COE solutions??

Wind30

I also find it perplexing how the coe price can rise to so high and be sustained at this level, given the disparity between the middle income group's purchasing power and the coe price. i understand in singapore there are a significant group of high earners, but surely they dont buy new cars every few months right ? Or is the economy really so rosy judging from the strong demand ?

I am not going to suggest any tweak to the coe but my simple wish is that the revenue from coe is channeled to subsidising \improving public transport. this will then at least provide a viable option from the high cost of car ownership.

i lagi perplex why young ppl who find COE skyhigh still so desperate wanna buy new car and kpkb maciam entitlement liddat??.....buy used car soooooooo difficult meh? no used car for sale in the mkt meh?

many of us here probably started off our car-owning days wif an old used car. mine was a COE-car....got car happy like toad liao.

hi, 1st of all, i don't own a car/bought a car, so i don't have a perfect understanding of the system nor do i fully understand any gov/political/economical schemes. so if i'm wrong or wasted your time, i apologise.

i think this high coe situation we're in can be eased a little if the coe is linked to the buyer, not good at explaining so bear with me, for example, father of family wants to buy a car, so he has to fork out the respective coe cat price, years later, he wants another car, still owning the 1st, he has to fork out the respective coe cat price X 2, and later to buy a 3rd car, has to pay respective coe price X 3.

of cos the family can just agree that his wife or child, fulfilling age and license requirements, will buy the 2nd car to save on the double coe price dad has to pay, but i guess those banks loans/insurance will adjust accordingly. and to prevent this from being abused, mayb a limitation can be placed, for example, eligible buyers in a household divide by 2, round up. so for above said family, there's dad, mom and son who's eligible. only 2 of then can buy cars under their name.

i know what i said isn't perfect, i'm sure i missed out many aspects of buying, but i feel this way, rich ppl pay more for owning more cars, and everyone else has a chance to own one.

edit: i know i didn't write anything regarding the 2nd hand car market, to be frank i have not thought about that. sorry

Edited by Ddqwerty

i lagi perplex why young ppl who find COE skyhigh still so desperate wanna buy new car and kpkb maciam entitlement liddat??.....buy used car soooooooo difficult meh? no used car for sale in the mkt meh?

many of us here probably started off our car-owning days wif an old used car. mine was a COE-car....got car happy like toad liao.

eh old fart our gen diff.....we saved then buy...now is instant gratification.....

the main problem is that the COE prices fluctuates way too much. The market for COE is not implemented correctly. High prices reduces demand and reduces supply which is wrong. In such a scenario, COE prices tend to shoot up too fast.

I am looking for a COE price with less fluctuations throughout the years, not necessarily a cheaper COE. I think EVERYONE can agree that it is stupid and wrong to have a few years of $10k COE and a few years of $80k COE.

No! the problem with COE is that there is still too many cars on the road.

either COE continues to increase till majority cannot afford or slowly abolish it while introducing usage based system

what you want is affordability which is counter to what COE is supposed to do, which is to make a car less affordable

Another one who thinks that COE is an entitlement....WTF!!! Take taxi lah...knn

dun understand these ppl....really.

Families, first-timers should have a chance to own a car at reasonable prices

I HOPE the Government conducts a major review and overhaul of the certificate of entitlement (COE) system as soon as possible. The current COE prices have skyrocketed to a preposterous level that is beyond the reach of an average family with young children ("Car buyers want COE system reviewed"; Tuesday).

In 2010, I had to quit my job due to complications related to my pregnancy, so my husband and I did not buy a car then as we were a single-income family, with a baby on the way.

Two years down the road, we still do not own a car. My primary mode of transport is the MRT, where I face difficulty in pushing my pram into the trains.

Now that I am pregnant with my second child and am in my third trimester, owning a car is really a need. I can no longer carry my toddler, should I need to take the bus instead of the train, and waiting for a cab can be a nightmare.

But with the high COE prices and no indication that they would ever come down to a reasonable level, it seems that owning a car has become a far-fetched dream for my family.

I cannot imagine how I will be able to take a newborn and a toddler out while taking public transport.

Our visits to grandparents will not be as frequent, as it is almost impossible for me to take public transport with two young children.

Being able to own a car also means that my spouse can cut down on travelling time and most likely reach home earlier to spend more time with the two children, freeing up much needed time for me to catch a breather or to spend more time together as a family.

I feel that the Government should, in looking at the COE system, review how it would affect families, rather than just trying to curb the number of cars on the road.

Perhaps a ballot system for first-timers or families with young children can be introduced, under which families get a chance to own a car at a reasonable and affordable price.

Ong Shi Yee (Ms)

I fully agree with buying used, but another problem with the COEs rocketing up and fluctuating over the years is that the used car market also yo-yos with car prices being out of sync with the "paper values" by a large margin. Just look at used prices now.

I believe pegging COE prices in a balloting system would bring about a consistency in the used market as well. For those who are opposed to a balloting system, at what prices would you think a balloting system would work and not be a communist/entitlement gift? 50k for Cat A, 100k for Cat B? 60k for Cat A, 120k for Cat B?

at $80k $90k coe ... still so many cheong to buy car

i wonder what is the equilibrium price for coe

perhaps,

cat A = $100k-$120K (this cat got many bmw/merc/audi/vw buyer hor ... toyota/hyundai/kia is slowly priced out liao)

cat B = $120k-$150K

No! the problem with COE is that there is still too many cars on the road.

either COE continues to increase till majority cannot afford or slowly abolish it while introducing usage based system

what you want is affordability which is counter to what COE is supposed to do, which is to make a car less affordable

wahahahaha .... this could be THE solution/carrot to solve low fertility

1 child = 1 ballot > 3rd round ballot

2 child = 2 ballots > 2nd round ballot

3 child = 3 ballots > 1st round ballot

household income ceiling $10k (same as hdb)

child to be counted must be < 10 years old, more childs = more chances

can only buy sedan, mpv or suv. coupe and cabrio out.

omv limit set at $35K (ie: estima 2.4)

can only scrap car and cannot sell to used market or transfer ownership

MOP 5 years, after 5 years itchy backside and want to change car must use back the same coe and transfer to new car > hence, this does not affect coe 'open' bidding quota

wahahahaha ... low fertility rate problem solved

swee bo?

I HOPE the Government conducts a major review and overhaul of the certificate of entitlement (COE) system as soon as possible. The current COE prices have skyrocketed to a preposterous level that is beyond the reach of an average family with young children ("Car buyers want COE system reviewed"; Tuesday).

In 2010, I had to quit my job due to complications related to my pregnancy, so my husband and I did not buy a car then as we were a single-income family, with a baby on the way.

Two years down the road, we still do not own a car. My primary mode of transport is the MRT, where I face difficulty in pushing my pram into the trains.

Now that I am pregnant with my second child and am in my third trimester, owning a car is really a need. I can no longer carry my toddler, should I need to take the bus instead of the train, and waiting for a cab can be a nightmare.

But with the high COE prices and no indication that they would ever come down to a reasonable level, it seems that owning a car has become a far-fetched dream for my family.

I cannot imagine how I will be able to take a newborn and a toddler out while taking public transport.

Our visits to grandparents will not be as frequent, as it is almost impossible for me to take public transport with two young children.

Being able to own a car also means that my spouse can cut down on travelling time and most likely reach home earlier to spend more time with the two children, freeing up much needed time for me to catch a breather or to spend more time together as a family.

I feel that the Government should, in looking at the COE system, review how it would affect families, rather than just trying to curb the number of cars on the road.

Perhaps a ballot system for first-timers or families with young children can be introduced, under which families get a chance to own a car at a reasonable and affordable price.

Ong Shi Yee (Ms)

I fully agree with buying used, but another problem with the COEs rocketing up and fluctuating over the years is that the used car market also yo-yos with car prices being out of sync with the "paper values" by a large margin. Just look at used prices now.

I believe pegging COE prices in a balloting system would bring about a consistency in the used market as well. For those who are opposed to a balloting system, at what prices would you think a balloting system would work and not be a communist/entitlement gift? 50k for Cat A, 100k for Cat B? 60k for Cat A, 120k for Cat B?

The problem with buying a used car is that you are buying it based on current car prices. So even a 3 yr old used car with low-ish COE value (i.e. low paper value) will still be selling at relatively ridiculous prices based on the new car today. I have calculated the different of installment between a brand new BB car and a used one can be around $100/mth. If it were me, i definitely rather pay that $100 more to get a brand new car.

As for balloting, as said before, balloting will only give rise to a black market. Ppl who don't really need a car but can afford one (even at the "nominal" COE value of say $50k for Cat A) will try their luck at the ballot and if successful will sell back to the market for a profit. Just like when there is a new iphone launch, people who don't want it but able to recontract their line, still go and buy cos they know they can resell at a handsome to those who not able to get their hands on it. Govt would have to impose some kind of resale levy so that they cannot profit from it but that would just complicate matters.

At the end of the day, the fact is a private car is NOT a necessity. Especially for a small place like Singapore that has a pretty comprehensive - although imperfect - public transport system. The problem with ppl here is that we are all spoilt. We demand for everything like it is our birthright. You want something - go work for it and earn it!

at $80k $90k coe ... still so many cheong to buy car

i wonder what is the equilibrium price for coe

perhaps,

cat A = $100k-$120K (this cat got many bmw/merc/audi/vw buyer hor ... toyota/hyundai/kia is slowly priced out liao)

cat B = $120k-$150K

Many people who buy car at high COE would scrap it if COE drop drastically to get back paper value.Then buy a cheaper car.

This reduces yrly depreciation.

In 2-3 yrs if COE drop a lot will scrap 2-3 yr old cars.

Hope i am correct. :ph34r:

and i double hope you are correct [laugh]

Many people who buy car at high COE would scrap it if COE drop drastically to get back paper value.Then buy a cheaper car.

This reduces yrly depreciation.

In 2-3 yrs if COE drop a lot will scrap 2-3 yr old cars.

Hope i am correct. :ph34r:

the main problem is that the COE prices fluctuates way too much. The market for COE is not implemented correctly. High prices reduces demand and reduces supply which is wrong. In such a scenario, COE prices tend to shoot up too fast.

I am looking for a COE price with less fluctuations throughout the years, not necessarily a cheaper COE. I think EVERYONE can agree that it is stupid and wrong to have a few years of $10k COE and a few years of $80k COE.

Actually, the COE premium is quite stable now. It shows continuous steady uptrend; there is no topsy-turvy (did we see half year ago, the COE was $15K, now is $80K, nor did we see month-to-month roller coaster ride - NO right???)

To have a stagnant COE premium throughout all the years show something is wrong too!

If you want cheap COE (read not necessary cheap car price), prepare to camp out.

The situation now is, the uptrend is like slowly boiling a frog in a pot of water. [laugh]

Edited by Kangadrool

Ong Shi Yee (Ms)

feel sorry for the kids that are brought up by parents wif such entitlement mentality. no need to work and compete in life - cry farder marder can liao. [:|]