Sim Lim Square

Forte3737

old days of busy busy SLS was when can buy windows OS for $5

Internet killed a lot of biz... now don't even need CDs. Retail pirates also lose out [laugh] [laugh]

Some old trades just can't killed by internet ...... :ninja:

Spa, whore houses & massages, you still need to go down to inspect yourself ......  :XD:

tiagong SLS no business

already faced competition from online retailers

now reputation burned by black sheep

the old days of a busy busy crowded SLS are over

Now the bigger players all start selling online also lo. All on Lazada or qoo10. Price also better than getting from their store directly cuz of the discount codes.

Some old trades just can't killed by internet ...... :ninja:

Spa, whore houses & massages, you still need to go down to inspect yourself ......  :XD:

That's true :psychotic:

nowadays all the latest games and software can get from BT

don't even need to pirate CD anymore.

shows just stream online. remember last time used to go holiday plaza in JB to buy. hahahaha

old days of busy busy SLS was when can buy windows OS for $5

I have not visited SLS for any hardware purchase since my last major upgrade of my desktop computer in 2012.  The system is still running strong, except for 1 spoilt 4GB memory module with lifetime warranty.  Will have to visit soon to have a 1-1 exchange of the memory module.  I wonder if SLS is still as crowded as before, or it is like a ghost town?

More like a ghost town these days I think.

BTW, since when is the 1-1 exchange with the retailer in SLS? I thought you usually go back to the distributor instead? You should call to make sure to avoid a wasted trip.

Anyway, my computer was first purchased in 2008 and then selected parts were upgraded in 2014/15 (GPU, PSU, wifi adapter) but the other parts are still running strong. IMO, there is no reason for most people to upgrade these days unless they are gamers or using their computers for commercial purpose. My computer definitely cannot run the latest games anymore (will probably need a GPU and CPU upgrade for that) but I also don't game much these days other than the occasionally dota game which is considered low spec.

Now the bigger players all start selling online also lo. All on Lazada or qoo10. Price also better than getting from their store directly cuz of the discount codes.

online sales (warehouse + delivery) consperm lower cost than retail (shop + salesman)

20150530_simlimsquare_TNPcopy.jpg

remember last time used to go holiday plaza in JB to buy. hahahaha

the locked back room for dirty DVDs [laugh]  Then later on their provide delivery too !! 

I'm a new fan of Qoo10.  Was recently shopping around local retail and ah beng shops for powerbank and charger but can't find anything that's "cheap and green and dua liap" as the saying goes.  

Finally found this Qoo10 shop that's hosted from Shenzhen.  Took just 5 days to deliver the goods which are surprisingly well-made for the price and specs.  It'll likely be 20-30% markup if i were to get an equivalent product in SLS or local shops.

Don't say good lobangs never share - http://www.qoo10.sg/shop/AUKEY

Edited by Jellandross

I'm a new fan of Qoo10.  Was recently shopping around local retail and ah beng shops for powerbank and charger but can't find anything that's "cheap and green and dua liap" as the saying goes.  

Finally found this Qoo10 shop that's hosted from Shenzhen.  Took just 5 days to deliver the goods which are surprisingly well-made for the price and specs.  It'll likely be 20-30% markup if i were to get an equivalent product in SLS or local shops.

this lobang is good!

got single, twin and quad nee!!! :grin:

Powerbank I use from xiaomi.

Sim Lim Square seeks $1.1b for collective sale

SINGAPORE - The collective sales committee for Sim Lim Square, Singapore's gadget central, has settled on an asking price of $1.1 billion and will begin collecting signatures for its en bloc sale, The Straits Times understands.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/sim-lim-square-seeks-11b-for-collective-sale

SLS going to en bloc

isn't that a leasehold property and very old liao? hope we see another building featuring men's toys and not the usual F&B and ladies stuff

I really hope it won't be successful. 

Really tried seeing the same malls everywhere.

At least Sim Lim Square is still unique. Keep it as it is. 

I really hope it won't be successful.

Really tried seeing the same malls everywhere.

At least Sim Lim Square is still unique. Keep it as it is.

eventually all the old malls will be replaced...