New HDB Ruling

Jman888

HDB will also introduce a new type of Three-Generation (3Gen) flat to cater to multi-generation families living under one roof. These flats will feature four-bedrooms and three-bathrooms (two en-suites), with an internal floor area of about 115 sqm.

WTF ?? 3 generations, 4 bedrooms, 3 toilets --> only 115sqm ??????

KNN, HDB think Singaporeans are midgets ah ?

Edited by Othello

I do understand where you guys are coming from. If we practice what have been suggested here, then how life have been change as compared to during our parents time? Like no difference leh. Seems like it will always be like this where living room is meant to be a "bedroom" after certain timing.

Like this we call ourselves 1st world. I mean, we are not really at the extreme low income group, while we are not the highest earner, but we are decent enough to buy a half a mil flat and has got no intention to sell or move. After all it is a roof over our head and this roof is the only place where we spend must of our time in it.

Most of us been thru squeezing in 2-3 rooms flats in the early 80s. So r we going to remain like this for generations? Next time our kids dun even know if they can afford their own flat, most prob is staying with us, then the same 3 generation will squeeze again. I never forget how my brother have to study in the kitchen while we sleep in the hall. So to make things better, last time our parents no $$ to install Aircon in the hall. Now we can. So this is consider a better life. Hahahah.

Hai............ a 1st world country, that promised a roof over everybody's head, but yet everyone have to squeeze.

Like tat we long long ago already 1st world lor

bro, keyword is affordability. Not everyone is advancing on the corporate level. 1st world country also got low income groups .....

And the irony is, the 3rm flat that I grew up in prob had BIGGER bedrooms and kitchen than the new flats nowadays

Edited by Othello

IMO, d correct way is to let mkt run up n explode then crash back to earth, then find equilibrium. thats d best way to know wat is really d correct pricing, but coz now we have politics in d way, we have instead CMs etc... woohoo

This 'correct' way will lead to many casualties, which creates social problems. Engineering it thru politics is another way to adjusting pricing without casualties, imo

bro, keyword is affordability. Not everyone is advancing on the corporate level. 1st world country also got low income groups .....

And the irony is, the 3rm flat that I grew up in prob had BIGGER bedrooms and kitchen than the new flats nowadays

I know, but very difficult to imagine 7-8K is consider low income group. Then Pinky still can say 4K-3room. Like tat these ppl really dunno how leh. Its really like when one is hungry, doesn't mean he have to eat shark fin, so long as I give you bee hoon to fill your stomach, considered my job is done and I'm a 1st world country. Maybe they dun use 1st world we still not so pissed.

hence my grin [:p]

wonder where all those crash theory come from? are the forumers here so naive? it seems they do not even have a basic understanding of economics

When I ballot for punggol. The so call water way now was just a swamp lor. Haha

This is called packaging. They develop a swamp or longkang area into nice nice waterfront and then charge you high high housing price. [rolleyes]

I know, but very difficult to imagine 7-8K is consider low income group. Then Pinky still can say 4K-3room. Like tat these ppl really dunno how leh. Its really like when one is hungry, doesn't mean he have to eat shark fin, so long as I give you bee hoon to fill your stomach, considered my job is done and I'm a 1st world country. Maybe they dun use 1st world we still not so pissed.

7k household salary quite little lor. Minimum disposable income and probably v little savings

Couple 1 room. both kids 1 room. Where are the kids going to study? In the dining room? Nowadays room are so big that u cannot fit in 2 single beds except a double deck. Kids are still ok to share, but once they are in their teenage or Uni, the problem will comes in. Also not forgetting our parents. Parents do drop by and stay a few day from time to time. So ask the parents sleep in the hall. Tell them last time they bought small flat we as their kids have to sleep in the hall, now their turn huh?

Not being rude or attacking you. Its just that this is the hard truth. So 3 room is really not suitable for a family of 4 and with parents who will drop by, we share the responsibility in taking care of our parents by inviting them over to stay for a few months and rotate.

what's wrong with sleeping on ti lum? how come 70s people can do it but current families cannot?

I believe fully owned by PR means both husband and wife is PR. The new rule only affects this group (pure PR couple).

My question is if husband is 10yr PR but wife is new PR then how? Can buy?

Think can, best if they make 5 years then can buy resale flats muahhaha

Like this we call ourselves 1st world. I mean, we are not really at the extreme low income group, while we are not the highest earner, but we are decent enough to buy a half a mil flat and has got no intention to sell or move. After all it is a roof over our head and this roof is the only place where we spend must of our time in it.

roof over our head- definitely YES

only place where we spend most of our time - not for many.

Most leave house to work, then overtime work or some 2nd job; some lucky ones hangout with friends , games, leisure... before coming home to SLEEP only

Our maids most the time enjoying in it.

ponggol not bad liao

now govt dumping bto in yishun

lentor ave, the only way in and out of yishun, already everyday cannot move liao

there the mrt people cannot go in until got one day mrt people stop the escalator because the platform too many liao [laugh][laugh][laugh]

yishun going to be q crowded in future. ring road all jam haha.

But also because there's a height limit of 13 storeys here.

SK, punggol is 22 leh. [dizzy]

7k household salary quite little lor. Minimum disposable income and probably v little savings

Considering that people who earned 3.2k and below belong to the bottom 20% in Spore. A 7-8 k household income belongs to the lower middle class so you should be able only to afford a 3 room flat comfortably, more or less.

We must be more realistic with our expectations.

Edited by Pioneer

I do understand where you guys are coming from. If we practice what have been suggested here, then how life have been change as compared to during our parents time? Like no difference leh. Seems like it will always be like this where living room is meant to be a "bedroom" after certain timing.

Most of us been thru squeezing in 2-3 rooms flats in the early 80s. So r we going to remain like this for generations? Next time our kids dun even know if they can afford their own flat, most prob is staying with us, then the same 3 generation will squeeze again. I never forget how my brother have to study in the kitchen while we sleep in the hall. So to make things better, last time our parents no $$ to install Aircon in the hall. Now we can. So this is consider a better life. Hahahah.

Hai............ a 1st world country, that promised a roof over everybody's head, but yet everyone have to squeeze.

Like tat we long long ago already 1st world lor

well... if don't have car, don't buy luxury goods, don't go holiday, don't always eat in restuarant. don't always on aircon, don't buy the latest or biggest LCD TV, don't buy the latest phone and IPAD...

i think can afford bigger flat....

based on above, it is quite obvious the difference between parents time and now is priorities has changed... last time is 1 house 1 car or no car... now is 1 house at least 1 car or 2 cars..... see the difference?

This is called packaging. They develop a swamp or longkang area into nice nice waterfront and then charge you high high housing price. [rolleyes]

Bishan also has a nice looking drain

what's wrong with sleeping on ti lum? how come 70s people can do it but current families cannot?

Nothing wrong with Ti lam. But Y 70s ppl no car now we must have? Y 70s bedroon no aircon now must have. Y 70s no hp now must have.

We have to be honest that as a human, we do progress as time goes by, but now it seems like on the surface we are, but once u enter your HBD house door, you are back to 70s-80s. hahaha

My concern is a proper study room for my kids. Studying in bedroom is not healthy, not to mentioned studying in the hall or kitchen. Kids study, my parents cannot watch TV. Bedroom will end up like me Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.......

I mean just want to provide a better environment for my kids. I don't even think of giving them to have their own room, they have to share room leh but is the room big enough to have a double deckle bed, a wardrobe and a study table? Wardrobe is meant for 2 kids/teenagers/young adult. Want us to buy a flat within our means can, but at least give us the space that we need mah. Correct?

Hai.....

Edited by Buffy

More middle-income households now eligible for Special Housing Grant

The income limit will now be $6,500, a sharp increase from the previous $2,250. This will give a financial boost of up to $20,000 for those who choose four-room flats in non-mature estates.

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10296p.nsf/Pr...A4?OpenDocument

I have already applied the BTO at punngol and will be getting the key next year, do anyone know will I still be eligible for the Special Housing Grant? or it is only for resale flat?