Sabah quake tragedy

Enye

when we drive in MY or Thai, see cow so excited I keep shouting to my son "COW COW COW" !!!!

:grin:

hahha...reminds me of trips to penang when we were young. Same sentiment when we see a cow/buffalo on the road....sooooo excited...kekekek

different generation also see different parenting method, how we come out in the 60s,70s also has to do with how the parenting then. They practically let you out the whole day as long as you come home for dinner.

Today the overly protection call for opportunity of such activities, do you think the parents nowadays allow kids to go lokang with flowing water to catch fish, or climb trees?

think catch spider oso parents scat....hahhaha

Singaporeans lead such sheltered lives that we are mentally ill equipped to handle disasters - man made or natural

our society needs to develop that kind of resilience and to learn to support one another through a crisis so that we do not self destruct

but that does not mean that I want more such incidents to happen ( i say this first so that no cb will come out and say i am an evil person later <_< )

Singaporeans lead such sheltered lives that we are mentally ill equipped to handle disasters - man made or natural

our society needs to develop that kind of resilience and to learn to support one another through a crisis so that we do not self destruct

but that does not mean that I want more such incidents to happen ( i say this first so that no cb will come out and say i am an evil person later <_< )

hahhaha...dun worry la bro...most of us here as I see it still believe in exposure.

And AGAIN as what you said, NOBODY KNEW an EARTHQUAKE was imminent!!!

look at the size of that rock...the donkey ear :blink:

post-547-0-48140700-1433725966_thumb.jpg

when we drive in MY or Thai, see cow so excited I keep shouting to my son "COW COW COW" !!!!

Years back, I brought my daughter to the zoo and there were some chickens running around and she was so excited to see them [:p]

Last time, we see chicken in kampungs until don't want to see haha!

Years back, I brought my daughter to the zoo and there were some chickens running around and she was so excited to see them [:p]

Last time, we see chicken in kampungs until don't want to see haha!

had to b you to change this thread to tiko...wat chicken? [sly]

[laugh][laugh]

okok btt..... anyway a sad day and time. tis year of the Goat has been quite a disastrous one.

hope they find the remaining bodies.

different generation also see different parenting method, how we come out in the 60s,70s also has to do with how the parenting then. They practically let you out the whole day as long as you come home for dinner.

Today the overly protection call for opportunity of such activities, do you think the parents nowadays allow kids to go lokang with flowing water to catch fish, or climb trees?

True, this is a reality check.

Just look at our NS. In our days, we had to wear china made rock hard boots but today they wear branded Nike running shoes. We ate half cooked sausage but today they eat catering from SATs. We kena duck walk, cannot tell punishment methods, change parade, kiwi boots until can see snow white's queen on it but today all these gone.

The many reasons and few that I can think of:

we are having fewer children in a family, in the past we have football team in families but today 1 or two kids only in the family

families are more affluent and with technology, their interest or priorities are now towards indoor activities

the culture of legal suit, people are more careful nowadays.

Different generation do different things and have different priorities. There is one thing I observe, there is actually no need to worry so much for the next generation, they often are smarter than us and will be able to find their way.

I don't have kids that old.

But most of these kids are going to vietnam to rural communities to do charity work or understanding how they live.

Can u teach a singaporean kid what it's like to be a farmer when they haven't even to been to a real farm?

goto boleh lor.. plenty of slums n farms n oni few hrs drive away.. further north kedah lagi backwards

Edited by Duckduck

Different generation do different things and have different priorities. There is one thing I observe, there is actually no need to worry so much for the next generation, they often are smarter than us and will be able to find their way.

I actually think they can get "lost" more easily with the virtual world intruding so much into reality.

But ok lah, don't discuss about that here. OT.

You have to be smarter just to navigate your way through.

True, this is a reality check.

Just look at our NS. In our days, we had to wear china made rock hard boots but today they wear branded Nike running shoes. We ate half cooked sausage but today they eat catering from SATs. We kena duck walk, cannot tell punishment methods, change parade, kiwi boots until can see snow white's queen on it but today all these gone.

i thk u shld b comparing 12yr olds to 12yr olds, regardless of generation. In the 60-70s, do u thk ure parents wld have agreed to letting u go climb Mt KK at 12yrs? Its different frm going downstairs to n playing catching...

Edited by Duckduck

Instead of mountain climbing, I would still prefer primary school students visit places of cultural values, explose them to lifestyle & hardship of countries that's off less develop.

Although some might disagrees with me that building physical strength of a child is also an important developing process but shouldn't it be left to a more mature age like in upper secondary.

Ulu places like Vietnam, Lao, Cambodia.... etc. where water doesn't runs from taps but have to carry from a well or river nearby. Want to take a bath, have to carry water yourself. No electricity, no internet, no gas stove but use of charcoal or dried branches to light fire for cooking. Where schools are just a row huts joining together with a black board and few tables & chairs.

The hardwork of farmers working in the field tending to vegetables and later harvest some vegetables for a meal. This are more meaningful values for our kids to appreciate from what they have at present in Singapore. Our kids had been growing in comfort of a home where everythings is within reach or by touch of a button.

My deepest condolences and sympathies to the families who had lost their loved ones.

It's really a sad Monday.

:that-dood-is-up-to-something::that-dood-is-up-to-something::that-dood-is-up-to-something:

Instead of mountain climbing, I would still prefer primary school students visit places of cultural values, explose them to lifestyle & hardship of countries that's off less develop.

Although some might disagrees with me that building physical strength of a child is also an important developing process but shouldn't it be left to a more mature age like in upper secondary.

Ulu places like Vietnam, Lao, Cambodia.... etc. where water doesn't runs from taps but have to carry from a well or river nearby. Want to take a bath, have to carry water yourself. No electricity, no internet, no gas stove but use of charcoal or dried branches to light fire for cooking. Where schools are just a row huts joining together with a black board and few tables & chairs.

The hardwork of farmers working in the field tending to vegetables and later harvest some vegetables for a meal. This are more meaningful values for our kids to appreciate from what they have at present in Singapore. Our kids had been growing in comfort of a home where everythings is within reach or by touch of a button.

My deepest condolences and sympathies to the families who had lost their loved ones.

It's really a sad Monday.

:that-dood-is-up-to-something::that-dood-is-up-to-something::that-dood-is-up-to-something:

Think such a "mission" like this has different take-aways e.g,

Goal setting - begin with the end in mind.

how to work towards your goal

Work ethics

Etc

i thk u shld b comparing 12yr olds to 12yr olds, regardless of generation. In the 60-70s, do u thk ure parents wld have agreed to letting u go climb Mt KK at 12yrs? Its different frm going downstairs to n playing catching...

in the 60's the only big world i knew was across the causeway! , Going to KL or Ipoh by train was a luxury for my parents, the world has become smaller now of course , I must accept.

My Son has the same reaction when my Sister In Law visits ...

Sapinggi, who leaves behind a wife and six-month-old son, was himself an avid traveller like many of those he guided up the sacred mountain.

6 month old son :TT_TT:

teachers used their bodies to shield the students

and some MF can still comment that the teachers only want to go to enjoy free holidays [thumbsdown]

Edited by Othello