens or Gardens by the Bay?

Anyway, it's not easy getting employed in OZ as a foreigner. I have a relative with postgrad qualifications who gave up after trying for one year.

Pretty good post

As long as there is a stable income, high or low, still can survive

But just pray the job is always there

If jobless with housing loan, the expenses can be overwhelming

The way I see it, there is this misconception that by migrating over , life becomes easy on the other side of the fence. But I doubt so. It is only those who can make substantial investment, or have a much sought after skill set, that are qualified for migration to NZ , Australia and such countries. If someone has neither of these, I doubt they will be so charitable to take them in just so he can enjoy the land, the cheap housing and car, welfare and what. Those people who qualifies, they choose to migrate for a different lifestyle. To put it bluntly, it is NOT an option or solution for those who don't qualify and whose lives is tough here, unless one believes there is heaven on earth.

Edited by Ingenius

My thoughts only.

If u are lower middle income and white in NZ/australia, it's ok. maybe better than SG.

But if u are chinese/muslim/maori/aborigine, it's definitely worse.

Can be asset rich, middle income. 

Or debt rich, middle income too.

Rich or poor mostly how you define it.

my cousin is middle income (so he says) but he got a 2 storeys house - 1 porsche and 1 toyota SUV with 3 kids ... enjoy life leh

My thoughts only.

If u are lower middle income and white in NZ/australia, it's ok. maybe better than SG.

But if u are chinese/muslim/maori/aborigine, it's definitely worse.

If some ppl comprain they feel like 2nd or 3rd class citizen in sg n tink migrating to Oz will change all that, they are right.

Over there, they will be 4th or 5th class citizen......

To be fair, also got some living happily after migrating. 

Much depends on ones outlook in life and personal circumstances. Hard to use any one single yardstick to gauge.

Here is a read from someone who actually moved to NZD and regretted, written from a Caucasian perspective. Wife sent me this when we were discussing :D

http://e2nz.org/migrant-stories/chapter-2/we-chose-to-go-with-new-zealand-big-mistake/