Kb27 Supersonic March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 this happens everywhere... just because nothing happen doesn't mean the systems in place are working. that's the idea why systems like ISO are in place.. but systems always by pass and audit can still pass.. pls dun quote me.. ISO is just about documenting processes. It does not guarantee quality. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 He is brought in by the investors, of course won't get sacked la. Just think, how many of the paper generals that got to "private sectors" got sacked for incompetence? If my small brain serves me correctly, the answer is none. I give my two cents.What happened here is everyone is running on auto pilot. If it was working, why change anything? When saw took over, few breakdowns so she took it for granted maintenance is not so crucial.For Desmond, I dunno y but I kinda feel he knows what must be done but his hands are tied. This to me is unacceptable because he is the CEO after all.I think the solution here is simple. Desmond must be empowered to do what he thinks is the best without hindrance. If he succeeds, he deserves his pay. He fails, off he goes. But the crux is he must be eempowered, not shackled by investors. The reason why I feel he is not sacked is because the higher ups know his constraints and getting another person would not make a difference. His competence is not in question. Those ISO audits are all bullsh1t la. Just bring the auditor out for lunch everyday and have the basic requirements ready, kao tim liao. this happens everywhere... just because nothing happen doesn't mean the systems in place are working. that's the idea why systems like ISO are in place.. but systems always by pass and audit can still pass.. pls dun quote me.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged March 10, 2015 Share March 10, 2015 this happens everywhere... just because nothing happen doesn't mean the systems in place are working. that's the idea why systems like ISO are in place.. but systems always by pass and audit can still pass.. pls dun quote me.. Think of it this way, if smrt or lrt is an airline company. With so many breakdown, the airline safety records will be very bad. So for some, they cannot to make any mistake or flaw in the system as its a life and death situation, for some, it can cause great inconvenience to many people. For some the error of margin is much higher as it does not affect that much people and not life threatening. And definitely smrt need to look at how come some airlines can maintain such good service standard. How we can learn from them. They also should learn from Japan how they can maintain the rail system to such good standard. How come they could have so little breakdown but not us? They should also look at our history where train is so much reliable. How come in the past we can have so reliable system but not nowadays what went wrong? LRT don't say as ever since it was launched, there were many issues and stoppages till now. Seems like something is wrong since start. However they did seem to resolve the issue where fewer breakdown later but now back to the old issue when it first started running lrt but seems even worst. Why? What is the difference in they things to get done? Hopefully they could found out and resolve this issue. We also do not want the problem bring over to the new mrt line and frequent breakdown right? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 This human breakdown Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 This human breakdown image.jpg The problem with using the phone and boarding at the same time 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 The problem with using the phone and boarding at the same time I bet it would be an awesome selfie... Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 If mrt needs is 3 months no work leave to fully repair Everythjng, can we give it to mrt? What mrt wants, very hard to give and it is not Desmond's fault We may need very radical solutions like Aggresive work from home orders starting with those garmen chaps excluding essential services like saf, police, hospital, schools Temp workers quarters at all worksite to make sure these chaps don't use mrt Mrt to shut down at 10pm, night bus take over, maintenance start work Very pervasive deployment of express bus from heartlands to workplace, pervasive to the point of making losses at smrt's expense Strict control of train weight load at 75% of manufuctrer's recommendation Any companies with more than 50 work permit must secure accommodations for these workers within 3km and served by bus Re-issue personalized Ezlink cards with nric and photo for all citizens and pr. Standard rate apply for peak hour mrt travel for these cards. Extremely heavy rate for any others without these cards wanting to use mrt at peak hour In the very long term: Aggresive decentralization of city centre But above all: back to basics, focus on core competencies, not pet sexy projects You got some good points over there but every one of them are stripping profit from SMRT. Unless every point is matched with an increase in fare, else who want to support? The bucks stop at the CEO. First year, he still can get uncle saw to share the blame. But after one year and one million dollar, commuters need answers. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 (edited) there was a suggestion from so called "expert" that in order to fix the "root cause" perhaps smrt need more maintenance hours from now till the roout cause is fixed can suggest, mon/tue/wed night ... 3 nights train service end at 11.30pm (last station) because fixing the track it need more time but again ... why korea/japan even taiwan can manage their track with train service end late i watch a documentary about taiwan rail service ... their maintenance regime is upmost critical especially for high speed railway ... it has to be flawless ... check-again-and-again every night ... because 1 simple mistake will be catastrophe Edited March 11, 2015 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 (edited) This human breakdown image.jpg At least for once SMRT can say not their fault.... its the mobile phone fault.... In any case, think the problem starts when "Empress" Saw took over... her top KPI is earning $$$$ and let the book look good, not some crucial maintenance which cost $$$$.... Looking at it, the only way is to shut down the whole system for major overhaul...... in the meantime, stop all ERP, half price for all bus fare till the MRT is fully restored....... but no CEO/Gov got the balls to make this call..... ............ Edited March 11, 2015 by Nlatio 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 Student leg kena stuck in platform gap. Looks like a student from Nanyang JC. Poor girl, looks very painful. Wish her speedy recovery. http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/nel-delay-due-freak-accident-hougang-4990762-2.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 (edited) http://www.economist.com/blogs/economist-explains/2014/06/economist-explains-7 what i dont understand is why doesnt SG follow wat HK MTR n japan JR lines do, which is to let this private infrastructure coys also own the land ard the stations. That way the property profits can be used to cover the expensive train costs... I spoke w an ex civil servant before on this n d reason he gave was garmen refuse to let train coys also own land... in other words they wanna separate coys like capitaland, keppel etc from smrt... really i feel they have to consider HK & Japan's model seriously... if not better harakiri as some say... if d existing cabinet are too old n fuddy duddy to consider out of box ideas, then better step down IMO Edited March 11, 2015 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 At least for once SMRT can say not their fault.... its the mobile phone fault.... In any case, think the problem starts when "Empress" Saw took over... her top KPI is earning $$$$ and let the book look good, not some crucial maintenance which cost $$$$.... Looking at it, the only way is to shut down the whole system for major overhaul...... in the meantime, stop all ERP, half price for all bus fare till the MRT is fully restored....... but no CEO/Gov got the balls to make this call..... ............ poor girl, got to be very painful, i dare not imagine poor mrt is also the boogeyman for too long already you know like recruit xyz the sabo king in bmt? when anything goes wrong, people will say: must be recruit xyz!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 (edited) ouch ... that's painful mind the gap !!! Edited March 11, 2015 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 Very sad to see... Ppl in other countries do this... But in Sgp ppl just look and continue their way. Only a few will stop and offer help. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 Very sad to see... Ppl in other countries do this... But in Sgp ppl just look and continue their way. Only a few will stop and offer help. I'm sure they want to but u know la Wait later Kena fine cos vandalism etc But also here not possible cod of the gates at the platforms Remember the fire extinguisher case? Very sad I say Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 Ouch [:/] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 yalor .... mrt breakdown ... got pregnant woman and suffocating ... public use fire extinguisher to smash screen already "liable" for sue for damage hor ... don't play play I'm sure they want to but u know laWait later Kena fine cos vandalism etc But also here not possible cod of the gates at the platformsRemember the fire extinguisher case?Very sad I say Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 yalor .... mrt breakdown ... got pregnant woman and suffocating ... public use fire extinguisher to smash screen already "liable" for sue for damage hor ... don't play play I though this case SMRT say no case and move on already?? They got sue meh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...