2014 Commonwealth Games

Camrysfa

oic....thks for the clarification. [:)]

actualli, wouldn't our SAF snipers be champs at this?

oic....thks for the clarification. [:)]

actualli, wouldn't our SAF snipers be champs at this?

different equipment, no human target, pressure level different, every shoot count cannot reload, shoot liao cannot runaway [laugh][laugh]

Yeap, this is someone we can be truly proud of.

Someone who is local and gave his/her best.

Think not only that. She mostly finance herself also? That will be truly going against all odds.

Something that those locals in other National Teams also dont have?

different equipment, no human target, pressure level different, every shoot count cannot reload, shoot liao cannot runaway [laugh][laugh]

Well said bro!

Snipers may be considered potential competitors but I think it is vastly different!

Well said bro!

Snipers may be considered potential competitors but I think it is vastly different!

but hor i still think sniper is under more pressure, it is life and death [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Haha! Very true and a miss could mean the death of an innocent party whereas this one is a game afterall!!

Yalor, shoot liao really cannot runaway .. and to think that I shoot 3 times, bull eyes 3 times, and pop out 3 "awards" that will stick with me for rest of life :D

always 100% on target? :huh:

you must be very good in calculative move [thumbsup][laugh]

This means that our way of life is not condusive towards this end.

Their persistence of foreign imports demonstrates to me that they will not be addressing this issue anytime soon. Its just for the purpose of making the numbers look nice. GDP no matter what is extended to Gold Medals no matter what.

Why does it need to be addressed - it is obviously working and drawing medals. So if it ain't broke don't fix it.

This is an old article - that gives the American perspective on "recruiting" athletes to win medals.

And another more recent one talking about the London Olympics

Conclusion: Singapore isn't the only country doing it and it gets pretty much the same response in other countries as it gets from Singaporeans

Edited by ExigeTan

Sounds like a "better than nothing" theory ? [;)]

i am not saying this is a "better than nothing" theory. But there are bashing and many one-sided arguments against formerly foreign players in the national team and a lot of people are not taking a step back to see the overall picture. A lot angst and pure bashing without thinking, not unlike many political arguments locally and around the world.

Let's take a step back.

In the 60s, our country invited a lot of established MNCs to set up shop in Singapore with the hope that there will be transfer of knowledge to Singaporeans as one of its goals. Fast forward to the 21st century. Has that objective been met? Likely so as Singapore has come up well in various sectors eg being a top regional financial centre. But of course that brings about another set of issues eg more FTs and perhaps these FTs bringing in more FTs into their teams thus shutting out jobs to similarly qualified locals.

What is my point?

My point is if you don't try, you'll never know the outcome. And even if you have achieved your desired outcome, it might bring about another set of unforeseen issues. That happens almost everywhere globally. And we modify the implementation as we go along, hoping to reduce hiccups. That is inevitable.

Similarly, countries bring in foreign talent into the national team in the hope that it will transfer to the next generation of local players, to lift the overall standard of playing. It takes many years to spot and nurture a sporting talent and in most sports, the competitive life span of any player might be less than a decade. Eg after the next Olympics, Feng Tian Wei might not be around anymore as there are likely younger players who will ursurp her space. And hopefully, that can be a locally born and bred player.

But that does not mean that this FT import into the sporting scene will definitely reap the planned results. No one can plan the future, however meticulous the planning and what's more, we are talking about humans who are the most susceptible to change, emotions etc.

To the credit of the various sporting associations, I think they have been trying over the recent years to talent spot younger players overseas and persuading them to come over and groom them locally with local/foreign coaches. But I will say again. This takes time and is not 100% sure win.

I believe there are a few good locally born and bred TT players after they started the FT scheme many years back. One I think is Isabelle. Should there be more Isabelles? I certainly hope so. Why aren't there that many now then? Perhaps our talent pool is really not enough based on a population of ~5m. 1 out of 5m = 0.00002%. If I take that same % and apply to China with a 1.3b population, the coaches can easily find 260 Isabelles. And a national TT team probably requires only 10 good players at any one time. This is on top of other reasons eg monetary gain of a sporting career for an average sportsman, support of parents and I think, more importantly, hunger to get out of the poverty trap.

Let's give credit where credit is due. Bashing without thinking and snide remarks do not show the maturity level of Singaporeans.

If these FT players, after spending at least a decade in Singapore, decide to call Singapore home when they retire from sports, will you still discriminate against them? Is it fair to them that they uprooted themselves, sweat and train as hard, if not harder, than the locals, raise the profile of the game, inspire young locally born and bred players to train full time to be the next generation players? All of us really have to answer this truthfully. Is it fair they are discriminated against?

We watched this shooting event, and therefore able to answer your queries.

- target is stationary, and replaced after every 5 shots [shooters have to pause].

- the prop-up stand is for shooters to rest the rifle, during the instances when not shooting [eg. pause, loading single round, finish shooting, rest, etc...]. Shooters aim and fire without support from the prop-up stand.

More info for reference :

The shooters have to consider the wind conditions when aiming.

There were several shooting positions during this event. The shooter from RSA [south Africa ?] overtook Jasmine Ser for the 1st placing during the prone position. However, she did not do well in the last standing position, and was eventually the 1st to be eliminated during the final placing. This prove that the standing position require more skill compared with the sitting and prone positions.

Live rounds were used for this event.

never watched it but from the scores, it seems like all the top shooters is practically 100% bullseye every single shot. To win, you will need to do that every shot. One shot just out of the bullseye means points dropped. Pressurizing.

我国羽毛球男女单打杀入16强
31/07/2014on 新明日报by 张筠
SM_31_07_2014_CJ_11_25759325_25758948_lu
我羽毛球主教练刘庆东向球员面授机宜。(图/海峡时报)
三天前,我国羽毛球队在经过苦战后,自混合团体赛以3比2战胜印度,第二次赢得共运动会羽毛球奖牌。这对羽毛球队来说是个不小的鼓舞,在昨天的羽毛球男女单打比赛中,我国球员的发挥也相当出色。
我国头号选手黄梓良与小将黄超顺利闯进16强赛。黄梓良以2比0轻松击败塞舌尔球员库皮东;黄超也以2比0击败孟加拉球员贾曼晋级。在16强赛中,黄梓良与黄超将分别对垒牙买加球员亨利和英格兰乌斯普赫,有望继续挺进复赛。
女单:我小将梁晓宇进16强赛
在羽毛球女单赛中,唯一代表我国出战的18岁小将梁晓宇发挥相当不错,在32强赛上,以21比4和21比2,在14分钟内便轻松拿下加纳17岁小将阿彻,进入16强赛。她将在16强赛上对垒加拿大球员李文珊。
混双:察育/姚蕾今争复赛权
此外,在新加坡时间今天凌晨结束的羽毛球混双比赛中,察育/姚蕾的组合遇到阻力,在首局以21比16拿下后,以17比21输掉了第二局,所幸他们随后调整状态,以21比16拿下第三局,顺利击败澳大利亚组合史密斯/弗兰,晋级16强赛,将在今晚对垒新西兰组合登纳利/斯特普顿,争夺一席复赛权。

Singapore made it to last 16 in both men (2 of them) and women single, out of 64 players from the beginning.

Well said bro!

It's a different ball game for ISSF shooting events; the stress level is worst with the current rules . You may qualify for finals in the top 8 position where the process of elimination is even more unpredictable in the final outcome . Notably for the 10m Air Rifle Women, Singapore was ranked 2nd in qualifying but things changes as the intensity of the finals were underway. The end results was 4th and 5th placing. Same for the men events where they rank 5th and 6th.

Those who saw the finals on the TV telecast would have notice the intense pressure on the last three shots by the competitors. Jasmine gave a sigh of relief the moment they announced she won. That is the extend of the mental pressure which differs from service shooting.

Remember our Singapore shooter that went for the Olympics and misfire and finished bottom as reported on the media. . That is the extent of pressure they are dealing with ; which takes years to temper. In sports,practically the only currency recognized is a medal.

never watched it but from the scores, it seems like all the top shooters is practically 100% bullseye every single shot. To win, you will need to do that every shot. One shot just out of the bullseye means points dropped. Pressurizing.

Difficult to hit bullseye for every shot. Yes, some of the shooters hit bullseye, but each only about 1-3 in the entire event. Shots landing in those "inner circles" help a lot in the winning scores.

A champion military sniper can also be an Olympic champion shooter. But a Olympic champion shooter may be a complete wreck in real sniper work - where there is someone out there capable of shooting back.

Just realise that mio tv provide 6 free channel (134-139) on commonwealth game :D

You are late. I had been watching that from the beginning.

Got good lobang never share here [mad]

I didn't expect mio so kind to give free broadcast mah [laugh]