BenTong Turbocharged April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 Think it's all about power surge. All strength lights and hdb lights "took" on the same time. Then all of us on lights and air con and charge our phones and tablets at the same when we reach home from work. Then offices lights all on.. Demand surge around 7-8pm. ⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 It looks funny to have LTA officials joining our private company committee meeting to discuss operational issues. Private enterprise does not involve civil service provider acknowledgement besides their rules and regulations. it's ok lah, in singapore we are all one big family. private and public together as one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Still2016 Twincharged April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 To be fair. . Whatever legacy she left over, it's been long enough for the current CEO and his kakis to fix. At least not get worst. And the current CEO is not cheap. Definitely time for Hara kiri.. and get a real industry expert to take over. Dipping ex generals all over the place is a failure. Sir May I humbly asked you be more specific .... For Hara kiri - penknife or parang Dipping ex generals - Aioli, the garlic version of mayonnaise. Ajika, a spicy, subtly flavoured dip in Caucasian cuisine, based on hot red pepper, garlic, herbs and spices. Ajvar, made from red bell peppers with garlic, found in Serbian cuisine Artichoke dip, uses artichoke as a primary ingredient. Some versions are served chunky, while others are puréed and have a smooth texture Baba ghanoush, a dip made from eggplant. It is popular in the Eastern Mediterranean and parts of South Asia. Bagna càuda, a regional dish of the Italian Piedmont; it is composed of garlic, anchovies, oil and dairy, and is served with assorted vegetables for dipping.[4] Barbecue sauce, a common sauce either tomato, vinegar, or mustard based, often used for grilled and fried meats, and french fries in the United States. Bean dip, dip made from refried beans Blue cheese dressing is usually made from mayonnaise, sour cream, yogurt, blue cheese, milk, vinegar, onion powder, dry mustard, and garlic powder. It is commonly used as a dip for raw vegetables or buffalo wings. Buffalo sauce, made from vinegar-based pepper (usually cayenne) hot sauce, is often used as both a coating for buffalo wings as well as a standalone dipping sauce for other foods. Chile con queso, a dip of melted cheese and chili peppers used in Tex Mex cuisine with tortilla chips.[5] Chili oil is used as a dipping sauce for meat and dim sum. Chocolate, a dip for various fruits, doughnuts, profiteroles and marshmallows. Chutney, any of a wide variety of sauces with origins in the sub-continent of India, from freshly chopped herbs in yogurt, to bottled, spiced fruit mixtures. Used with snacks like deep fried samosas and pakoras. In India and Sri Lanka, it is also commonly served with dosa and idli. Clam dip, a kind of condiment for dipping crackers and chips. Cocktail sauce, a popular dip for seafood made from ketchup or chili sauce and horseradish. Crab dip, a thick dip popular in Maryland usually made from cream cheese and lump crab meat. Fish sauce (Garum), or nam pla, the fermented fish equivalent of soy sauce, used in southeastern Asian cuisines as a dip for snacks and other foods. Fish paste or bagoong, fermented fish paste, used in southeastern Asian cuisines as a dip for rice dishes. Fondue, a melted cheese sauce, which rose in popularity in the U.S. and Europe during the 1960s and 1970s. French onion dip, a combination of sour cream, minced onions and onion salt. Fruit dip, a dip made from fresh fruit. Fry sauce, a dip made from ketchup and mayonnaise, eaten with french fries and onion rings. Garlic butter sauce, a dip made of garlic and melted butter, used for dipping seafood, chicken, beef and pizza. Plain clarified butter or drawn butter are more common with lobster, crab or clams. Gravy, a thickened sauce made from the natural juices given off during cooking. Used as a dipping sauce for bread, such as in Maghreb cuisine. Guacamole, a Mexican dip of avocados, onions and chili peppers, commonly eaten with tortilla chips; it may also be served as a salad. Hazelnut butter or hazelnut spread is commonly used as both a spread and a dip for crackers and cookies. Honey, a common dip for french fries and chicken. Hot sauce or chili sauce, a spicy dip made from peppers. Hummus, a Levantine dip of ground chickpeas and sesame tahini with spices and lemon juice. Jus, a broth formed with the natural juices given off by the food being cooked, such as is served with a French dip. Ketchup (also called catsup or tomato sauce), often used with french fries, onion rings, and a wide variety of other foods. Marinara sauce, a tomato sauce served with breadsticks, pizza, etc. Mayonnaise, the European egg and oil emulsion that is not only the basis for many dips, but is on its own a dip for cold chicken; raw, fried, and grilled vegetables; french fries; and seafood. Muhammara, a Near Eastern hot pepper and walnut dip. Mustard, ground seeds of the mustard plant; variants are used in Asian cuisine. Nacho cheese dip is a common party and sport condiment popular for dipping tortilla chips or for spreading on full tortillas. Nam chim are Thai dipping sauces which most often contain chili peppers. Nam phrik are Thai chili pastes which are also used as dips for vegetables and, for instance, fried fish. Nước chấm (Vietnamese) and Prik Nam Pla (Thai), mixes of chili peppers and fish sauce. Olive oil dip, pure or combined with different culinary herbs used for dipping fresh bread, a common dip in Greece and parts of Italy. Ranch dressing is a condiment made of buttermilk, sour cream, yogurt, mayonnaise, minced green onion, garlic powder, and other seasonings mixed into a sauce. Salsa, a fresh or bottled sauce based on tomato, with various chilis, onions, and herbs. Used most often with tortilla chips. Satsivi, a walnut dip in Georgian cuisine. Shrimp dip commonly used with vegetables and chips. Smetana, a type of sour cream, a common dip for bliny, pelmeni, vareniki. Sour cream, on its own or combined with mayonnaise and/or other ingredients, a common dip for potato chips. Soy sauce, the fermented bean liquid often served in small saucers for dipping a variety of East Asian foods. For sushi and sashimi, prepared wasabi is mixed in.[6] Spinach dip, for tortilla chips and vegetables, popular in the United States and Canada. Sriracha sauce, a spicy Thai or Vietnamese chili sauce made from chili peppers, salt, and distilled vinegar. Sweet and sour sauce, aka plum sauce or duck sauce, a semi-east-Asian chutney, used for dipping fried noodles, dumplings, and other snack foods. Taramosalata, a Near Eastern dip of carp or codfish roe. Tartar sauce, commonly used with seafood, a mixture of mayonnaise, capers or pickles, and spices. Tentsuyu, a Japanese dipping sauce. Tkemali, a cherry plum sauce in Georgian cuisine. Toyo & Kalamansi, a portmanteau of the Filipino words for soy sauce (toyo) and calamondin (calamansi). Used both for fried fish, fried tofu and pork, on porridge, among others. Tzatziki, a Greek condiment made with yoghurt. Similar sauces used for dipping include tarator (Turkey, Serbia) and Raita (India). Vinegar, especially with crushed garlic, is used in the Philippines as a dip for grilled meats, and steamed crabs. Balsamic vinegar is also commonly used as a dipping sauce for bread. Vin Santo, into which cantucci (biscotti) are dipped.[7] Kamseh. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 There is no motivation to woo the customers because the customer do not determine their revenue or even the train fare. The benefits of market forces through privatization is absent here, because there are no alternatives - they even went on to remove bus routes along the MRT routes (this was already long debated). The train fares are decided by this committee that made up of the operators themselves + representatives from LTA. ya imagine as car ower in Singapore, if 1 day we can only buy 1 brand only and no other choice. I would imagine the service provided would drop tremendously. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 it's ok lah, in singapore we are all one big family. private and public together as one The only time differentially is during revenue house asking for accurate corporate tax return. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 To be fair. . Whatever legacy she left over, it's been long enough for the current CEO and his kakis to fix. At least not get worst. And the current CEO is not cheap. Definitely time for Hara kiri.. and get a real industry expert to take over. Dipping ex generals all over the place is a failure. True to some extend. The current ceo joined smrt since Oct 2012, he should indeed have time to remedy the mess in the system, even not enough time but also should not get worst. Too bad it seems like he is just sitting in his office comfortably getting his big fat salary every month without showing any great achievement? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 don't anyhow say... people got grade B okayyyy True to some extend. The current ceo joined smrt since Oct 2012, he should indeed have time to remedy the mess in the system, even not enough time but also should not get worst. Too bad it seems like he is just sitting in his office comfortably getting his big fat salary every month without showing any great achievement? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 (edited) We have been Phiak-ed good and proper. Please don't be disrespectful. She could be our future president - SMRT meets the paid up capital requirements right? im talking the valuable land surrounding the mrt, not just inside station. https://www.mtr.com.hk/en/corporate/properties/prop_dev_index.html hk mtr owns entire malls, offices etc... I see. Can you explain what is good about this model as I don't see the synergies between the 2 businesses. If it is just to use the profits from the mall side to fund the rail side then it is no different from the govt taking money to subsidize SMRT now. Edited April 26, 2016 by Kusje 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 ok guys! if taking mrt one please go and get a torchlight moi recommend cheap cheap good good taobao stuff: https://world.taobao.com/item/36606653373.htm?fromSite=main&spm=a312a.7700824.w4002-10009623178.36.YDbQwx I got one only S$18. Online army giftshop called Hock Gift Shop. http://www.hockgiftshop.com/non-rechargeable-flashlight/227-ultrafire-pocket-torch.html 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 To be fair to him, what could he do? 1). Revamp the whole system? I heard when he took over he wanted to shut down the system and do major repairs but it was nixed cos shutting the MRT could paralyse the country. So could he do that then or now? Would you do it and risk being the one behind paralysing the country and theoretically causing worse problems than on and off delays? 2). Profits to shareholder must be flowing at a certain rate all the time. The major shareholder is run by the wife of the current PM. So how? Would you risk your rice bowl to reduce profit for more maintenanc. We like to think we would but if making the decision would threaten our jobs, we might not. 3) maybe he will think that if during general elections pap performed poorly he will have a stronger hand for tough talk to the shareholders. Lo and behold, one of the highest mandates in recent times. So how? So how? Personally have no knowledge of Desmond Quek. Just being neutral. By the way, if I remember correctly, smrt runs the train and the operations while lta provided the infrastructure. So if there is track fault, whose fault? SMRT that did not maintain, or LTA that did not provide good infrastructure that could last. It might have seemed clear cut but knowing politics, it could be blur. Like when the tracks were first laid, perhaps the manual said replace after 50 years. Now its not 50 years but failing. Is it smrt fault for not replacing or lta for putting outdated info in the manual? That is y warranties have a lot of exclusions. I do know know if the same applies to smrt and the electrical system but maybe that is why Desmond never fell yet. By the way, even the new systems? Who managed the contract for the construction? Lta or smrt? If it is lta, when system fail, fingers can be pointed to lta instead. Same applies for SBS also, just smrt seems to be the flavour of the week. My two cents. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 If it is just to use the profits from the mall side to fund the rail side then it is no different from the govt taking money to subsidize SMRT now. garmen doesnt wan 2 pay for all of smrt bills, thats reason y it IPO'ed, so compromise d private n public shareholder expectations by having a rail+property model which has turned out well for HK. Rail drains $, but property brings $, so offset each other. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 (edited) To be fair to him, what could he do? 1). Revamp the whole system? I heard when he took over he wanted to shut down the system and do major repairs but it was nixed cos shutting the MRT could paralyse the country. So could he do that then or now? Would you do it and risk being the one behind paralysing the country and theoretically causing worse problems than on and off delays? 2). Profits to shareholder must be flowing at a certain rate all the time. The major shareholder is run by the wife of the current PM. So how? Would you risk your rice bowl to reduce profit for more maintenanc. We like to think we would but if making the decision would threaten our jobs, we might not. 3) maybe he will think that if during general elections pap performed poorly he will have a stronger hand for tough talk to the shareholders. Lo and behold, one of the highest mandates in recent times. So how? So how? Personally have no knowledge of Desmond Quek. Just being neutral. By the way, if I remember correctly, smrt runs the train and the operations while lta provided the infrastructure. So if there is track fault, whose fault? SMRT that did not maintain, or LTA that did not provide good infrastructure that could last. It might have seemed clear cut but knowing politics, it could be blur. Like when the tracks were first laid, perhaps the manual said replace after 50 years. Now its not 50 years but failing. Is it smrt fault for not replacing or lta for putting outdated info in the manual? That is y warranties have a lot of exclusions. I do know know if the same applies to smrt and the electrical system but maybe that is why Desmond never fell yet. By the way, even the new systems? Who managed the contract for the construction? Lta or smrt? If it is lta, when system fail, fingers can be pointed to lta instead. Same applies for SBS also, just smrt seems to be the flavour of the week. My two cents. You are right that there may be unknown difficulties but that's why he gets paid $X million to navigate such issues and find ways and means to resolve them. If not, don't take the poison chalice. Navigating the corridors of the SAF versus what you've rightly described is something he should have known better and done better. It's called the Peter principle and sadly, he's starting to fulfill that. Edited April 26, 2016 by Mason016 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 I got one only S$18. Online army giftshop called Hock Gift Shop. http://www.hockgiftshop.com/non-rechargeable-flashlight/227-ultrafire-pocket-torch.html Bro, buy my taobao one better no joke the taobao one is a XML-T6 bulb and powered by a 18650 lithium battery pure brute force the armygift shop one, is defeintly not a XML-T6 bulb because it is powered by a AA battery AA battery don't have enough to power XMLT6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 Bro, buy my taobao one better no joke the taobao one is a XML-T6 bulb and powered by a 18650 lithium battery pure brute force the armygift shop one, is defeintly not a XML-T6 bulb because it is powered by a AA battery AA battery don't have enough to power XMLT6 But still it cannot shine through clothes to see what ppl are wearing underneath. Seriously, I only needed a pocket size torchlight that could shine light so that I can see. If I want to blind ppl maybe I will get one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 You are right that there may be unknown difficulties but that's why he gets paid $X million to navigate such issues and find ways and means to resolve them. If not, don't take the poison chalice. Navigating the corridors of the SAF versus what you've rightly described is something he should have known better and done better. It's called the Peter principle and sadly, he's starting to fulfill that. Actually if the smrt ceo salary not super high until what he is getting now, maybe people still "balance" a bit when he cannot do anything on the current mess?! But since he is getting a big salary and yet tell us what could he do? I listen liao also blood boiled! Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 Actually if the smrt ceo salary not super high until what he is getting now, maybe people still "balance" a bit when he cannot do anything on the current mess?! But since he is getting a big salary and yet tell us what could he do? I listen liao also blood boiled! Lol. Doesn't matter what his salary is. What matters is he is the de-facto leader of a leaderless SMRT. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 Bro, buy my taobao one better no joke the taobao one is a XML-T6 bulb and powered by a 18650 lithium battery pure brute force the armygift shop one, is defeintly not a XML-T6 bulb because it is powered by a AA battery AA battery don't have enough to power XMLT6 The army gift shop is a SK68 design, many china manufacturers make it with different quality. They usually have the XPE Q5 or R5 LED.. Can get it less than $10 from Qoo.. Your one is not bad.. WF-502b design. Very moddable. I have the 503b version, mod to XM-L2 U2 LED with 2.8amp driver.. Enough to brighten the whole room. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 26, 2016 Share April 26, 2016 But still it cannot shine through clothes to see what ppl are wearing underneath. Seriously, I only needed a pocket size torchlight that could shine light so that I can see. If I want to blind ppl maybe I will get one. Your light actually can use 14500 lithium battery. It' 3.7V, thus it'll drive a higher current into the LED, making it brighter. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...