Home renovation tips

Gary469

Many nice design is for show flat and if you have a family with kids, I suggest you think properly before fitting out your house. Safety and being practical is upmost important. Mirror, glass, sharp corner with many steps are things you want to avoid.

i suggest reading on different blogs that can give you different tips on different types of renovation. it always boils down to "how much will it cost me to renovate my house" and preparing for that is main goal - especially for new homeowners or those undergoing 1st time renovations. just read and study every detail so you can plan according to plan. 

Did a quick google and this blog comes up first. Pretty interesting post i must say: http://www.singsaver.com.sg/blog/5-cost-cutting-tips-home-renovations-in-singapore

I find the most expensive in reno is carpentry work. For carpentry work in kitchen cabinet, wardrobe, tv console and shoe cabinet, these few things alone will cost you a bomb already. Still have not include other things yet.

Edited by 13177

Do be careful with the selection of materials. Very often, architects and ID depend on suppliers and they hard sell their products.

Just look at some commercial buildings including MRT stations. Their granites look so badly stained whenever it rains. It is also so slippery that they got to add strips to prevent falling.

Granites are very hard but at the same time very porous. Knowing your product is equally important.

Ehh ask you all ah.

1. If i break down wall (non load-bearing of course) in my HDB, later if i want to sell must i build it up back to original layout again?

Never done it before but probably going to reno again soon.

2. HDB got any limit on how often we can renovate/do hacking work?

My last renovation was about 2.5 years ago when i got the keys and totally rebuilt the toilet before moving in.

If you got any advice kum siah in advance.

Ehh ask you all ah.

1. If i break down wall (non load-bearing of course) in my HDB, later if i want to sell must i build it up back to original layout again?

My last renovation was about 2.5 years ago when i got the keys and totally rebuilt the toilet before moving in.

i dun think you need to reinstate the unit to the original form when you sell, i view a few flat that come in different configuration after hacking, can't demand the owner to reinstate before handover right?

Ehh ask you all ah.

There isn't any need to reinstate anything if it was permitted in the first place.

Usually the problems with HDB Clearance of the sale will come with unauthorised renovation works such as 

- changing external facade like windows (toilet ventilation fans)

- things done to structural walls

- things related to waterproofing of toilets for example moving the water pipes etc.

i dun think you need to reinstate the unit to the original form when you sell, i view a few flat that come in different configuration after hacking, can't demand the owner to reinstate before handover right?

Yeah i thought as much but just wanted to check if there was any conflicting information on this.

yeah usually only commercial units need to reinstate.

As long as there's no kpkb that i'm hacking again so soon after the last reno, i guess it's good to go.

Just made appointment for the architect to come in next week  [laugh]

..... and property Agents will say " designer Unit" to attract people to it and hopefully get a premium price too  ; Some will break some walls here and there for their own lifestyle .... one man's meat may be another man's poison    

Myxilplix, on 16 May 2016 - 10:41 AM, said:

As long as there's no kpkb that i'm hacking again so soon after the last reno, i guess it's good to go.

Just made appointment for the architect to come in next week  [laugh]

wah architect?

major job

wah architect?

major job

No lah, personal friend of my gf. He normally doesn't do small jobs but for us he agreed to. My place is very small, going to convert from 1-br into a studio.

Ok since things are moving into the design finalisation and quotation haggling phase of my reno...

How much cheaper can i expect carpentry to be if i just need them to build an encasement+sliding doors instead of a full set of wardrobes/cabinets?

Am planning to using a modular wall-mount shelving system for all storage outside of the kitchen and just need to encase it to prevent dust buildup and add in some vertical dividers.

Ok since things are moving into the design finalisation and quotation haggling phase of my reno...

How much cheaper can i expect carpentry to be if i just need them to build an encasement+sliding doors instead of a full set of wardrobes/cabinets?

Am planning to using a modular wall-mount shelving system for all storage outside of the kitchen and just need to encase it to prevent dust buildup and add in some vertical dividers.

i did that for my wardrobes, ends up... only slightly cheaper and kinda wasted abit of space as the modular units do not take up the entire width of the wardrobe insides. 

mine use Ikea Stolmen for the insides

20134_stolmen_PE371731.jpg

Edited by Mockngbrd

Yeahh they don't do Stolmen anymore, now it's Algot.

I have 2 x 4.1m lengths of wall to fill up with and prefer modular as we can reconfigure easier than if everything is built in by the carpenters. Ah well, even if don't save much it's still the preferred option.

Also need to figure out some kind of hidden workstation setup that i integrate into the cabinet.

post-111251-0-03615500-1465896408.jpg

Edited by Myxilplix

Please don't mind that I hijack this thread. Anyone knows where I can get someone to machine/custom make out 2x pieces of granite drain covers.

I can't go back to the original contractor anymore.

I broke it by accident so I can furnish the fella with a granite sample if that helps.

Yeahh they don't do Stolmen anymore, now it's Algot.

I have 2 x 4.1m lengths of wall to fill up with and prefer modular as we can reconfigure easier than if everything is built in by the carpenters. Ah well, even if don't save much it's still the preferred option.

Also need to figure out some kind of hidden workstation setup that i integrate into the cabinet.

pity on the  Ikea Stolmen.. one of the better reasonably price items