Foldable bicycle

Sgspurs

57 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

My Brompton also collecting dust now.

I ride alu RB regularly.

Curious your alu RB happen to be from Specialized? Or Canyon? Just wild guessing haha.

Just now, Heartlander said:

Curious your alu RB happen to be from Specialized? Or Canyon? Just wild guessing haha.

Cannondale CAAD10

9 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

Errr.. i bought used.. but relatively new.. the previous owner just do nice nice sell! whahahahahhaha..

The things that help make it lighter will be the carbon fork and i guess Kinlin NBR rims with Novatec hubs 451 alloy wheelset. He put ceramic BB too so smoother to ride..

Fnhon and Crius both knock off of Dahon in a way.. between them seem Fnhon quality seem better. This model is Blast which is similar to Crius Master series.

Some of my ex-rides..

3325A319-83E9-48AB-8412-CC1BCB50BFF2.jpeg

9637DE72-D8C0-48F4-9C11-69DC4E82D6C7.jpeg

6C00479E-8D66-45BD-A682-F4C7BD60758C.jpeg

703CA7C0-FB7C-4545-BAFB-C93857E6F359.jpeg

CC191F20-B614-44DB-BE6A-5115347977BD.jpeg

I find the thinking to go light by using carbon and titanium parts very amusing. Isn't it more logical to lose body weight instead of paying so much to lose just at times grams or at most a kg or 2? I would think this is more of bragging rights that I have this or that parts. In fact the more I come to know bout this RB or MTB industry, alot of people think the right equipment (aka more ex) is everything, always using kidneys to equate the cost but seemingly to have many on their body leh very wierd.

9 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Cannondale CAAD10

Curious why you not gravitating towards S-works territory with carbon frames and what not?

3 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

Curious why you not gravitating towards S-works territory with carbon frames and what not?

The bike is too stiff for me plus I don’t have the power to ride it.

If I want a carbon, it will be Specialized Aetos.

Rather than getting a new bike, I thought of getting a power meter

49 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

The bike is too stiff for me plus I don’t have the power to ride it.

If I want a carbon, it will be Specialized Aetos.

Rather than getting a new bike, I thought of getting a power meter

If you can ride a alu bike, a carbon bike is lighter so you should be able to ride faster right? 

Ok you touching on another area I find it wierd in RB arena - power meter. I really do not get the logic of needing to know how many watts you are pushing out. Correct me if I am wrong. Power meter work by calculating the cadence right? Is it not equal to speed so looknig at bicycle meter will do? So isn't it enough to give your eat milk strength to pedal as fast as you could instead of looking at the power you pushing out? Please help to educate this noob. Thanks.

16 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

If you can ride a alu bike, a carbon bike is lighter so you should be able to ride faster right? 

Ok you touching on another area I find it wierd in RB arena - power meter. I really do not get the logic of needing to know how many watts you are pushing out. Correct me if I am wrong. Power meter work by calculating the cadence right? Is it not equal to speed so looknig at bicycle meter will do? So isn't it enough to give your eat milk strength to pedal as fast as you could instead of looking at the power you pushing out? Please help to educate this noob. Thanks.

In Sg, sub-8kg is enough. Will lose speed if go lighter.

Currently, my bike is 7.7kg with 50mm stack height wheel. It is optimal for Sg road.

Power meter on bike is more complicated than just cadence.

There are 5 types of power meter in the market.

There is a difference in speed btw 250w + headwind and 250w + tailspeed.

Power concentrates on efforts.

I have been running with power meter for some years.

Edited by inlinesix

2 hours ago, Heartlander said:

I find the thinking to go light by using carbon and titanium parts very amusing. Isn't it more logical to lose body weight instead of paying so much to lose just at times grams or at most a kg or 2? I would think this is more of bragging rights that I have this or that parts. In fact the more I come to know bout this RB or MTB industry, alot of people think the right equipment (aka more ex) is everything, always using kidneys to equate the cost but seemingly to have many on their body leh very wierd.

Bicycles are a bit like watches - you can spend 500, 3000, or 20,000. All perform the same function.  AND both bikes and watches are mobile enough for you to bring around to show to your friends! Like cars, but not as expensive.

Personally I think anything more than 2K or 3K gives very marginal returns, if any at all.

Edited by Volvobrick

6 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Bicycles are a bit like watches - you can spend 500, 3000, or 20,000. All perform the same function.  AND both bikes and watches are mobile enough for you to bring around to show to your friends! Like cars, but not as expensive.

Personally I think anything more than 2K or 3K gives very marginal returns, if any at all.

No difference in performance because you ride on PCN.

Unlike car, bicycle depends on Kar.

In Sg, it rare to find cyclist that exceed speed limit on public roads.

Edited by inlinesix

9 hours ago, Heartlander said:

Well for those who just entered this sport/exercise they emphasize alot on equipment.. the  lighter (which mean more expensive) the BETTER.. they think a TOP END Shimano DURACE will make them fly.. but often not they don't.. With every tiny weight save it translate to saving of tiny watts SAVED for the PRO.. we commoner don't and DO NOT benefit much from it.. Just like Audiophile who spend more time & money on equipment/cables/plugs THAN on the enjoyment of music..

The bicycle industry i guess is another Unregulated one.. not say those UCI type of spec.. but those 99% of bikes sold to the public/commoner.. some will call it a SCAM industry which i believe to certain extent..

For me I never goes towards electronics shifting.. tried one on my Pinarello F8.. never like it while others swear by it.. now a TOP end electronics groupset easily $4k i think.. I never move to disc brake which i don't like the braking modulation it provides.. I still prefer the old C brakes.

My current Pinarello F10 is on Shimano Ultegra mechanical groupset.. yes people will laugh "Hey not Durace?? Not Electronics?? Chinarello is it???" but honestly my caliber din even maximize this ultegra.. 

Personally the groupset i find best as used before is Campagnolo Super Record.. My Pinarello 60.1 and 3 Moultons came with it.. but then again sibei ex for the groupset now..

Don't get me wrong. if you willing to spend on top notch equipment do go ahead. Some do benefitted from them as they are fitter who can push more. Just me who don think i need as now more on the enjoyment of cycling.

Edited by Ody_2004

1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said:

Well for those who just entered this sport/exercise they emphasize alot on equipment.. the  lighter (which mean more expensive) the BETTER.. they think a TOP END Shimano DURACE will make them fly.. but often not they don't.. With every tiny weight save it translate to saving of tiny watts SAVED for the PRO.. we commoner don't and DO NOT benefit much from it.. Just like Audiophile who spend more time & money on equipment/cables/plugs THAN on the enjoyment of music..

The bicycle industry i guess is another Unregulated one.. not say those UCI type of spec.. but those 99% of bikes sold to the public/commoner.. some will call it a SCAM industry which i believe to certain extent..

For me I never goes towards electronics shifting.. tried one on my Pinarello F8.. never like it while others swear by it.. now a TOP end electronics groupset easily $4k i think.. I never move to disc brake which i don't like the braking modulation it provides.. I still prefer the old C brakes.

My current Pinarello F10 is on Shimano Ultegra mechanical groupset.. yes people will laugh "Hey not Durace?? Not Electronics?? Chinarello is it???" but honestly my caliber din even maximize this ultegra.. 

Personally the groupset i find best as used before is Campagnolo Super Record.. My Pinarello 60.1 and 3 Moultons came with it.. but then again sibei ex for the groupset now..

Don't get me wrong. if you willing to spend on top notch equipment do go ahead. Some do benefitted from them as they are fitter who can push more. Just me who don think i need as now more on the enjoyment of cycling.

Yes, the thing to upgrade is ownself body :D

6 minutes ago, Yeshe said:

Yes, the thing to upgrade is ownself body :D

Yaloh.. no shortcut to it.. 

during CB i can do abt 800 to 900km per month.. now hit 450km i steal laugh oredi!

2 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

Thanks very much for the insight. 

I am not into this kind of "upgrade" for improvement gain as I also believe the rider is the key factor. I think I am a rare breed on TMCR as the current ride is a 14kg MTB bought > 15years ago used at $300. Just changed the crank to 52T initially from original 44T, tried out 54T keep rubbing the side of the bicycle frame. I have been plying the route from Bedok Jetty to Changi Beach for the last 2 years, I believe, and have progressed much in terms of fitness. In the early days I have to take a prolong drink break (about 1hr) at Changi HC before making the return leg. And even that I have to struggle like shit and often have leg crams near the Thai Central area, not ashamed to admit that sometime have to stop by the road side to recover haha. Very tough as I keep pushing myself to my limit. But the training is paying off nowadays. These few months I always do direct Bedok Jetty- Changi Beach-Bedok Jetty route only stopping briefly at a toilet after half-way mark to do toilet break and drink water, then have a 2min break at Aerospace area to rest from the roughly hour long ride before chionging the way back.

I understand what you posted yesterday about crosswind at TMCR as I could maintain 35km/hr from the foreign dormitory to aerospace area but can only go between 23 to 25km/hr on same stretch during return leg. Do not enjoy the days when crosswind is strong as need to push myself very hard to keep moving haha. I am happy with my current status as done solo without benefits of drafting.

At the moment I am not thinking so much to change my ride but to continue to improve my fitness first. If I am to change, a Canyon Roadlite 7 with Ultegra groupset at about $2k would be my limit. I really cannot bring myself to get into drop bar again and using cleat shoes. No offence but I do not like to walk like a penguin haha.

2 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

That’s why I still using my current bike. I haven’t max it out yet.

Nowadays, only PRO needs Dura-ace. Ultegra is as good as Dura ace.

12 speed Ultegra gruppo I think is Euro 4K. Not SGD4k.

Mechanical or Electronic, Rim or disc brake is as personal preference.

1 minute ago, inlinesix said:

That’s why I still using my current bike. I haven’t max it out yet.

Nowadays, only PRO needs Dura-ace. Ultegra is as good as Dura ace.

12 speed Ultegra gruppo I think is Euro 4K. Not SGD4k.

Mechanical or Electronic, Rim or disc brake is as personal preference.

Ya very hard to max out any bike as we grow older.. i see my strava my tears dropping 🤣

PB is history.. i scroll up scroll down oso bo medal! Whahahahahahaha.. change bike will not help unless i cheat! EBike for the win! Whahahahahaha..

10 hours ago, inlinesix said:

In Sg, sub-8kg is enough. Will lose speed if go lighter.

Currently, my bike is 7.7kg with 50mm stack height wheel. It is optimal for Sg road.

Power meter on bike is more complicated than just cadence.

There are 5 types of power meter in the market.

There is a difference in speed btw 250w + headwind and 250w + tailspeed.

Power concentrates on efforts.

I have been running with power meter for some years.

Wah your RB so light! With rim break right? Like that no need to get carbon bikes already since will not get any significant improvement. And carbon frames always got lingering worry that it might crack if fall down as seen in a recent youtube video, commonly cause by drop bar ends hitting the frame upon impact.

Seems like you do not have any excuse for not riding faster. I still got plenty haha.

4 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

Ya very hard to max out any bike as we grow older.. i see my strava my tears dropping 🤣

PB is history.. i scroll up scroll down oso bo medal! Whahahahahahaha.. change bike will not help unless i cheat! EBike for the win! Whahahahahaha..

A proper e-bike has 25km/h cut-off🤭

In 2017, I sprint to top speed 50km/h.

Recently, i only can clocked 45km/h.

3 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

Wah your RB so light! With rim break right? Like that no need to get carbon bikes already since will not get any significant improvement. And carbon frames always got lingering worry that it might crack if fall down as seen in a recent youtube video, commonly cause by drop bar ends hitting the frame upon impact.

Seems like you do not have any excuse for not riding faster. I still got plenty haha.

Still on rim brake.

To get carbon bike, the weight has to be 6.7kg.

But the price will be 😱

I am still trying to move upwards for Group Ride.