Adrianli Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: Hmm bought a 20" mountain bike for my kid. Too big to fit in my sedan boot Liao. Lucky It could fit across my rear seats. Is there anything to look out for when buying a rear boot mounted bicycle rack? In particular for smaller bicycles? I have zero knowledge of this. You can remove the front wheel and try to fit it into the boot. The front wheel is normally the quick release type. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: Hmm bought a 20" mountain bike for my kid. Too big to fit in my sedan boot Liao. Lucky It could fit across my rear seats. Is there anything to look out for when buying a rear boot mounted bicycle rack? In particular for smaller bicycles? I have zero knowledge of this. If you buy a rack then you also have a make a licence plate to hang on the rack. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 5 hours ago, Adrianli said: You can remove the front wheel and try to fit it into the boot. The front wheel is normally the quick release type. Cool. But I think practically speaking I would need a rack cos if I bring my family out cycling. Then I would need to bring both their bikes and my wife uni wheel at least and still sit 4 pax. For now the smaller bicycle can still fit inside the boot. But definitely cant fit two. Cos it's quite bulky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 9 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Cool. But I think practically speaking I would need a rack cos if I bring my family out cycling. Then I would need to bring both their bikes and my wife uni wheel at least and still sit 4 pax. For now the smaller bicycle can still fit inside the boot. But definitely cant fit two. Cos it's quite bulky A rack will be bulky too if you need to access to your boot. I do have a rack and found it troublesome. So I switched to foldable bike. If you want all four bike. Best is get a wagon or SUV for your next car. Or only buy foldable bike. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 5 hours ago, Fcw75 said: If you buy a rack then you also have a make a licence plate to hang on the rack. Haha OK. Yeah Carousell got such services. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 5 minutes ago, Adrianli said: A rack will be bulky too if you need to access to your boot. I do have a rack and found it troublesome. So I switched to foldable bike. If you want all four bike. Best is get a wagon or SUV for your next car. Or only buy foldable bike. I read that foldies don't work well with kids. Cos proportions all wrong. OK lah. Haha I probably will just get them cycling around my estate most of the time like now. This rack is like for really 10-20% of the time use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 2 minutes ago, Lala81 said: I read that foldies don't work well with kids. Cos proportions all wrong. OK lah. Haha I probably will just get them cycling around my estate most of the time like now. This rack is like for really 10-20% of the time use. It really depends on what bike you get for your kids. My fren kid rode Brompton with modification on seat post. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 7 hours ago, Lala81 said: Hmm bought a 20" mountain bike for my kid. Too big to fit in my sedan boot Liao. Lucky It could fit across my rear seats. Is there anything to look out for when buying a rear boot mounted bicycle rack? In particular for smaller bicycles? I have zero knowledge of this. I always thought all along you own the rear boot mounted bike rack. You always cycle right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 On 7/21/2020 at 4:05 PM, Soya said: Any shop to recommend that doesn't robert or take themselves too seriously? I wanted to replace my 20" stock Dahon rim coz slightly bent and was told SG no have Dahon rim and cheapest is to go aftermarket price from $250 onwards. Somemore must go online to their website to make appointment to see their shop's "wheel specialist" for assessment first Knn....so sibei serious. It's juz a blardy recreational foldie. Even a 200k car I don't have to go thru such "specialist".....lol Which ketok shop? Hahhaah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 6 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: Which ketok shop? Hahhaah Singapore only got 1 Dahon AD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 Boot mounted bicycle rack is not convenient if you need to always open your boot. Also, LTA requires that the rack & bike do not obstruct visibility of rear number plate. Most importantly, you'll may be liable if the bike or rack dislodges from the boot and hit another car, bike, or pedestrian. Best to have a talk with your insurance agent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 (edited) 39 minutes ago, Discoburg said: I always thought all along you own the rear boot mounted bike rack. You always cycle right? Nope I don't. Haha I don't cycle at all. I just jog while my kids cycle. Edited August 25, 2020 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: It really depends on what bike you get for your kids. My fren kid rode Brompton with modification on seat post. Err 2k bicycle vs my 130 dollar bicycle... Just imagine on the bicycle level, my budget is only bezza level. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 8 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Err 2k bicycle vs my 130 dollar bicycle... Just imagine on the bicycle level, my budget is only bezza level. 2k bike can be used for life In addition, you might make a gain when there is shortage in production. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 46 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: Which ketok shop? Hahhaah Not so much ketok but just find it incredulous that they hv a smlj 'wheel specialist' that is sooo special that one needs to make an online appointment just for this guru to see if my stock dahon rim can be repaired. Actually no need la....i know the answer oso; buy a new pair of rims for $500 otherwise leotards will see me no up. Yippee.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 4 minutes ago, Soya said: Not so much ketok but just find it incredulous that they hv a smlj 'wheel specialist' that is sooo special that one needs to make an online appointment just for this guru to see if my stock dahon rim can be repaired. Actually no need la....i know the answer oso; buy a new pair of rims for $500 otherwise leotards will see me no up. Yippee.... Road bike wheel cheaper than $500 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 12 minutes ago, Soya said: Not so much ketok but just find it incredulous that they hv a smlj 'wheel specialist' that is sooo special that one needs to make an online appointment just for this guru to see if my stock dahon rim can be repaired. Actually no need la....i know the answer oso; buy a new pair of rims for $500 otherwise leotards will see me no up. Yippee.... Actually just go to YouTube and learn how to true a wheel. If cannot work then junk it. Not too hard I think. Yes you need some skills. But doubt you can make it any worse if you accept the outcome is a new wheel. I opened up my Jura coffee machine using YouTube videos to replace an o ring that was leaking. Cost me 1.50 for the o ring, went to french road to get a bit on one and took me just 1min after opening the machine for 5min. Local dealer would want close to $100! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 25, 2020 Share August 25, 2020 16 minutes ago, Soya said: Not so much ketok but just find it incredulous that they hv a smlj 'wheel specialist' that is sooo special that one needs to make an online appointment just for this guru to see if my stock dahon rim can be repaired. Actually no need la....i know the answer oso; buy a new pair of rims for $500 otherwise leotards will see me no up. Yippee.... My front Dahon rimalso a bit koyak. Where u buy in the end bro? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...