Views on BMW 528i

Piyopico

520i vs 528i

Compression ratio is different because 528i is running more boost, so compression lowered to accomodate the increased boost. 520i is running less boost, so compression ratio was kept higher to hopefully get better efficiency numbers. The difference is in the piston. Technically, if you run very good petrol or add water injection, then it is quite possible to get the 290+ tuned horsepower of the 528i. BMS stage II on 320i was already dyno to 260+hp.

The difference between 520i and 528i is also in exhaust. From the cat back, 528i is 10mm larger in diameter...I think. 528i also has got the vaccum operated exhaust flap. On the 520i, both exhaust outlet are operated at all times.

528i also has a larger intercooler.

BTW, I don't know what is the current M135i or M235i pricing, but munich price that you see everywhere is bare bare bare car, apparently even without the auto tranny. In fact I think the new m135i or m235i on display don't even come with PSS anymore...

This is also why the m3/m4 was just listed as 300k...

Thx for helping to explain to the children. BMW is an established car company. They know there are tonnes of tuners out there trying to bring the horses up on each engine. A tune can only do so much. Hardware plays a big part too. Those who think you can buy a chip and make a 520 a 528, dream on.

Thanks for the link, explains the various options. Surprise the base unit has no amp system.

But you bought a Bimmer so that says it all [laugh]

It is normal for the longest time lah.

Thx for helping to explain to the children. BMW is an established car company. They know there are tonnes of tuners out there trying to bring the horses up on each engine. A tune can only do so much. Hardware plays a big part too. Those who think you can buy a chip and make a 520 a 528, dream on.

5 praise

Haven't had a bimmer for a while leh, I thought I they upped their A game. That said the 328 comes with Hi Fi Audio standard

But you said it for Radio alone base is good, never had an issue with that on the E46

It is normal for the longest time lah.

5 praise

Haven't had a bimmer for a while leh, I thought I they upped their A game. That said the 328 comes with Hi Fi Audio standard

But you said it for Radio alone base is good, never had an issue with that on the E46

What issue do you mean?

What i meant was in case of listening to radio only, no need harman or B&O.

David I am agreeing with you lah, base system for radio is good enough.

"never had an issue "

What issue do you mean?

What i meant was in case of listening to radio only, no need harman or B&O.

True but whenever radio playing party mixes, you'd wish you have a really good sound system. Lol.

Not sure if anyone is aware of this website but just thought of sharing. You can actually check what your BMW comes with if you're buying a second hand one by checking the last 7 "digit" of your vin on the website below.

http://www.bmwarchive.org/vin/bmw-vin-decoder.html

The below is from my car, I suppose its a level below the Harman system based on what I'm reading here?

S609A Navigationssystem Professional Navigation system Professional S672A CD-Wechsler 6-fach CD changer for 6 CDs S677A HiFi System Professional DSP HiFi System Professional DSP S6FLA USB-/Audio-Schnittstelle USB/Audio interface

David I am agreeing with you lah, base system for radio is good enough.

"never had an issue "

A 2 litre sedan with sticker price of S$257,800.

Looks like a gem although many will say it is not an inline 6. Fast enough for me plus lower rd tax than the 535i that PML is selling at above S$360,000 for the M-sport trim. Thatz like a 100 grand difference.

I do see PI selling 535i for S$267,000 but I dun think I will take that route.

Any bros willing to share their take on tis car? My ride left a few months. Seems buying new car must have an old car to trade in for best value. Hope PML offers good over trade and if you know of any good PML SE that can offer a great package, pls PM me.

Cheers.

PI is fine, many good workshops out there which can help you solve problems. Worth the difference in price

http://musicarnw.com/bmw-factory-audio-explained/

Although there have been variations from model year to model year.

For f10 still have the super chio bang and olusfen speakers...

Personally, I feel whatever nav or hifi or instrument cluster don't make difference in day to day. If I can redo it, I will walk into a reliable PI, ask for a bare 535i and option in comfort access, sport auto and steering, and electronic dampers. Maybe comfort seat too. The rest are just nice to have, but never used.

good link. All these info on factory audio system is so hard to find!