Could Anyone Have Braked In Time To Avoid This Accident?

Jellandross

Actually my parents have had the exact same encounter and accident.

And also the girl student involved in the accident is of the similar age.

Same story. The girl was late and chasing the sbs bus that will take her to her school. Same thing just dash across regardless. My dad who is the driver whose line of sight was covered by a couple of cars. He saw the cars beside him jam brake so he slowed. The girl shocked my parents as she dashed across. My dad's car hit her giant school bag and that was enough to make her "fly" forward.

Dan heng heng in the opposite direction a TP was waiting the lights at the junction saw everything. He LL came over to the accident site. My mum asked for his name (the officer dunno why kept his nametag) as he was a key witness. He mumbled he was off-duty on his way back to office. LoL... Anyway he said he will report it in.

Dan the girl's mum came angrily but after the TP told her what happened she quickly brought her girl home. The girl only had a few scratches nothing serious thankfully.

This kinda thing I blame the girl's mother. My parents still had that scene running over and over again for the next couple of days. Couldn't eat or sleep well. All thanks to the girl and her mother.

There is a difference between right and wrong in the eyes of law and on morality...

In the eyes of the law the driver may not be wrong, the line of sight is really blocked and travelling at 50km/hr or 30km/hr will not be able to stop in time. Why? No need physics to tell you, every person's reaction time is alr different, road surface and tyre conditions are also factors affecting braking distance.

In the eyes of morality, the driver is alr wrong hitting a young gal who may have a very bright future ahead but was cut short... due to whatever reasons is no longer important, 'just like the brothers in Tampines", lives are already lost.

I would not suggest fencing up the whole road but I would prefer to ask "Why the FENCE?" To stop jaywalking? I have seen people climbing over the fence and almost tripping over... Wouldn't that be more dangerous?

Anywy the same words, drive safe... educate and lead by example. Monkeys see, Monkeys do, if you don't "teach / show" a kid to cross illegally, how he / she knows about crossing illegally? Or rushing for buses?

Take the time, breath the air, teach the kids with right values. My kid will correct me at pedestrian crossing when I tried to cross before the green man lights up, I would apologize to him and praise him for doing the right thing! When he asks why are we crossing the road not using the pedestrian crossing, I would apologize and walk with him to the pedestrian crossing.

Don't blame the sky, the heaven, the earth, the gov, the sch, the surrounding. Teaching begins at home, a child will always look up to his / her parents not the gov, not the sch.

Happened to me before, but i manage to brake in time. What pissed me off is, the kid (a boy around 9 or 10yo) dashed across the road for no apparent reason (no bus or taxi or anyone waiting on the other side of the road). On reaching the kerb, he stopped and looked back at me. Immediately i wind down the window and fark him for his carelessness.

I dun understand why ppl blame the taxi driver. The fence is there for a reason. But being incomplete it gives jaywalkers a chance to break the law.

If the mother/guardian of the child jolly well knows the child is late for school dan she should escort her to the bus stop to prevent such a thing from happening.

I will not be able to brake in time, and would not try

Honestly, i saw something in my peripheral vision coming in the video

Instinctively would have swerved to the left to avoid whatever it was, probably car go up the kerb and damaged the car or get whacked by a car in other lane

but human life more important i guess

no, i wont swerve because by avoiding something unknown in front, u might hit something unknown by the side

Happened to me before, but i manage to brake in time. What pissed me off is, the kid (a boy around 9 or 10yo) dashed across the road for no apparent reason (no bus or taxi or anyone waiting on the other side of the road). On reaching the kerb, he stopped and looked back at me. Immediately i wind down the window and fark him for his carelessness.

no use, should get the school and parents to be aware.

actually the worst thing now is we see adults crossing road like own grandfather road playing with their smartphones. if parents also like tat, how to teach those kids? [rolleyes]

Partial fault goes to the driver.

Remember, the principle that it is the vehicle that is supposed to keep a lookout for pedestrians, regardless.

Since he cannot see the other side of the fence, he must slow down before the point the fence ends to make sure no pedestrians there.

He cannot claim total innocence esp its a road surrounding housing estates, near a bus stop....an area where ther are bound to be people around.

Also looks like he is going above 50kmh. Charge the fella for inconsiderate driving.

THIS ACCIDENT IS PREVENTABLE!

I had been testing my line of sight this morning.

When the car is in motion at 50km/hr, I looked at the fence and honestly, can only see thru 3m/4m ahead of me. Not possible for anything further.

Camera mounted high and centre of the vehicle.

As a still picture, we can only see a distance of 5m~7m

With your logic, with thousands of km of such barriers around, all drivers must slow down upon reaching the end?

Will it be practical?

post-61679-0-03325100-1392947632_thumb.png

Talk is not cheap, it's free!

There is always a price to pay for talking.

Remember Ang Mo loses job, received death threads, made "asian news", fly to Perth because of a simple comment.

Screenshot of distance of first sighting.

It's beyond laws of physics to stop and what makes you think that hindsight could stop?

cannot stop but can horn. He should horn when he see her running from the other side of the road.

if you can see her and have time to horn, you will definitely able to stop.

If he got time to horn, he probably won't hit the girl already. If you noticed, most accidents happen when the drivers have no time to horn. Those incidents where the drivers had time to horn, they usually will be able to stop in time. Most only horn to show their displeasure.

no way anyone can stop in time. by the time you compute what's happening already buang liao. don't say hit the brakes. those think driver is at fault is kuku.

they are not kuku. they are just better drivers than you and me. [:)]

if you can see her and have time to horn, you will definitely able to stop.

That's what I find funny on the roads here.

When drivers see danger, instead of applying brakes first, most will horn first to see the other parties reaction. If correction done by other party, then brakes will not be applied.

Imagine how many precious seconds gone...

My heart says the gal is not at fault and my mind says the driver is not at fault.

Part of me shrunk when I saw the video.

I don;t think I can stop in time to avoid the contact.

after much debate i believe i have achieved my objective.

that is bring attention to the Authorities the design of such center fencing.

no where beforehand that i mentioned i was able to stop in time at that speed.

rather i think he shd be more cautious taking into the account of the design of the fencing.

thanks for all the heated debate.....yes i have achieved my objective.

no where i intended to deceive my intention in a willful manner.

Edited by Gitanic

Somebody, a person or a committee, decided to stop the railings at that point, for some reason.

I wonder if they know about this accident and will reconsider the fencing stop off point and will allow for this type of thing elsewhere.

Personally unless the driver was speeding and impssible from the video to know that, then imo the girl is fully at fault.

Sorry to say that but it's my opinion.

I hope she recovers.

This video should be shown in all schools.