Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

From the rider viewpoint, it is better for drivers NOT to know the drop-off location. Otherwise, some drivers may pick and choose the booking.

They are not taxis, thus not bounded by taxi rules.  They are "private" hire, not charity, so if no driver wants the job, it means the fare is too low (for the driver).  Up the fare till some driver gladly takes the job.

When Grab display destination and fare to driver, it is between Grab and driver only. If driver does not want to accept, it's his decision. However his Acceptance Rating will be affected. But rider doesn't know this, only that it's difficult to get a ride, if not many drivers want to take on.

Compare this with taxi driver stopping to ask passenger where he wants to go and then declined the trip. Passenger is directly impacted and kpkb.

This is also breaking LTA regulation, while in Grab case, it does not.

From the rider viewpoint, it is better for drivers NOT to know the drop-off location. Otherwise, some drivers may pick and choose the booking.

Yep bro, I used to drive Uber. Only upon starting the trip then you know the rider destination.

Like you said, good for rider bad for driver. Esp the last trip.

I tell you all something, because uber do not reveal rider drop off location until driver click start trip. This is a life saver for a lot of riders who Need to go to ulu places for whatever reasons. Like go to army camp, go to tuas area, got to alps Ave and etc.

Imagine soon (actually Monday onwards), those who is in rush to go to work, say from Pasir ris to alps Ave. Book grab, 10 minutes no drivers accept, go out streets hire mo taxi pick up, on call cab also the same how? At least now still got uber as a lifesaver.

So when grab and uber merge, grab should do the right thing to change from can reveal riders drop off location to not to reveal drop off location until start trip. If not when more drivers get the hand of cherry pick riders it will be more difficult thing to solve.

So grab please do the right thing, for relevant authorities there is no point to stop the merger as this lies between grab and uber. The only thing that could do is to force grab to do the right thing to prevent drivers from cherry picking riders. This is a lot more important then what competition as end of the day many riders just want to get a ride to go to work and etc.

post-14834-0-10545700-1522430190_thumb.png

This person just don't understand why grab suddenly become more expensive for past few months. It's because there are many drivers not too happy with grab and jump ship to uber and then the pool of grab drivers become lesser. When the pool of drivers become lesser, naturally during peak hours grab fare will be a lot higher due to demand a lot more then supply.

This situation will start to reverse when there are a lot more uber drivers drive for Grab soon. Plus grab had give assurance they will not adjust base fare anytime soon after the merger. So fare structure remain the same, more drivers means supply will be more, during peak hours the surge will not be that high as compare to last time already.

The only problem now I can forsee is drivers cherry picking riders. This is one big problem that authorities need to solve fast with uber exit out of southeast Asia.

And one more thing with regard to recently there are many riders complaint that grab drivers purposely drove away from the riders pick up location, this is so as not to pick them up and want to force rider to cancel. I suspect these drivers think that ban me nevermind, I still can drive uber. So they purposely do this to show their displeasure on grab acceptance rate and cancelation rate policy. The reason why grab had this 30% acceptance rate and 10‰ cancelation rate thing is because of cherry picking issue. So why not grab follow uber style to not to reveal riders drop off location until drivers clock start trip?

These rotten egg drivers, now will think twice before do this stunt. If they get banned from Grab, there is no more uber to rely on already. So hopefully this will also solve a small headache for Grab and also riders frustration.

Edited by Yewheng

Yep bro, I used to drive Uber. Only upon starting the trip then you know the rider destination.

Like you said, good for rider bad for driver. Esp the last trip.

Actually, there are ways to make both the riders and PHV drivers more happy and less grumbling without letting the drivers know the drop-off location. Grab just need to be more innovative a little bit and they can make both the riders and drivers happy to achieve win-win situation.

For the example there is solution for the last trip problem for the driver without knowing the drop-off location. To be fair to the driver, Grab can't be expecting the driver to end last trip places far away from his home, for example dropping-off last passenger at Tuas and drive all the way back to Tampines or Bedok without passenger.

Actually, there are ways to make both the riders and PHV drivers more happy and less grumbling without letting the drivers know the drop-off location. Grab just need to be more innovative a little bit and they can make both the riders and drivers happy to achieve win-win situation.

For the example there is solution for the last trip problem for the driver without knowing the drop-off location. To be fair to the driver, Grab can't be expecting the driver to end last trip places far away from his home, for example dropping-off last passenger at Tuas and drive all the way back to Tampines or Bedok without passenger.

I though Grab have a Destination trip like Uber.

Only thing, it doesn't count in incentives.

So if you're going home to Tampines, you won't get a trip going to Tuas.

I though Grab have a Destination trip like Uber.

Only thing, it doesn't count in incentives.

So if you're going home to Tampines, you won't get a trip going to Tuas.

oic... I'm not a Grab Driver nor Uber driver but I'm quoting that Grab can do a better job if LTA stop them from revealing the drop-off location to drivers to prevent drivers from cherry picking passengers.

When Grab display destination and fare to driver, it is between Grab and driver only. If driver does not want to accept, it's his decision. However his Acceptance Rating will be affected. But rider doesn't know this, only that it's difficult to get a ride, if not many drivers want to take on.

Compare this with taxi driver stopping to ask passenger where he wants to go and then declined the trip. Passenger is directly impacted and kpkb.

This is also breaking LTA regulation, while in Grab case, it does not.

Previously (before 2018), when I try to book Grab, you can see on your phone that your booking is being passed from 1 driver to the next, until someone accept your booking. Otherwise the screen will display "try to book again. ..." after several minutes. It is very frustrating to see Grab drivers rejecting your booking .

Booking with Uber is very fast and pleasant experience. That was the reason why Uber was my 1st choice when I decided to take up PHV driving. 

My PDVL was arranged through Uber, including free medical checkup.  I had signed up for a 5 weeks contract to commence upon successful PDVL test.

However, Uber did not have the vehicle available when I was ready to commence driving. 

So I reluctantly signed up with Grab and their rental partner. However,  I provide Uber quality by accepting all bookings that appear on my screen. I had drop-off locations like Tuas West South, Seletar Airport,  Sentosa Cove which usually means no new bookings from there. Just take it lor, we are riders too.

I tell you all something, because uber do not reveal rider drop off location until driver click start trip. This is a life saver for a lot of riders who Need to go to ulu places for whatever reasons. Like go to army camp, go to tuas area, got to alps Ave and etc.

Imagine soon (actually Monday onwards), those who is in rush to go to work, say from Pasir ris to alps Ave. Book grab, 10 minutes no drivers accept, go out streets hire mo taxi pick up, on call cab also the same how? At least now still got uber as a lifesaver.

Well said. .... being in this profession (PHV), do it well and accept all bookings. Otherwise, go offline to take a break (eg meals, toilet, rest, going home...).

So when grab and uber merge, grab should do the right thing to change from can reveal riders drop off location to not to reveal drop off location until start trip. If not when more drivers get the hand of cherry pick riders it will be more difficult thing to solve.

So grab please do the right thing, for relevant authorities there is no point to stop the merger as this lies between grab and uber. The only thing that could do is to force grab to do the right thing to prevent drivers from cherry picking riders. This is a lot more important then what competition as end of the day many riders just want to get a ride to go to work and etc.

For the example there is solution for the last trip problem for the driver without knowing the drop-off location. To be fair to the driver, Grab can't be expecting the driver to end last trip places far away from his home, for example dropping-off last passenger at Tuas and drive all the way back to Tampines or Bedok without passenger.

Your last scenario is exactly what I kenna last time!...knn..

Was in town at 1am+ Friday night and got a ping. Was deciding to take or not since it was late and I stay at eunos. Took it and in the end, the rider want to go NTU!

Wah lan eh! Empty car go back after that and almost fell asleep.

As drivers, we need to go home when we're tired.

Sometimes "destination trip" also don't work well.

It uses a directional algorithm.

If I'm on CTE near Moulmein and going home to Yishun, I might get a ping at Orchard Rd. Then I'd turn back to Orchard Rd and that trip only goes to somewhere in Orchard Rd, bcuz the direction is roughly pointing north.

I get a $3~$4 fare turning around and sometimes getting jammed. It's not worth it.

So, sometimes I don't use destination trip at all and just go back empty.

Why need to engage le?

Worse case scenerio is both Grab & Uber exit Singapore.

Both PHV drivers & riders will be worse off with CCS intervention.

Believe Gov won't let that happen.. imagine the tens of thousands PHV drivers go jobless and start screwing their low unemployment numbers kpi.

As drivers, we need to go home when we're tired.

Sometimes "destination trip" also don't work well.

It uses a directional algorithm.

If I'm on CTE near Moulmein and going home to Yishun, I might get a ping at Orchard Rd. Then I'd turn back to Orchard Rd and that trip only goes to somewhere in Orchard Rd, bcuz the direction is roughly pointing north.

I get a $3~$4 fare turning around and sometimes getting jammed. It's not worth it.

So, sometimes I don't use destination trip at all and just go back empty.

Fully agree with you. I tried the Grab destination feature, and stop using it any further. Somehow, if I decided to call it a day and go home, simply go offline and head for home, regardless  of how far away from home.

I am not a grab or uber driver

if they (drivers) want to increase price there is nothing wrong in the law.  It is like COE. COE is millions time more expensive.

They also have to make a living, there will be good days and bad days.

As long as they don't take you for a "ride" or merry go round, what is a few bucks more when you need it and it serve your purposes.

The only group I feel is responsible is the authorities because they create all the rules and environment for this to happen.

Eg fair to conventional taxi drivers when uber drivers don't need to take any competency course to get "licence" to ferry passengers initially, this puts passengers at risk which including no background check as comprehensive as the conventional taxi drivers

We need to separate whether it is legal right or wrong, or just morally right or wrong.

We also hear news report, both conventional taxi drivers and Uber/grab drivers who did not collect fares from passengers who are in dire strait.

So there are always good and bad sheep in any organisation.

PH driver is a tool.

They don't dictate the pricing, increase or decrease.

The system does. And it's the company that sets out price, surge, etc.

Similarly taxi driver is a tool.

The price is set out by someone up higher (company/PTC whatever) and he use the meter for that pricing.

He does not set the price.

Taxi driver takes a 1~2 day full time course and need to pass 3 papers to get LTA Vocational Licence.

PH driver takes a 1 day full time course and need to pass 2 papers (out of 3 for taxi) to get LTA Vocational Licence.

So saying PH driver is unprofessional compared to taxi driver is not really true at this time.

Both have to pass medical checks, etc.

Fully agree with you. I tried the Grab destination feature, and stop using it any further. Somehow, if I decided to call it a day and go home, simply go offline and head for home, regardless  of how far away from home.

I'm not a grab nor uber driver but I think Grab and those rider-hailing companies can do a better job than now by putting in more effort to enhance the apps to make the drivers and riders more happy.

It's not difficult to make enhancement to the apps to make the destination feature work better for both the drivers and riders. The same goes for the fare calculation so that drivers are more willing to go to ulu drop-off destination and pick-up riders from ulu places. The questions as to why they're not willing to do that is because of the incentive dash out to drivers, make it difficult for drivers to hit the target to get the incentive else with the generous incentive dash out, they'll be burning money instead of making money.

I'm not a grab nor uber driver but I think Grab and those rider-hailing companies can do a better job than now by putting in more effort to enhance the apps to make the drivers and riders more happy.

It's not difficult to make enhancement to the apps to make the destination feature work better for both the drivers and riders. The same goes for the fare calculation so that drivers are more willing to go to ulu drop-off destination and pick-up riders from ulu places. The questions as to why they're not willing to do that is because of the incentive dash out to drivers, make it difficult for drivers to hit the target to get the incentive else with the generous incentive dash out, they'll be burning money instead of making money.

When there's only one, Grab, that may change.

The first change is probably with a huge influx of new drivers, Grab may decrease driver's incentive or remove it altogether.

When drivers start to quit, incentives may yet change again.

Riders promo will decrease as well, since PH is no longer as new to attract passengers over from taxis.

Taxis will still be PH main competitors. Even though they try to bring taxi drivers over to their side.

Grab will spend less money on promos and incentives. That is what they want, and become more profitable.

To riders, all good things must come to an end, regarding promos.

It's like what Amazon (competing with Brick and Mortar companies) used to be, lots of $5, $10, $20 coupons lying around. Now it's almost zero.