Teen's hand crushed by sugarcane juicer while helping dad

Darthrevan

every year got President Charity Show right?

i always tel my late mum and my wife: why oh why must we call this charity show ' president charity'? jsut bcos president here? did he donate a penny? if no, then why must call president charity? might as well call 人民星光慈善 rather than 总统星光慈善? we are the poor helping the poor leh.....

every year got President Charity Show right?

i always tel my late mum and my wife: why oh why must we call this charity show ' president charity'? jsut bcos president here? did he donate a penny? if no, then why must call president charity? might as well call 人民星光慈善 rather than 总统星光慈善? we are the poor helping the poor leh.....

Now a days unless they disclose how many percent go to the actual receipent, I won't donate

There are better machines out there.

F-117.jpg

It's just that there are cost considerations. Just like cars. Safety features comes with a price.

I have seen quite alot of hawkers with machines with similar safety guard. But they will remove the guard to use the machine so that they can squeeze more sugarcanes.

With the guard they cannot use their usual method of putting those sugarcanes which have been pressed once already and stacking them together and force them through the machine again. They feel its wasted cuz can actually squeeze alittle bit more juice out.

There are better machines out there.

F-117.jpg

It's just that there are cost considerations. Just like cars. Safety features comes with a price.

This machine like can only squeeze one shoot of sugarcane each time.

Will be very slow leh.

Our hawkers like to put one whole bunch into the machine each time and then re-squeeze and re-squeeze.

Will be very slow leh.

Our hawkers like to put one whole bunch into the machine each time and then re-squeeze and re-squeeze.

IMO this will create too much residue even though they will use a filter. This is like squeeze every drop from the canes. Can see how hard ppl make a living out of this.

Anyway something got to give. It just raises the risk to a higher level. There's no perfect way.

Will be very slow leh.

The machine can process 1kg of sugarcane in as less as 1 minute. So even if there is a rush, you can quickly cater to everyone. Our one variant is even quicker and can process up to 2.5kg in a minute. - See more at: http://www.juiceindia.com/sugarcane-juicer-machine.php#sthash.t2SkE74s.dpuf

The story of how one Singaporean deals with his fate:

http://mypaper.sg/top-stories/he-lost-his-legs-will-play-spore-20140108

- - - - - - - - - - - - 8 Jan 14 Report - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

He lost his legs but will play for S'pore
LIM YI HAN

HE IS up and about, even before he has properly learnt how to walk again.

Mr Jason Chee, the navy serviceman who lost both legs, his left arm and three fingers on his right hand after a ship accident in December 2012, will represent Singapore at a regional sports event.

Using prosthetic fingers, the 30-year-old has been playing table tennis since June last year, with the help of the Singapore Disability Sports Council.

And, come Saturday, he will don national colours in Myanmar at the 7th Asean Para Games, an event held every two years for athletes with disabilities.

Mr Chee told MyPaper: "I was very shocked and surprised. I took up table tennis as a form of rehabilitation and to remove negative thoughts. I didn't know I could represent Singapore. I've always been sporty. With my condition, I face challenges...but table tennis is easier for me because I've been playing since I was five."

His coach, Mr Chia Chong Boon, 62, added: "Jason has very good ball sense, and he's very positive."

It has not been an easy year for Mr Chee, who holds the rank of Military Expert 2 in the Republic of Singapore Navy. He was caught between a motorised winch and a berthing rope while doing a routine check on board a warship, and was fighting for his life.

Asked how he coped after the accident, he said simply: "Just move on."

He added: "Once I'm negative, I will think foolish things. What for? Being positive is very important so that you can do more things and achieve your goals."

He is even motivating others around him. He spends his weekdays at the Ang Mo Kio-Thye Hua Kwan Hospital and, besides relearning how to walk on prosthetic legs, he goes around the hospital to talk to other patients.

"I encourage them to take up sports. Some of them have negative thoughts, and I want them to be positive like me."

He trains playing table tennis in a wheelchair thrice a week and, in his free time, he cooks.

"Cooking takes much longer than before...but I'm a patient guy. I take about three hours now to prepare chicken rice, compared to less than one hour before. It's quite challenging. I love cooking because of my mum. She was a chef," he said.

Mr Chee's mother died from kidney failure in November 2011. "I miss my mum a lot, she's very important to me," he said. "I talk to her in my dreams, (tell her) how I'm going through my life."

And because of her, he will be going back to SIM University at the end of this month to continue his studies to get a degree in mathematics. "(My) getting a degree is my mum's dream, I don't want to make her upset."

But his biggest aim is something even his mother never dreamt of - the Paralympic Games in Brazil two years down the road.

"If I don't give up, I will fulfil anything that I want," he said.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Teen in sugarcane juicer accident home for Chinese New Year

Tan Li Xuan, the teenager who had her hand crushed by a sugarcane machine, has been discharged from the hospital just in time to celebrate Chinese New Year.

Li Xuan, 14, said she was glad to be home after spending a month in Tan Tock Seng Hospital. She was discharged last Wednesday.

"When I stepped inside the house, first I looked around and walked around the whole house then I got some rest in my own bed. The feeling was very great because for one month you never sleep in your own bed then it's like wah, shiok," said Li Xuan.

Her right hand was crushed in a sugar cane juicer in an accident last December.

Now a days unless they disclose how many percent go to the actual receipent, I won't donate

disclose liao but accurate or not!

Teen in sugarcane juicer accident home for Chinese New Year
Tan Li Xuan, the teenager who had her hand crushed by a sugarcane machine, has been discharged from the hospital just in time to celebrate Chinese New Year.
Li Xuan, 14, said she was glad to be home after spending a month in Tan Tock Seng Hospital. She was discharged last Wednesday.
"When I stepped inside the house, first I looked around and walked around the whole house then I got some rest in my own bed. The feeling was very great because for one month you never sleep in your own bed then it's like wah, shiok," said Li Xuan.
Her right hand was crushed in a sugar cane juicer in an accident last December.

Yes. those went thru BMT will understand the sibei shiok feeling!

disclose liao but accurate or not!

Yes. those went thru BMT will understand the sibei shiok feeling!

Disclose Liao but if auditor find out not true, then poh mata lor [laugh]

Saw a drinks stall using the safer sugar cane juice machine. The older more dangerous machines may be being junked by stall operators?.....

The stall is at Clementi Blk 448 food centre and the machine looks something like this:

post-114176-0-69887400-1399165633.jpg

Saw the Tuesday documentary show yesterday on Ch8.

She was recovering well but loses her 3 right fingers.

She is very strong and mature. Wish her speedy recovery. :D