Foldable bicycle

Sgspurs

9 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Aiyah! I didn't see the post!!! hahaha. I tot fresh from the oven one.

hahahaha. Laugh die me. hahahaha

He might have upgraded a free times liao and riding a Colnago already. 😁

Edited by Fcw75

3 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

He might have upgraded a free times liao and riding a Colnago already.

Simi colnago collogen cognac...sekali tabao errand in style liao 😁

R.jpg

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

You can pick up a second hand one first. Now the covid hobby over le. Everyone is flying now. Sure will sell thier covid bike cheap cheap one.

Go get one and see if you like it anot. If you don't like, when you are selling, you will not make much losses.

My go-to will be Java or Dahon. Good folding mechanism, reliable quality. It might not look as good as brompton, but come on, who really watching you cycling right? hahaha.

55 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Ah di, you replying to a 10 years old post leh. 🤣

34 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Aiyah! I didn't see the post!!! hahaha. I tot fresh from the oven one.

hahahaha. Laugh die me. hahahaha

OK lah it happens but his reply is still valid.

Need some feedbacks on below I'm considering..

- JAVA Aria Carbon Fiber (Like: light body, Dislike: 2 fold)

- Aceoffix (Like: many colours, Dislike: brompton look alike)

- SAVA Carbon Fiber (Like: good gears, Dislike: limited colours)

Thanks

3 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

He might have upgraded a free times liao and riding a Colnago already. 😁

I wish he do! hahahaha. Upgrade and help boost the economy!

3 hours ago, denser said:

Thanks

Your foldable bike requirements very hard to fulfill if don't want  2 fold or brompton lookalike (3 fold).

Maybe considere a mini velo if size is constraint, or birdy (foldable but not like the typical 2/3 folds).

Personally I have 3 foldables and all are 2-folds (velocity, gust, camplite).

4 hours ago, denser said:

Thanks

Consider your important needs first.

1. Light weight?

2. Bring on public transport?

3. Speed?

4. Folded size?

5. Budget.

50 minutes ago, Columbian78 said:

Your foldable bike requirements very hard to fulfill if don't want  2 fold or brompton lookalike (3 fold).

Maybe considere a mini velo if size is constraint, or birdy (foldable but not like the typical 2/3 folds).

Personally I have 3 foldables and all are 2-folds (velocity, gust, camplite).

birdy and brompton over budget, looking something below 1.5k

30 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

Consider your important needs first.

1. Light weight?

2. Bring on public transport?

3. Speed?

4. Folded size?

5. Budget.

Top to least concern

- light weight

- easy to ride without much strength

- budget below 1.5k

- colours

- folding

2 hours ago, denser said:

Top to least concern

- light weight

- budget below 1.5k

- colours

- folding

Then you should be looking at bi-fold aluminium frame with 20" wheels. Should be ard 10kg in weight.

Quite a lot out there from lower end like Crius/fnhon(got to check spelling) to Dahon/Tern.

7 hours ago, denser said:

Thanks

Ask yourself if you need to ride and commute then get one that can fold and drag and light enough to carry around.

If not just get one that be folded and fit into half of the car boot. 

Do you need speed? If yes then get one with 20inches wheel. More stable less wobbly.

I tried to sprint on one JAVA foldie with 20" wheels, can go up to 40km/hr in 10s effort.

4 hours ago, denser said:

Top to least concern

- light weight

- budget below 1.5k

- colours

- folding

- Light weight is subjective.. what is the weight u looking at? foldies around 8-9kg not easy to achieve.. most avg abt 10kg.. trifold can be 12kg

- Easy to ride depend on your fitness and cadence u comfortable with. Can play with chainring and cassette sizing/combination.

- 1.5k is decent; but Full carbon maybe abit stretch

- colours up to individual

- Folding, do you fold for storage or transport? If transport get the lightest trifold.. but this be expensive.. if storage then ease of fold not too critical.

my current foldie.. 8.8kg bifold but i never fold 🤣

46D67E80-D256-4035-8E05-CCEA499A2642.jpeg

Edited by Ody_2004

4 minutes ago, RogerNg_185295 said:

Any comments about foldables from decathlon? Seems like they offer good value for money bicycles. 

Heavy