Middle class blues

Mockngbrd

wah sei.....u get paid 6 figures a month killing trolls in mcf ah? [:p][laugh]

eh they got 60mil....wat i get is peanuts

im gonna negotiate again [laugh] [laugh]

surely tthere must be a Soya allowance somewhere out there in the package....stress deal with old man [:p]

eh they got 60mil....wat i get is peanuts

im gonna negotiate again [laugh] [laugh]

surely tthere must be a Soya allowance somewhere out there in the package....stress deal with old man [:p]

Some more must maintain the new kidney. :D

If they want to relocate to another country, they should be prepared for cultural difference. If they just want to transplant their lifestyle from China to Singapore, might as well go back to China or wherever they were from.

Talk about transplanting lifestyles. The Western expats transplant their lifestyles from the West to Singapore all the time! Their social clubs, condos, etc mostly people of the same race, behaviour and customs. Understandably so.... they wouldn't want uncivilised local savages polluting their leisure environment, after all they already have to deal with the ugly Singaporean every day on the roads and at work.

Some condos like The Tenerife in Sixth Avenue has EXCLUSIVELY white people living there (except for the helpers and some victims of the Pinkerton affliction), everything in the compound is totally Western lifestyle and I think they would prefer it to stay that way.

The only difference here between the PRC family and most ang moh FTs is that the ang moh expats tend to live in spacious well-located and well-appointed condos (not the suburban heartland type of condo) and do not complain about neighbour's cooking smells.... or at least it wasn't ever reported in the papers. The PRC family unfortunately can only afford to live in a HDB, which puts them in direct conflict with the Singaporean way of life, Singaporean ethnic groups and Singaporean ethnic cooking.

yalor. his kidney grille $200k+ hor. dem shiny somemore. [laugh]

LOL....yah man....my medication like a meal initself [:p]

yalor. his kidney grille $200k+ hor. dem shiny somemore. [laugh]

[laugh] [laugh] how apt....in this forum

I have my best buddy, working in mnc, hd of BD, work hours abt 12 hrs a day, wknds as well......he is burnt out. we both earn the same in the 6 fig bracket, but i work half his hours, and i have good worklife.

He wants out as his work is taking a toll on his life, family and even marriage....and i told him, that such things $$$ cannot buy. Thus, he is looking and at any opportunity, he will leave.

You earn six figures a month?! Damn... power...!

Means you are at the listed company junior exec director's salary level liao.... got $2.5m a year? Cool bro! [thumbsup]

not to mention a little incident where a chinaman calls us dogs and our elected member of parliment tells us to reflect. [laugh]

I feel that our politicians sometimes don't side with their electorate as much as they should. Or, maybe they just can't communicate with the grassroots.

Talk about transplanting lifestyles. The Western expats transplant their lifestyles from the West to Singapore all the time! Their social clubs, condos, etc mostly people of the same race, behaviour and customs. Understandably so.... they wouldn't want uncivilised local savages polluting their leisure environment, after all they already have to deal with the ugly Singaporean every day on the roads and at work.

Some condos like The Tenerife in Sixth Avenue has EXCLUSIVELY white people living there (except for the helpers and some victims of the Pinkerton affliction), everything in the compound is totally Western lifestyle and I think they would prefer it to stay that way.

The only difference here between the PRC family and most ang moh FTs is that the ang moh expats tend to live in spacious well-located and well-appointed condos (not the suburban heartland type of condo) and do not complain about neighbour's cooking smells.... or at least it wasn't ever reported in the papers. The PRC family unfortunately can only afford to live in a HDB, which puts them in direct conflict with the Singaporean way of life, Singaporean ethnic groups and Singaporean ethnic cooking.

Hmm, quite true.

An a**hole is an a**hole lah. Doesn't matter whether it's a white man (who are all broke these days anyway and nothing special about them anymore), or a tiong or an ah neh.

im quite curious if the typical admin service scholar/elected minister has ever had the opportunity to interact with the FT as extensively as the private sector. even if they did, i figure any interaction would have them in the dominant position, and would have the FT scrambling to pander to them.

another case for the ivory tower perhaps.

im quite curious if the typical admin service scholar/elected minister has ever had the opportunity to interact with the FT as extensively as the private sector. even if they did, i figure any interaction would have them in the dominant position, and would have the FT scrambling to pander to them.

when my civil servant friend defended the 6.9 mil issue. this is what i pointed out to him [rolleyes]

i don't see any of the admin service scholars going to shanghai or beijing university for their world view perspective -_-

in hdb. hons is 3rd class.

100 increment is low. but they always got market adjustment. i'm in mnc for so many yrs also no adjust before <_<

I in private sector also no increment for last 3 yrs.... [bigcry]

correct....ppl have to look at the big picture and not look and nitpick over the smalle petty things like increments

aiyah how much u give, ppl also not happy...money is temporary, a good work life balance is priceless and that that $$$ cannot be bought

if ppl only look at the $$$, true to my word, they are not worth any salt

That is fair and true, enough is never enough for some people.

A good work environment with supportive and trustworthy colleagues is more important .

Peopleon express queue how to understand people who are on normal queue. The gov sector is so comfy, its hard for people who never work outside to understand the dog eat dog world of corporate & businesses that constantly fighting to be able to be competitive or even survive.

got decimal pt [laugh] [laugh]

annual lah poondeh

annual also a lot. If 900k annual = to 50k to 70k per month.

But to earn such figure for such busy workload, I would rather earn less and have more work life balance.

But if it is 100k annual, than better change job. :D[laugh]

Edited by Yewheng

Peopleon express queue how to understand people who are on normal queue. The gov sector is so comfy, its hard for people who never work outside to understand the dog eat dog world of corporate & businesses that constantly fighting to be able to be competitive or even survive.

I was never in the civil service but I have gathered some impression of it from friends and relatives.

How do you know admin service got no organizational politics? Every year got so many scholars, only a few eventually make it to senior level. The bloodshed is just as copious as it is in the corporate world ok, all fighting each other also. If you are a farmer, think the politics is worse there. Really dog eat dog also.

Because everyone is geared up to be politically-inclined in there and wants to get ahead otherwise hantak kaki. Guess it is a lot like the Emperor's court in ancient China, with scheming ministers, advisors and eunuchs everywhere.

In the corporate world, so much time is spent on doing real work, not much time left for no-holds-barred politicking. In the civil service, making oneself look good and scoring points is a big part of the job, besides impressing those who have the power to promote you. So you can guess which one has more politics.

More and more middle class voters are no longer voting for PAP. That's your answer liao. [cool]

yes, it is so apparent from the recent punggol by-election.