How problematic is VW's 7 speed DSG?

Kar_lover

More confusing ...

The VW Spec stated 7-DSG Auto leh.

Do you own one of this VW with 7-DSG ? So far so good ?

Auto upshift/downshift mah.

Essentially, it is still manual GB with 2 clutch pack.

You go ask all the workshops in Singapore, all will tell you to avoid VW and Audi due to its DSG problem that is known world wide.

u not wrong to say that; i;ve spoken to ws about cars too, although they mentioned "ang mo" chia and "han kok" chia more lechey; the former being drivetrain n electronics issues, the latter being parts not as durable as "jipun" chia.

a few dealers told me they don't dare to "eat" "ang mo" chia like vvv, lion, 4 rings, blue white, cos scared of lemon law..

Auto upshift/downshift mah.

Essentially, it is still manual GB with 2 clutch pack.

Thanks for your efforts explaining this technology in your perspective. I am more enlightened now.

u not wrong to say that; i;ve spoken to ws about cars too, although they mentioned "ang mo" chia and "han kok" chia more lechey; the former being drivetrain n electronics issues, the latter being parts not as durable as "jipun" chia.

a few dealers told me they don't dare to "eat" "ang mo" chia like vvv, lion, 4 rings, blue white, cos scared of lemon law..

Got "lion" brand in Singa-pura ?

I heard people called horse = ferrari, porky = Porsche. Don't tell me lion = jag ... ?

Thanks for your efforts explaining this technology in your perspective. I am more enlightened now.

I heard people called horse = ferrari, porky = Porsche. Don't tell me lion = jag ... ?

jag is jag, lion is F&N, get it? talk about lion also links me to double upward pointing arrow.

Lol...

I was watching a documentary on restoring a '58 "Lion, double upward arrows pointing" 2CV with 450cc air-cooled engine.

Porsche logo actually is a Deer...not Pig.

Bit the bullet and sold off the car a loss of almost 25k within 5 months of ownership .

The scarry part is that someone else has just inherited your problems.

Not implying anything about your action as this is the reality of buying 2nd hand cars, especially conti ones.

The scarry part is that someone else has just inherited your problems.

Not implying anything about your action as this is the reality of buying 2nd hand cars, especially conti ones.

Actually still the old saying.. Scared don't buy, Buy already don't scared.. Lol scared don't mod, mod don't scared same thing haha..

Like that Mercedes and BMW 2nd hand cars very cheap lah. You know of any lobang? [wave]

Esp in SG, if I ever get a 2nd hand, conti/jap/kor, = respective AD's 2nd hand arm.

iinw, their 2nd hand arm only sells models within 2yo & theres full svc record and balance of the AD's warranty.

So brand new or 2nd hand, = AD.

Esp in SG, if I ever get a 2nd hand, conti/jap/kor, = respective AD's 2nd hand arm.

iinw, their 2nd hand arm only sells models within 2yo & theres full svc record and balance of the AD's warranty.

So brand new or 2nd hand, = AD.

Think i told this story before.

My friend put deposit for a 2+ year old Roc in 2014 with VW's 2nd hand arm after he came back from studies.

So he was told it's accident free.

Then by coincidence he met one of his colleagues (not immediate colleague) and was chatting in the lift and found out the girl sold off the same car to VW because of multiple accidents (want to change luck or something). 1-2 fender benders and 1 more serious one. 

So he kpkb to VW and only reluctantly got back his deposit cos they deemed those accidents non structural.

While the car itself is probably structurally fine, he just feel dulan about VW's misrepresentation.

Killer combo when see chio SE in tight skirt sales talk you, coupled with good looking car design + interior fit & finish + better than average driving performance from turbocharged engines..

Some people of course buay tahan.

hahaha.

Lol rather than the japanese brands aunties  [:p]

Out of all the conti, Mercedes may still hold the best value. Their parts are usually more rugged in design. The cars may not run as smooth as Audi or being made a drivers car like BMW, but the fact is that they are the only Germany car maker that has ventured into industrial cars as well as passenger cars, and reliability plays a very important part.

Mercedes is being very very conservative about stressing out their engines too. eg.

Audi: 1.4l 4 cylinder pushing out 150bhp and 250Nm

BMW: 1.5l 3 cylinder pushing out 136bhp and 220Nm

Mercedes: 1.6l 4 cylinder pushing out 150bhp and 250Nm

Others may say smaller engines with higher output are more advanced, but I do not think Mercedes cannot make such an engine, but they prefer to consider more on the long run.

I don't think the 7 speed dry clutch dsg was ever resolved, despite what VCS is telling their customers. If you go to overseas VW forums, lots of complaints with the mk7 golf on 7 speed dsg.

I have a friend working in the technical side of ZF. Their analysis of the 7 speed gearbox  is summarised as " It's not a matter or if , but a matter of when "

I never own a VW before, but tempted by the VW brand. Mind to share your 2 VW cars 6-DSG or 7-DSG or Manual ?

When Roc first launched many years ago, I test drove the 1.4 7-DSG and was thinking "why a brand new GB Jerk especially when down shifting... and thought it was the advanced engine braking tech..."

Juddering is not the same as this downshifting.

Juddering is due to uneven wear on the clutch. I guess you have to change your driving characteristics in start stop traffic to reduce clutch wear.