Views on BMW 528i

Piyopico

Buy 520i and chip up to 528i... same motor (N20)... different software niah...

What's the point??

528 also can chip to higher HP & torque.

535 also can chip to higher HP & torque.

The list goes on..............................

see thread title la kotek :D:D

I know lah... but nothing much to say.

It's a GREAT car :D

Ok, just to add a little bit. Want to consider 520d? Diesel engine but overall almost the same as 520i but save substantial on fuel in the long run.

If you want torque and response, no need to think, go for 528i or 535i [cool] In Singapore 535 may be a bit overkill with the price. Unless bragging rights is important, then go for it. [;)]

I know lah... but nothing much to say.

It's a GREAT car :D

Ok, just to add a little bit. Want to consider 520d? Diesel engine but overall almost the same as 520i but save substantial on fuel in the long run.

If you want torque and response, no need to think, go for 528i or 535i [cool] In Singapore 535 may be a bit overkill with the price. Unless bragging rights is important, then go for it. [;)]

Want to brag? Should buy Alpina.

Yes, that is an option too. The D5 has a powerful torque.

But truly want to brag then got to go for M5 [laugh] [laugh]

Still thinking. Big Downside seems to be a new model replacement in two years time and then they sure lelong the current model. Looking hard at C250 too. Smaller but nice.

528i is a very competent car. Good thing about PML is that the car is very high spec. Bad thing about PML is that the car is damn high spec but the OMV is still like shit.

535i although is my dream car the maintenance cost (road tax, insurance and FC) will be high.

There *are* PIs that carry high spec 520i/528i. I personally drive a PI 520d that is super high spec (sports seats, hi-fi, 4 zone aircon, M-sports trim from factory) but only thing lacking is the big iDrive which can be upgraded aftermarket for $5K thereabouts. My OMV is $50K+.

There's also one 523i on sgCarMart with similar high specs PLUS big iDrive and HUD. You should take a look. Blue color if I remember correctly.

Good luck.

What's the point??

528 also can chip to higher HP & torque.

535 also can chip to higher HP & torque.

The list goes on..............................

520 and 528i same motor mah, and BMW themselves is chipping it and charging so much more... not like the old days of N52 where they have different hardware even for the same engine... so there is no easy way to get the missing HP... 323 vs 325....

for the N20... max chip is around 528i level liao.. maybe another 5% more only.. N20 limit liao...

infact.. so many tuning houses offering this chip from 520 to 528... 320 to 328... N20 being TC is all in the chip....

best to get a fully optioned 520i and chip up to 528i....

535i totally different beast... N55...

like that BMW no need to sell 528i liao la ... lol

528i can chip up to 535i

535i can chip up to M5 ... huat ah!

520 and 528i same motor mah, and BMW themselves is chipping it and charging so much more... not like the old days of N52 where they have different hardware even for the same engine... so there is no easy way to get the missing HP... 323 vs 325....

for the N20... max chip is around 528i level liao.. maybe another 5% more only.. N20 limit liao...

infact.. so many tuning houses offering this chip from 520 to 528... 320 to 328... N20 being TC is all in the chip....

Wow. Just found out that they're actually twin turbo. Must be the only 4cylinder twins ever made

Marketing talk nia. They call it Twinpower turbo but there is only one snail with two pipes going in(sort of).

Edited by Ake109

like that BMW no need to sell 528i liao la ... lol

528i can chip up to 535i

535i can chip up to M5 ... huat ah!

Cannot lah... N20 engine limit is abt 528i level plus maybe 5% more...

For example ,AC schnitzer themselves is providing this chipping... barring options 520i and 528i are the same car with same engine tune to different output...

535i can chip close to M5 but will never drive like 1... coz M5 has too many hardware differences liao...its like a total different car...

Yes, that is an option too. The D5 has a powerful torque.

But truly want to brag then got to go for M5 [laugh] [laugh]

There are too many Yam5 around lah. Got ///M5 also cannot brag.

Alpina is THE best.

Wow. Just found out that they're actually twin turbo. Must be the only 4cylinder twins ever made

It's not a twin turbo. It's a single turbo, variable geometry, twin SCROLL.

Still thinking. Big Downside seems to be a new model replacement in two years time and then they sure lelong the current model. Looking hard at C250 too. Smaller but nice.

More option included at the same OMV. Who's care about outgoing model?

It's not just in the chip. The intercooler is also different I think. Otherwise so easy to chip up, everybody chip. Too much compression the air gets too hot needs more cooling.