Darryn Turbocharged March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Which means houserule to be changed to cycling is illegal on public roads and public pavements. Maciam like No spitting and No smoking. Need a LKY to work. On this I think you're on the wrong side of history - I'd instead say that you should be going in exactly the opposite direction - making cycling easier, faster, safer and more convenient. SIngapore, perhaps moreso than a shit-tonne of other countries is great for cycling, almost completely flat and very very small - We should be doing MORE to encourage two wheel transport, not going in opposite direction. There are two drawbacks to cycling here a) the weather b) heavy traffic. The weather we can't fight (yet) - but traffic the authorities can be bold and step forward to give priority to cycling - which is something that I think can and should be done. Can you imagine SIngapore as a city of bikes? I can - AND I think it can work. We are only 40km end to end. An electric bike can easily maintain a speed of 30 km/h - why aren't we aiming to this? Can you imagine if you could get people out of cars onto bikes? I would guess that you could reduce vehicle footprint by somewhere around 80% - wouldn't that be awesome? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 (edited) I think the most TL topic is road hogging. Road hogging caused massive jam & increase ERP charge. I HATE road hogger more than anything else. If i have a leopard tank, i will run down all these road hogger. This topic also talk & talk and road condition nvr change. There are numerous discussion on this topic. In the end, nothing changed. What's the pt of discussing any further? It is a topic that the relevant authorities try to avoid. PLEASE CHANGE IT. By the way, we will be a laughing stock to the whole world for being so backward minded. if there is a problem what u achive by not discussing it? and pretending it never exist? i give u another example. the riot and jaywalking at little india. everybody know its a problem, no 1 tackle it, authority hope every day passby without any problem, ( i dunknow, ) till that accident, then all the enforcement come out. are we going to wait till 1 day 1 truck driver gone crazy and run over 1 whole group of cyclist hogging 1 lane , IN A SINGLE LANE ROAD, for example karanji area, then the minister come out and say its indeed a problem, but we dun realize it because there is not much complain from drivers?? another example , now i mention i gonna give my vote to whoever gonna tackle this problem, maybe come next election, the mp might just realize the vote of driver is alot of % also , they need to plan their watever talk and promise to driver and road problem and cyclist problem also , am i right??? Edited March 18, 2014 by Beregond Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 On this I think you're on the wrong side of history - I'd instead say that you should be going in exactly the opposite direction - making cycling easier, faster, safer and more convenient. SIngapore, perhaps moreso than a shit-tonne of other countries is great for cycling, almost completely flat and very very small - We should be doing MORE to encourage two wheel transport, not going in opposite direction. There are two drawbacks to cycling here a) the weather b) heavy traffic. The weather we can't fight (yet) - but traffic the authorities can be bold and step forward to give priority to cycling - which is something that I think can and should be done. Can you imagine SIngapore as a city of bikes? I can - AND I think it can work. We are only 40km end to end. An electric bike can easily maintain a speed of 30 km/h - why aren't we aiming to this? Can you imagine if you could get people out of cars onto bikes? I would guess that you could reduce vehicle footprint by somewhere around 80% - wouldn't that be awesome? You think Singapore will be a city of green?Not possible as: - hurt the public transport bottom line. - hurt the revenue collected from personal car usage Green solutions are everywhere but why we imposed higher taxes on green vehicles? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragonfly1 1st Gear March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Yes why cant we all cycle more??? It will be great. Govt policy doesnt seems to encourage cycling, no cycling lane to make it safe anywhere in the city There is also cultural reasons…. car unfortunately is a status symbol in our society, we all thrive for the three Cs including car. Die Die expensive COEs also get car loan to buy. On this I think you're on the wrong side of history - I'd instead say that you should be going in exactly the opposite direction - making cycling easier, faster, safer and more convenient. SIngapore, perhaps moreso than a shit-tonne of other countries is great for cycling, almost completely flat and very very small - We should be doing MORE to encourage two wheel transport, not going in opposite direction. There are two drawbacks to cycling here a) the weather b) heavy traffic. The weather we can't fight (yet) - but traffic the authorities can be bold and step forward to give priority to cycling - which is something that I think can and should be done. Can you imagine SIngapore as a city of bikes? I can - AND I think it can work. We are only 40km end to end. An electric bike can easily maintain a speed of 30 km/h - why aren't we aiming to this? Can you imagine if you could get people out of cars onto bikes? I would guess that you could reduce vehicle footprint by somewhere around 80% - wouldn't that be awesome? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 we just need to compare facts, how many cases of pedestrian and dogs causing accident and taking up whole lane on singapore road per year? and how many cases of cyclist causing accident , road rage, taking up whole lane, EVEN A 1 WAY LANE, dairly ?? on certain road, its happening dairly. that is exactly why we need rules, COS TOO MANY OF THEM CANNOT BEHAVE. The rules are already there. Its up to the TP to enforce it. Even with insurance for cyclists, it isn't going to help much right? Cuz if the cyclist was doing something illegal then the insurance also won't cover and you'll have to get compensation from the cyclist by yourself instead. Yes why cant we all cycle more??? It will be great. Govt policy doesnt seems to encourage cycling, no cycling lane to make it safe anywhere in the city There is also cultural reasons…. car unfortunately is a status symbol in our society, we all thrive for the three Cs including car. Die Die expensive COEs also get car loan to buy. If they continue cutting the supply of COEs then maybe we'll see more people cycling and less people driving. Especially when the GPS ERP thing starts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 The rules are already there. Its up to the TP to enforce it. Even with insurance for cyclists, it isn't going to help much right? Cuz if the cyclist was doing something illegal then the insurance also won't cover and you'll have to get compensation from the cyclist by yourself instead. i must say i agree on some point, indeed rules is there , and there is a lack of enforcement. insurance for cyclist need to have alot of detail, for example. kids cycling in parks certainly dun need insurance. but i believe the min we need to start with a system that make all cyclist on road being register, like some bro mention , there would be n problem if all cyclist follow rules, but now, cyclist can break all rules and road rage road hoge, and get away with it, cos THEY CANNOT BE TRACE. some bro mention going green with bike all over the island, i believe that is the aim we should aim at also, for the sake of the planet also. but imagine the number of bike on the road that = the number of cars, now, and electric bike is fast trust me. all the more we need a set of regulation and resteration and indentiflion for the dream to work . RIght? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 if there is a problem what u achive by not discussing it? and pretending it never exist? i give u another example. the riot and jaywalking at little india. everybody know its a problem, no 1 tackle it, authority hope every day passby without any problem, ( i dunknow, ) till that accident, then all the enforcement come out. are we going to wait till 1 day 1 truck driver gone crazy and run over 1 whole group of cyclist hogging 1 lane , IN A SINGLE LANE ROAD, for example karanji area, then the minister come out and say its indeed a problem, but we dun realize it because there is not much complain from drivers?? another example , now i mention i gonna give my vote to whoever gonna tackle this problem, maybe come next election, the mp might just realize the vote of driver is alot of % also , they need to plan their watever talk and promise to driver and road problem and cyclist problem also , am i right??? U r not wrong. What are you doing beside discussing in MCF? Currently, there is safe cycling task force working with LTA on cycling safely. Maybe you should set up a driver advocate group to work with LTA/TP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Haiz. Why cant the farking cyclists stick to riding in parks instead of the road? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Haiz. Why cant the farking cyclists stick to riding in parks instead of the road? Because some of the riders need to travel from pt A to pt B. This 2 pt is not joined by PCN. Because some of the riders need to exercise. PCN does not allow cyclist to clock high mileage (100 - 200km) and normal speed (30 - 40 km/h). Not everyone ride leisurely 1 hor. From my home (Kallang MRT) to Asia Square, please plot a ride in the park route. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 U r not wrong. What are you doing beside discussing in MCF? Currently, there is safe cycling task force working with LTA on cycling safely. Maybe you should set up a driver advocate group to work with LTA/TP. thank u, for agreeing but i really believe i am under no obligation to tell u what i am doing doing in my private life, and what i am doing about this problem. but if u are really interested, i can tell u i did bring up this to my mp, when they come knocking on my doors, once in during cny visit, and once is to check on loan sharks. i believe any other action which i love to and alway take to get back at cyclist who break traffic laws, i would not like to share with u , as for set up any group, i promise once i receive any finance backing and sponcership, , yeah trust me, i will. BUT in the meanwhile i will try to partcipate in any forum and thread discussing about cyclist problem on the road as much as possible, as my time allow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 thank u, for agreeing but i really believe i am under no obligation to tell u what i am doing doing in my private life, and what i am doing about this problem. but if u are really interested, i can tell u i did bring up this to my mp, when they come knocking on my doors, once in during cny visit, and once is to check on loan sharks. i believe any other action which i love to and alway take to get back at cyclist who break traffic laws, i would not like to share with u , as for set up any group, i promise once i receive any finance backing and sponcership, , yeah trust me, i will. BUT in the meanwhile i will try to partcipate in any forum and thread discussing about cyclist problem on the road as much as possible, as my time allow. It is true that u have no obligation to tell me. I have no interest to know what action have you taken. Anyway, since u r SO passionate about this subject, why not set up a lobbying group? Since MCF has a lot of ppl with $$, why not get them to support you? This is a good suggestion from me. Ask relevant authorities to built dedicated bicycle path that has shelter & air cond. It will get cyclist off the road and encourage more ppl to cycle to their respective destination. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Can u go do more meaningfull thing like loaning me 89 rated defenders instead of replying this boliao thread. Lol. This thread have been discussed till death. Total waste of bandwith. Haiz. Why cant the farking cyclists stick to riding in parks instead of the road? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Because some of the riders need to travel from pt A to pt B. This 2 pt is not joined by PCN. Because some of the riders need to exercise. PCN does not allow cyclist to clock high mileage (100 - 200km) and normal speed (30 - 40 km/h). Not everyone ride leisurely 1 hor. From my home (Kallang MRT) to Asia Square, please plot a ride in the park route. that's your farking problem la. Take the bloody mrt like everyone else Can u go do more meaningfull thing like loaning me 89 rated defenders instead of replying this boliao thread. Lol. This thread have been discussed till death. Total waste of bandwith. u just bid lor. I go accept later Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 Because some of the riders need to travel from pt A to pt B. This 2 pt is not joined by PCN. Because some of the riders need to exercise. PCN does not allow cyclist to clock high mileage (100 - 200km) and normal speed (30 - 40 km/h). Not everyone ride leisurely 1 hor. From my home (Kallang MRT) to Asia Square, please plot a ride in the park route. Discussed before right?Cyclist having sports bikes cannot bring it to top speed over drivers having sports cars also couldn't bring it to top speed. Cyclist have no speed limit in Singapore but doesn't mean they can do anything they want and drivers have no choice but sticking to speed limit. When drivers wants to experience the trills, they bring their cars to tracks. Cyclists can also do the same, bring to track but it's just too bad there isn't any. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 that's your farking problem la. Take the bloody mrt like everyone else u just bid lor. I go accept later What if MRT breakdown? During last major breakdown, i was cycling home from Chevron house @ 10pm. While majority of the ppl trying to call cab in front of fullerton. Discussed before right? Cyclist having sports bikes cannot bring it to top speed over drivers having sports cars also couldn't bring it to top speed. Cyclist have no speed limit in Singapore but doesn't mean they can do anything they want and drivers have no choice but sticking to speed limit. When drivers wants to experience the trills, they bring their cars to tracks. Cyclists can also do the same, bring to track but it's just too bad there isn't any. What's normal cyclist top speed? 50 - 60km/h maybe. From legal speed limit, is it legal? On road, even a qq is faster than THE most expensive road bike. Even Peter Sagan also cannot maintain qq top speed. Can u go do more meaningfull thing like loaning me 89 rated defenders instead of replying this boliao thread. Lol. This thread have been discussed till death. Total waste of bandwith. That's my point too. Since i m also boliao @ work, might as well play along. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic March 18, 2014 Author Share March 18, 2014 Bring it up in mcf, is already action imo. Such forums are closely monitored. Eg, i wonder why they are seemingly toking to themselves like......do sinkies understand the implications of worklife balance? iwt, its coz they see lots of grousing/whining & such statements are to ensure that people think correctly. Further, being the 150th, bringing it up in forums, esp this.....will not lag far behind seeing MP, writing to LTA, etc..... Just have to keep bringing it up & keep the pressure on. Hopefully, it will be addressed before something major like LI incident occurs.For the majority to adopt the mindset of sharing the roads....its going to be tuff considering the divisive policies in place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 While this topic is still hot in this forum, just 3 hours ago a cyclist (looks like "uncle" category") rode across a traffic junction right in front of my car when the red man was clearly already on for a long long while and it was green for me..... This is the 3rd such case personally (twice "uncles", once Ang Moh) in the last 1 year. We can only expect more cyclists to dirty up the road with their blood given the lax enforcement. sigh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear March 18, 2014 Share March 18, 2014 What have u done other than KPKB in MCF? Haul TP ass down those road. Daily, i m cycling down Kallang Rd. No issue le. Somemore, SBS/SMRT bus share bus lane with me. Yeah the bus has to eat rightwards, or sometimes even stray into the next lane on the right. Then I will have to eat rightwards too. Sorry hor, that's not sharing. They're just afraid of killing cyclists and getting into trouble for no good reason. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...