Yeshe Turbocharged January 6, 2013 Share January 6, 2013 Dear all, Thanks for all the recommendations. We finally decided to engage a vet in Jurong West near our house after making several calls. The surgery rate was the cheapest. Unfortunately, the vet advised against surgery after examination as the tumour has grown too big and taking it away may result in skin infection after surgery and/or the hamster loosing appetite which may even be worse. We are currently feeding him the medicine given by the vet and hopefully it will suppress the tumour growth. The only problem now is that our hamster did not like the medicine very much. We'll have to fight to force the medicine to his mouth twice a day, poor thing. Nevertheless, our hamster looks perfectly alright, no pain no nothing, just a big lump at the stomach. If the lump eventually cause him to suffer we will probably have to put him to sleep. It'll be a hard decision but it's probably be better for him than to suffer a big wound at the stomach with possible skin infection. Last but not least, thanks for sharing the heart warming stories of your pets. I do agree with some brothers saying that it is better to just let it go and getting another hamster is much cheaper. Unfortunately, when the heart takes over this is not going to happen. The least we can do is is probably not keep any hamster anymore after this. sometimes letting it go would be a better for it rather than suffering. this not only applies to animals ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cleanliver Neutral Newbie January 6, 2013 Share January 6, 2013 one of my hammies had a tumour before. Just to share things turn for the worse when i observed him to shake continuously while lying down. seeing it shiver 24hrs round the clock is no joke. really painful at the pitiful state. had to isolate him and make him drink up. stroke him frequently.. food unfortunately i think was untouched. then the days passed fast when it finally rip. so once u observe shivering non-stop, then it may indicate putting it to sleep should be able to reduce the constant suffering. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mona-vie 1st Gear January 6, 2013 Share January 6, 2013 is this a joke? operation on a one year old hamster which typically have a life span of max 2 yrs? Might well get a dozen more with the money. How about say if you child kana brain tumour, just fug your wife in bed and get a new child right? Cheaper than spending hundred of thousands on medical care...... A hamster is a living thing, not a toy or something you play and throw away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear January 6, 2013 Share January 6, 2013 so personal....don't bring ppl's families to disagreement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 6, 2013 Share January 6, 2013 How about say if you child kana brain tumour, just fug your wife in bed and get a new child right? Cheaper than spending hundred of thousands on medical care...... A hamster is a living thing, not a toy or something you play and throw away. Different people will have different views. To me, a hamster is just an animal. No different from the chicken I had for lunch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 6, 2013 Share January 6, 2013 How about say if you child kana brain tumour, just fug your wife in bed and get a new child right? Cheaper than spending hundred of thousands on medical care...... A hamster is a living thing, not a toy or something you play and throw away. I think the example u quoted is too extreme. How could u compare a person child with his pet??? A hamster is a pet, and the owner is obligated to take care of it as much as he could. Thats all.... if you think that all living things should be treated equally. Then everyone should stop eatin meat.... since these meat came from an animal... a living thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cleanliver Neutral Newbie January 6, 2013 Share January 6, 2013 (edited) To add on, let me suggest the almost-complete categories of ANIMALS. My definition of 'ANIMALS' is simple - anything but plants/vegetables/grass/fungi/mushroom/algae/bacteria/virus... YOURSELF YOUR SPOUSE CHILDREN PARENTS GRANDPARENTS GREAT^nth-GRANDPARENTS OTHER HUMAN-HUMAN BEINGS PETS (List varies according to different views..) FOOD/MEAT CREATURES (e.g. ants...) PESTS (e.g. Household Xiao Qiang, Food Court Rats...) I leave it up to individuals to have their own lists of examples. Edited January 6, 2013 by Cleanliver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear January 6, 2013 Share January 6, 2013 Although I feel Mona-vie's example about someone's child having tumour is too extreme, he probably felt that having a pet is equal to adopting a child. I don't think all living things need to be treated equally (mind you, plants are living things too) but if you want to get a pet, you need to be responsible for it. People needs to know that pets like dogs, cats, and rodents can get sick and it is expensive to bring them to a vet. If you don't want to spend such money, please get pets that needs little maintenance like fish, spiders or tamagochi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-love-singapore January 6, 2013 Share January 6, 2013 hamster cost below $10 each ? just buy a new 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinydog Clutched January 7, 2013 Share January 7, 2013 (edited) My guinea pigs family. Mama gp just gave birth to 2 babies on Christmas day. My gp don't quite like to mate I think. Its the first batch of babies since the Mama gp came 8 months earlier from my friend. That's fine with me though as I really didn't want them to have babies and friend said it's cruel to sterilize them. The female gp is my 2nd female. First female gp stop becoming active one day and refused to eat. Brought it to the vet, injected it with fluids, fed it with antibiotics but still gone 1 week later. *edit to attach pic Edited January 7, 2013 by Tinydog Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 sometimes letting it go would be a better for it rather than suffering. this not only applies to animals Gotta agree with you on this ya freak I let my 5 yr old rabbit go back in 2004 due to her chronic pasteurella problem. Went through so many rounds of pus draining from her hind leg to her mouth. Was heartbreaking when the vet called me that she was gone. I couldn't bear to watch them slip in the needle and pump in the barbiturate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 (edited) Sunday i just give away 6 baby hamsters + the mother to a pet shop. In exchange for a packet hamster food. The father oredi kena killed by the mother liao.........bitten to death. So now i left 5 baby hamsters & one more adult female(virgin one). Edited January 8, 2013 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 Bought a hamster about 3 months ago for my son Strange thing is this guy doesn't bite humans I used to have 15 hamsters in the past All bite This strange guy doesn't bite humans at all! But it does bite the cage My son brings it out to play 5 mins twice a day Likes to crawl around my son neck Strange fellow Can't find a google thread on why hamster don't bite humans at all 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 Bought a hamster about 3 months ago for my son Strange thing is this guy doesn't bite humans I used to have 15 hamsters in the past All bite This strange guy doesn't bite humans at all! But it does bite the cage My son brings it out to play 5 mins twice a day Likes to crawl around my son neck Strange fellow Can't find a google thread on why hamster don't bite humans at all because your son more gentle then you... I think hamsters can be tamed ba... just like dogs..... some dogs protective about their food... some are not 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 because your son more gentle then you... I think hamsters can be tamed ba... just like dogs..... some dogs protective about their food... some are not I think the hamster got used to my son LiaoEveryday bring him out to play Sometimes poor hamster sleeping; my son boh chup still drag him out to play But he still won't bite Somemore climb up the curtain Really funny fellow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 I think the hamster got used to my son Liao Everyday bring him out to play Sometimes poor hamster sleeping; my son boh chup still drag him out to play But he still won't bite Somemore climb up the curtain Really funny fellow think because he know your son loves him.... you try wake hamster from his sleep see he bite you anot... lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 think because he know your son loves him.... you try wake hamster from his sleep see he bite you anot... lolNo lehUsually I change his bedding every sat afternoon He soundly sleeping that time But I also boh chup because no time lah Need to rush housework Poor guy every time kena waked up by my kid He run around for a while then will hide one corner sleep His guy really is koon king 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic August 22, 2016 Share August 22, 2016 I think the hamster got used to my son Liao Everyday bring him out to play Sometimes poor hamster sleeping; my son boh chup still drag him out to play But he still won't bite Somemore climb up the curtain Really funny fellow Its normal le I kept many hamsters before, at the peak, i had 15 cages Some hammies dont bite de ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...