Foldable bicycle

Sgspurs

3 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

Sedan not possible to load a road bike without removing front wheel.. some even remove front wheel oso cannot load..

Mini velo will need to remove front wheel too..

one of the reason i drive Superb is the big boot with foldable seat. I just put full bike in.

Birdy is nice to ride but i don't like how it fold. If just occasionally u load in car guess ok lah.. I find Crius fold is neater than birdy.. 

Agree. Birdy's fold sucks. If you want a foldie, just buy a Brompton or one of the trifold replicas. 

I find Birdy's ride so so (marginally faster than a B) but aesthetically pleasing. Owned one for about 6 months, sold it and bought a hybrid and never look back. 

Now I don't even ride my Brompton much, only when people jio me and the meeting place is just too far for me to ride there on my 2-wheelers.

The problem is when it rains, jialat, can't activate my son and load into my sedan.

Can 700c hybrid goes into a wagon? I think need to remove front wheel. Maybe i should "ugly-fied" my sedan with a roof rack.

9 hours ago, Columbian78 said:

My kid size mtb already need to remove front wheel then can fit into boot, so i know adult bike cannot. I am not keen to have to remove rear wheel so I basically give up normal bike liao. Maybe will look at mini velo.

Your superb is sedan version? I am not changing car soon but future I thinking of wagon like superb or octavia if i still in today situation. I previously drive a honda jazz and I can squeeze in a full size mtb without removing wheels, with the rear seats down.

My current situation is that my car boot is permanent storage for my 2 foldables.

My Superb is sedan which i prefer over wagon (even if available).. I drove a few MPV before pretty much like a wagon when the rear door/boot open up.. good to carry lots of stuff/cargo BUT in Singapore small carpark it is not user friendly especially so when we always park backside in first..

The Superb boot allow very easy loading. 

My boot is empty as very mafan for me if cluster with stuffs as daily I need to subject to security boot check at my work place.

8 hours ago, Voodooman said:

Can 700c hybrid goes into a wagon? I think need to remove front wheel. Maybe i should "ugly-fied" my sedan with a roof rack.

Rear seat folded should be can blah.. 

I not comfortable with any form of rack.. i see those driving around with bicycles on rack i always siam! whahahahahahhaha..

51 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

Rear seat folded should be can blah.. 

I not comfortable with any form of rack.. i see those driving around with bicycles on rack i always siam! whahahahahahhaha..

I like it when cars siam me…macam im magneto of the road with repelling magnetic field 😁

1B43E72F-3606-46A5-9C6F-679CAB8C15D4.jpeg

10 hours ago, Voodooman said:

Agree. Birdy's fold sucks. If you want a foldie, just buy a Brompton or one of the trifold replicas. 

I find Birdy's ride so so (marginally faster than a B) but aesthetically pleasing. Owned one for about 6 months, sold it and bought a hybrid and never look back. 

Now I don't even ride my Brompton much, only when people jio me and the meeting place is just too far for me to ride there on my 2-wheelers.

The problem is when it rains, jialat, can't activate my son and load into my sedan.

Folding 2/3 of the rear seats, mine can take at least 2 full size bikes without removing wheels (if you are not afraid of scratching).  Can use old towels or carpet to protect the paintwork of the bikes.

If remove the wheels then 3 no issue, still leaving at least 1 or 2 seats at the rear. 

1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said:

My Superb is sedan which i prefer over wagon (even if available).. I drove a few MPV before pretty much like a wagon when the rear door/boot open up.. good to carry lots of stuff/cargo BUT in Singapore small carpark it is not user friendly especially so when we always park backside in first..

The Superb boot allow very easy loading. 

My boot is empty as very mafan for me if cluster with stuffs as daily I need to subject to security boot check at my work place.

I though superb is technically a hatch shaped like a sedan? Or the new model is pure sedan now? 

3 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Folding 2/3 of the rear seats, mine can take at least 2 full size bikes without removing wheels (if you are not afraid of scratching).  Can use old towels or carpet to protect the paintwork of the bikes.

If remove the wheels then 3 no issue, still leaving at least 1 or 2 seats at the rear. 

Ok, looks like wagon is a real possibility for next set of wheels. 😂😂😂

Don't fancy removing front wheel as I have a dynamo with wiring, very lechey.

Edited by Voodooman

8 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

I though superb is technically a hatch shaped like a sedan? Or the new model is pure sedan now? 

Yup a hatch like a sedan.. at least when the boot/rear open don require more space rearward.

52 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

I use old yoga mat to avoid rub or scratch...not that I practice yoya the proper way...my yoya no need mat one...a bed preferred 😁

52 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Sedan form or combi in wagon form. Love the practicality and power of the combi but the gearbox...😅

53 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Ok, looks like wagon is a real possibility for next set of wheels. 😂😂😂

Don't fancy removing front wheel as I have a dynamo with wiring, very lechey.

I've been actively looking out for a wagon to no avail...probably will stick to it for a long while if I manage to find one that suit my wallet...

Old liao...roof mount is a challenge each time...😅

13 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

I ever fit a MTB into the trunk of a Mazda 3, just need to remove the front wheel. 

How the handle bar fit into the boot? Did you load from rear passenger door? 

24 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

How the handle bar fit into the boot? Did you load from rear passenger door? 

Handlebar not an issue leh. I load from the trunk.

I was cycling along seletar west link then tayar puncek. Called my friend who stayed yishun and driving a Mazda 3.

38 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

I've been actively looking out for a wagon to no avail...probably will stick to it for a long while if I manage to find one that suit my wallet...

Bro.. consider Opel Astra Sports Tourer 1.0. Its a wagon. 1.0 litre. I put 1 kids bike and 1 x 16" foldable in boot and still have my junks in it 😀

20210904_142110.jpg

3 hours ago, mersaylee said:

I like it when cars siam me…macam im magneto of the road with repelling magnetic field 😁

1B43E72F-3606-46A5-9C6F-679CAB8C15D4.jpeg

Just remember you have a bike on top. Seen so many video where the car just goes into a car park and the bike and car get smashed!

7 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Just remember you have a bike on top. Seen so many video where the car just goes into a car park and the bike and car get smashed!

One more year and I'll won't have to worry about that any more. Giving up MTB and off track soon. Foldie ftw thereafter...😁

3 hours ago, mersaylee said:

Roof mount is a RISK - I hurt my back just hanging up my old heavy bike onto a wall mount about the same height as roof mount.

Edited by Volvobrick