Altivo 3rd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 can sell large-size unit lah, i dont want to live in small size unit. but must price properly and size it properly. cannot be too large that cannot afford for people who fall within the 12K range lah. Hahaha, that's what I mean lah. If the sizes are like 5 room flat at around 1200 sqf, then no one would really complain. Then can have a few units which slightly bigger with 4 bedrooms for multi-generation. I believe it would be reasonable. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 he in charge of URA, HDB, bla bla bla.. each got thousand of Policy. and you expect him to know all the policy??? i dont think Steve job know all of apple company policy too. Anyway, why was it called a loop hole?? not because it was intentionally create to have loop (assuming all done clean) its because from policy maker point of view, its clearly fit it purpose. but human are able to find way to avoid it. Come on, we are not talking about some obscure ancient hidden-in-1-dark corner matter. The 12k income ceiling is there for all to see. The selling price of the penthouse was there for all to see. Even before this people were wondering how a couple with 12k income can buy a 700k DBSS unit. You say he dunno? You got to be kidding me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 KBW wayang only lah... Now people raise issue, lan lan must say something. By-erection also around the corner. Must help PAPies at Punggol East a bit after the 1/2 blood speaker kena booted out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 see... so much hate... much as i dislike PAP and everything they stand for, i do think at least this guy is (slightly) better den MBT... that fella will just say, suck it up, no $$$ dun buy... KBW seems more willing to listen.... so far taking baby steps but better than nothing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 KBW wayang only lah... Now people raise issue, lan lan must say something. By-erection also around the corner. Must help PAPies at Punggol East a bit after the 1/2 blood speaker kena booted out. do something say wayang... never do say bo chup.... why don't you run for election Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Where on earth is there hate? I just said he fell short, then MBT is brought up to show he didn't fall short. Why can't it be that both MBT fell short and Khaw fell short in this instance too? i am just saying.... some people take the high moral ground.. some is blinded by hate.... both can fall short... but if doing a comparsion between both... so far KBW seems to do better than MBT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 i am just saying.... some people take the high moral ground.. some is blinded by hate.... both can fall short... but if doing a comparsion between both... so far KBW seems to do better than MBT anyway just wait for URA announcement what they going actually to do bah. All these hoohaha are premature. Maybe they will introduce some cap on the size/quantum or need URA approval for unit size before development. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 i also think the same. the issue about the ec is "rich people encroaching into middle income's space", not about roof terrace issues. they wanna fix roof terrace issues, hoping that it would also address the original issue of "rich people encroaching into middle income's space"? i aint know how it would address this original issue i think there are 2 possible outcome to roof terrace issues: 1) cap 50% of those free roof terrace for sale to individual owners (but all 100% roof terrace areas still free to developer 2) developer decides how much open roof terrace space to sell to individual vs for commnual. but those that sell to individual, govt start to charge money either way, all owners will lose out because: once more of these free roof terrace space cannot be sold at a good profit (as compared to currently) to individual owners but have to be used as free commnual space, developer will up the psf of everybody to cover his "loss of profit" from the sale of roof terrace to individual owners The original purpose is to provide the middle class a form of housing who finds themselves unable to afford private properties but has exceeded the income limit for HDB. Back then in early 2000s, the scheme made sense cos ECs were sold at 300k plus while private condos were selling on average 600k. The price difference is stark. But now, the pricing of ECs is not much off private condos. So is the scheme still relevant? I rather the land be used to build more HDB flats. Leave the condos to the private developers instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 anyway just wait for URA announcement what they going actually to do bah. All these hoohaha are premature. Maybe they will introduce some cap on the size/quantum or need URA approval for unit size before development. believe some measures will be taken.... but we cannot expect it to happen overnight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 both can fall short... but if doing a comparsion between both... so far KBW seems to do better than MBT That I agree. Between the 2 MBT is worse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 What is the point of KBW hooting the developer ? The authorities are the ones who lay out the rules and are responsible for the loopholes, the developers just play within the rule of the game to their advatange, they need to fix the loophole and do it quick. true. maciam they throw a fishing net wif so many gaps and then wonder for a few years why some fishes can swim thru..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 The original purpose is to provide the middle class a form of housing who finds themselves unable to afford private properties but has exceeded the income limit for HDB. Back then in early 2000s, the scheme made sense cos ECs were sold at 300k plus while private condos were selling on average 600k. The price difference is stark. But now, the pricing of ECs is not much off private condos. So is the scheme still relevant? I rather the land be used to build more HDB flats. Leave the condos to the private developers instead. yah man! just scrap the whole ec thing just like the dbss nonsense i recall theose dbss also have very big aircon ledges, donno for what i give you all a good playgorund to play, you all like to spoil market? ok, playgorund close, happy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 actually not that i want to blow trumpet. when heron bay was launched with news of the cheap penthouse, i was the first in MCF (and definitely earlier than khaw)to say it is a loophole. khaw, with such mammoth resources at his disposal, is still one-ec-launch slower than me at coming to conclusion there is a loophole. actually why EC cannot have Penthouse. all proper condo should have penthouse only that for EC they should price it correctly at launch. I mean who dont want to live in a larger size house Actually all policy will have loophole one. but as long as there is no abuse like you mention of cheap penthouse since people within the income limit can buy i will deem it as not urgent and can be revisited later. its only when like the recent case. the price is place outside that of a normal buyer within the income limit. Then it should be place as main priority to close this loop hole. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 yah man! just scrap the whole ec thing just like the dbss nonsense i recall theose dbss also have very big aircon ledges, donno for what i give you all a good playgorund to play, you all like to spoil market? ok, playgorund close, happy? having a EC and DBSS is not a bad ideal. (okay DBSS is a very bad ideal ) the bad idea is letting Developer set their own pricing. this should never be, if Gahment set the pricing of the EC and Developer bid and construct base on this pricing. then we will not have this problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 yah man! just scrap the whole ec thing just like the dbss nonsense i recall theose dbss also have very big aircon ledges, donno for what i give you all a good playgorund to play, you all like to spoil market? ok, playgorund close, happy? i support also.....i said many times hdb tries to achieve too many things in its housing policy that it ends up neither here nor there. keep it simple - HDB for the poor and keep its usage exclusively for living rather than renting. anyway who wants to earn astronomical rental yield would be scuppered and they can go to private condo for their standard rental yield.. scrap ec, dbss. build some hdb with more rooms , build some cheaper smaller ones (hdb 3-room) for the singles. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic January 8, 2013 Author Share January 8, 2013 all other developers sure cursing this Citylife developer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 (edited) Come on, we are not talking about some obscure ancient hidden-in-1-dark corner matter. The 12k income ceiling is there for all to see. The selling price of the penthouse was there for all to see. Even before this people were wondering how a couple with 12k income can buy a 700k DBSS unit. You say he dunno? You got to be kidding me. do note, base on news report. HDB have not approved them to sell the EC when the launch the show room and the developer had told agent not to collect check. meaning HDB had not yet approved the selling of the EC.. and maybe its due to the price which they realise is funny. And also, the loophole mention was not the price. its one of the rule on no roof space. Edited January 8, 2013 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 having a EC and DBSS is not a bad ideal. (okay DBSS is a very bad ideal ) the bad idea is letting Developer set their own pricing. this should never be, if Gahment set the pricing of the EC and Developer bid and construct base on this pricing. then we will not have this problem. yalor! sarpork!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...