How problematic is VW's 7 speed DSG?

Kar_lover

DSG sure is fun to drive. shift itself so quickly.

downshift also song.. no need manual mode at all. but sometimes play abit only.

I'm on GTI 2.0L so mine is wet clutch 6spd. no issue.. 

i bought the 2.0L model bcos heard of the DQ200 issue in those 1.4L.

no complains. only compliment!

His car may or may not have problems, he only said he sold it in 2 years, maybe in good condition? He only said his friend's passat was in troubleshooting state. My friend's passat cc has juddering during pick up, AD didnt manage to fix it, he sold it off in a year. I suppose driving DSG needs some getting use to it, otherwise dont try to buy the brand at all, or maybe the wet clutch has no such juddering problem. MU is a unit that I heard being replaced in my group of friends who own VW Scirocco.

i may want to downgrade to more entry level VAG car. Unlikely the models i'm looking at will have wet clutch.

So want to see how lor.

i may want to downgrade to more entry level VAG car. Unlikely the models i'm looking at will have wet clutch.

So want to see how lor.

U need space for your dog right? Get the Octavia combi RS from PI. Price can nego.. Edited by Fu11thr0tt1e

U need space for your dog right? Get the Octavia RS from PI. Price can nego..

hahaha few months ago, we discovered our dog is a car-sick prone dog. So haha she's been relegated to only going between my in-laws and my place (few mins drive) or going to the vet.  [laugh]

cleaning up vomitus from car mats is not fun  [dead]

So want to see how lor.

By then, maybe VAG would hv banished the DQ200 to garbage landfill

Lol still so many dq200 models. Their most widely used DSG GB.

Minimally u shld go for the A4 w wet 7-spd DSG bro. Once u try the smooth & responsive, proper (wet) DSG, u won't wanna waste time on simi CVT or traditional torque converter anymore

haha i'm trying to downgrade and reduce expenditure leh (since got a 2nd car).

Though admittedly the price of the A4 is quite attractive at 140+k compared to it's rivals.

Thought the ZF 8 speed in BMW very highly rated? Though not that i can afford the cars it comes in. 

what ... did i hear CVT?

people says CVT is the future

it's better than any auto trans leh .... 

people who love auto trans is passe la ... 

ya.. wet dsg would be fun.

but those normally only found in premium model..

haha i'm trying to downgrade and reduce expenditure leh (since got a 2nd car).

Though admittedly the price of the A4 is quite attractive at 140+k compared to it's rivals.

Thought the ZF 8 speed in BMW very highly rated? Though not that i can afford the cars it comes in.

U hv both the Accord & Avante?

DSG sure is fun to drive. shift itself so quickly.

downshift also song.. no need manual mode at all. but sometimes play abit only.

I'm on GTI 2.0L so mine is wet clutch 6spd. no issue..

i bought the 2.0L model bcos heard of the DQ200 issue in those 1.4L.

no complains. only compliment!

Best part abt the GTI is the DSG farts

what ... did i hear CVT?

people says CVT is the future

it's better than any auto trans leh ....

people who love auto trans is passe la ...

I think is future for B&B car.

is relatively simple construction and light weight.

cost definitely is cheaper to build versus others.

U hv both the Accord & Avante?

Best part abt the GTI is the DSG farts

yeah. wife's school run vehicle is the elantra.

Car is my one luxury ... though yes i could do cab/grab to and fro to work ...  -_- But i want to drive and have the freedom to go dabao food or go several places at one go.

Hence looking to downgrade lor. Save a bit over the next decade until school runs are not so necessary... but well see how lah. Not much left except paper value for the honda, so drive on also not much difference.

A lot means how many? 10 out of a 1000?

Works about the same the other way.

The people who complain or talk about the problems, I would think are that handful and probably also do not own it. Even if they did, maybe the older generations and thus steered clear of the newer generations which do not have problems.

The people who actually drive it will just silently enjoy it and not brag about it, for fear of being scolded/put down. There is also not much point to try to argue since the mindset is already embedded, unless of course you work in the company and your livelihood depends on the sales.

Also kinda sounds strangely familiar to the political scene.

I think is future for B&B car.

is relatively simple construction and light weight.

cost definitely is cheaper to build versus others.

WRX and Forester XT using CVT

Biggest facepalm in history....lol

WRX and Forester XT using CVT

Biggest facepalm in history....lol

impreza & xv also CVT, heck almost all subaru cars are using it which really kills the driving experience.

surprisingly the cvt on honda civic/turbo is actually not bad, somehow honda managed to tune the cvt.

the cvt on toyota vios is just trash, floor it and the car is still crawling regardless of engine hp/torque whatsoever.