LonelySYP Neutral Newbie April 20, 2013 Share April 20, 2013 Kerosene? Really? Thats what they use on jumbo jets. Jet fuel is made from Kerosene. don't think we're talking about the same grade here .. but again, as already discussed above, the addition of kerosene has been dispelled by virtue of the fact that it's more expensive than petrol (according to others) so assuming the base grade of kerosene is still more expensive than petrol, what could petrol stations (anywhere in the world) possibly dilute their petrol with? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear April 20, 2013 Share April 20, 2013 Dunno the address...can give you directions. The area is call Pelangi. If you driving down from Woodlands regular way to go town...turn right at the traffic light @ Palangi Plaza. Drive straight down all the way till you come to a cross junction. On your right should be a Hong Leong Bank. At this traffic light make a left turn. There will be a roll of shop house opp the road you are driving now. Turn into these rolls of shop house. The shop is just next to a 7-Eleven...sandwich between the 7-11 and a Polis post. Hope you find it... Went in just now and found the kuay teow kia shop. However my friend and I both find the stuff a bit too salty esp the duck. Not really what I prefered but one man's meat is another's poison. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 not sure if true, but someone once told me that the majority of stations water down their petrol with kerosene Yes i also heard this. Especially those at jb. After some time e kerosene wil destroy all yr gaskets n seals n rubber hoses n then u wil need a serious major overhaul which wil cost u a bomb. [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 not sure if true, but someone once told me that the majority of stations water down their petrol with kerosene Its just like singaporean are all top scholars becsuse they drink sell in singapore milk powder... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odysan Neutral Newbie April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 Just further down is where 3 petrol station is, Caltex on the left, Esso and Shell on the right. The store is ard 100m before reaching the stations on the right, just beside the 7-11. The kway tiao kia soup is addictive. [inlove] That kway tiao kia shop name is "Hai Huan" if I remember correctly. Hope it helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 kerosene is more expensive than petrol IIRC, petrol is considered a light distillate while kerosene, a medium distillate (in the category of diesel), so it probably costs more to refine crude oil into petrol, relative to kerosene, as additional processes are required. But I doubt they add kerosene or water as it could cause damage to the engine, maybe lots of RON 92/95 into the RON 97 tanks, it would be the easiest way to mark up your profit and cream off the petrol subsidy. Not sure if it is possible as lower octane petrol are subsidizied and should thus be a controlled item (I won't rule it out knowing, hearsay only.., who owns some of the petrol stations over there). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 (edited) IIRC, petrol is considered a light distillate while kerosene, a medium distillate (in the category of diesel), so it probably costs more to refine crude oil into petrol, relative to kerosene, as additional processes are required. But I doubt they add kerosene or water as it could cause damage to the engine, maybe lots of RON 92/95 into the RON 97 tanks, it would be the easiest way to mark up your profit and cream off the petrol subsidy. Not sure if it is possible as lower octane petrol are subsidizied and should thus be a controlled item (I won't rule it out knowing, hearsay only.., who owns some of the petrol stations over there). If you ever go to area where they fill up those tanker, ppl wont say they mixed. Edited April 21, 2013 by Deckbuild Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 If you ever go to area where they fill up those tanker, ppl wont say they mixed. Never been there or seen it, so it is purely speculative. I can't help but wonder why the same petrol bought at different stations in JB has such a discernible difference. So they follow very strict protocol? But what about downloading the stock at the fuel station? The driver, the station manager and the paper pusher.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 Never been there or seen it, so it is purely speculative. I can't help but wonder why the same petrol bought at different stations in JB has such a discernible difference. So they follow very strict protocol? But what about downloading the stock at the fuel station? The driver, the station manager and the paper pusher.... Storage tank at individual petrol kiosk plays a part, some don't maintain and clean at all, which might cause the petrol to degrade or change in it's chemical properties. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ooosh 1st Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 No need to find out if the petrol are mixed....just pump vpower shell malaysia vs singapore you can immediately feel the difference... Also colour is different due to different additives Got a mech who is living in jb told me dirtiest petrol is shell but how true it is i dont know... Used to pump jb shell once a week and my fuel pump was faulty after 6 months You know the conclusion... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LonelySYP Neutral Newbie April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 Yes i also heard this. Especially those at jb. After some time e kerosene wil destroy all yr gaskets n seals n rubber hoses n then u wil need a serious major overhaul which wil cost u a bomb. [bigcry] yea exactly what i heard. wonder if from the same person. anyway the bros here dispelled this already. i think the most plausible explanation thus far is the one about passing off lower octane fuel as one of a higher grade. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 yea exactly what i heard. wonder if from the same person. anyway the bros here dispelled this already. i think the most plausible explanation thus far is the one about passing off lower octane fuel as one of a higher grade. Better dun take e risk. I know pple who started to pump petrol in jb n soon after their car hv so many problems. This leak.... that broken. Engine rough. Some overhaul engine still cannot solve. End no choice but to sell car at big loss. Some scrap cos cannot sell. There is something bad abt their petrol n if u bad luck u wil kenna. Just like computer virus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 No need to find out if the petrol are mixed....just pump vpower shell malaysia vs singapore you can immediately feel the difference... Also colour is different due to different additives Got a mech who is living in jb told me dirtiest petrol is shell but how true it is i dont know... Used to pump jb shell once a week and my fuel pump was faulty after 6 months You know the conclusion... 6 months????.............mine 4 months up lorry liao lor...........FxxK the JB petrol man........ [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prostcode Clutched April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 dunno how true but i felt the same way too. spark plugs blow damn fast within 2 months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 dunno how true but i felt the same way too. spark plugs blow damn fast within 2 months. Ya. Plugs...filters...gaskets...n hoses all seem to spoil more quickly when pump jb petrol. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 6 months????.............mine 4 months up lorry liao lor...........FxxK the JB petrol man........ [bigcry] but you still go in to pump the lah sup petrol leh.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 I tried to warn many bros here but people think I trying to stir flame. .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 I tried to warn many bros here but people think I trying to stir flame. .. no one will understand our "bitter heart".........we're like the "unsung heros"......... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...