Cordless power tool system - which one ?

Kklee

53 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

OK, thanks all for your input. Much appreciated.

In summary, I can still use my makita for normal woodwork/driving requirements BUT not actual drilling into walls. 

From Fcw75's link, i found this.
I'm thinking of just getting this corded Bosch GSB-10 RE impact drill.
Its cheap, contains all the stuff i need (masonry bits etc) for very occasional drilling into wall. And since it's just within my own home, corded is not a liability. 
Any downsides?
https://shopee.sg/BOSCH-GSB-10-RE-IMPACT-DRILL-DRIVER-HAMMER-DRILL-DRILL-DRIVER-ROTARY-HAMMER-COMES-WITH-100-PIECES-ACCESSORIES-i.172046904.7949779572

https://www.bosch-pt.com.sg/sg/en/products/gsb-10-re-06012161C0

Corded is the only true option for those who use it infrequently, and usually at home where you can easily get power point.

Battery ones if you put it around for couple of years, by the time you want to use, you have to go buy new battery.

Usually I recommend the heavy duty dual handle models... price is not much more and it definitely can go thru any concrete you can find.

Also get a long extension power cable. I made my own using a single gang socket and a long 2m length of old wall fan cable.

30 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

maybe an ingco rotary hammer then...
https://www.horme.com.sg/product.aspx?id=15158

Don't want to spend too much on something infrequently used. 

imo, that's a good choice, a cheap rotary hammer from ingco.

I'd skip the even cheaper chinese brands, never know the quality and how long they last.

As for normal hammer drills, I just have bad experience. I started with 550W, I thought not enough power, bought 2 more 600W, then 650W, until I gave up. Then I ask my workshop fren and he says no problem drilling concrete, only 650W. Then I realized it's a Makita rotary hammer, not the regular hammer drill, that's why no problem drilling concrete !

The difference between using a normal hammer drill and a rotary hammer is the size of the hammer. The former is like using a small hammer, the latter is like using a sledge hammer.

Edited by Kb27

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

OK, thanks all for your input. Much appreciated.

In summary, I can still use my makita for normal woodwork/driving requirements BUT not actual drilling into walls. 

From Fcw75's link, i found this.
I'm thinking of just getting this corded Bosch GSB-10 RE impact drill.
Its cheap, contains all the stuff i need (masonry bits etc) for very occasional drilling into wall. And since it's just within my own home, corded is not a liability. 
Any downsides?
https://shopee.sg/BOSCH-GSB-10-RE-IMPACT-DRILL-DRIVER-HAMMER-DRILL-DRILL-DRIVER-ROTARY-HAMMER-COMES-WITH-100-PIECES-ACCESSORIES-i.172046904.7949779572

https://www.bosch-pt.com.sg/sg/en/products/gsb-10-re-06012161C0

The chuck is the very old fashion type needing the chuck key....

A corded hammer drill is fine if all you want to do is to mount shelves, or mount pictures occasionally. Up to 3/8" dia and 2in deep, I have done many with my B&D impact drill with masonry drill bit. Rotary hammer is needed if you intend to drill many many large dia deep holes. Like those through holes needed to run piping through, or to fit an eye-mount for ceiling fans.

Actually, if mount on ceiling or heavy weights, it is better to use those that fire a bolt using propellant cartridge e.g. from Hilti. 

OTOH, a powerful screwdriver is a  very useful tool if you want to preserve your wrist and elbow. Or when need to screw at an awkward handle.   

58 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

You probably don't need a rotary. The bits are also more expensive. So far I only used mine for 2 jobs each time drilling THROUGH about 15cm walls or thicker. One was actually coring 30mm plus hole). I think I used up more than 2 batteries of 4AH!  They are 12V Fuel brushless. No point getting 18V - heavier, more expensive and like using cleaver to kill a chicken. 

bro, 12V bo lat lah.... min is 18v better if 40v.

i used my makita 18V rotary with a 10mm diameter 400mm long bit to drill a casted drain concrete to prevent water ponding. battery still enough. 18V 3.0Ah batt.

rotary bits arent that ex. buy 5mm and maybe 10mm bits can last long long time. i refuse to use a non rotary for brick or concrete now. puny chuck impact... 😁

Edited by Mkl22

48 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

imo, that's a good choice, a cheap rotary hammer from ingco.

I'd skip the even cheaper chinese brands, never know the quality and how long they last.

As for normal hammer drills, I just have bad experience. I started with 550W, I thought not enough power, bought 2 more 600W, then 650W, until I gave up. Then I ask my workshop fren and he says no problem drilling concrete, only 650W. Then I realized it's a Makita rotary hammer, not the regular hammer drill, that's why no problem drilling concrete !

The difference between using a normal hammer drill and a rotary hammer is the size of the hammer. The former is like using a small hammer, the latter is like using a sledge hammer.

ya. i had to crank the chuck to clamp on to the bit harder for a impact hammer. waste time. rotary for the win. prices of rotary drills have all come down now. i initially thought it was overkill too, till one experiences the ease of drilling a hole with it. a total breeze.

i sometimes hear my neighbors taking forever to drill a single hole. likely it is with an impact drill.

55 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

bro, 12V bo lat lah.... min is 18v better if 40v.

i used my makita 18V rotary with a 10mm diameter 400mm long bit to drill a casted drain concrete to prevent water ponding. battery still enough. 18V 3.0Ah batt.

rotary bits arent that ex. buy 5mm and maybe 10mm bits can last long long time. i refuse to use a non rotary for brick or concrete now. puny chuck impact... 😁

My Milwauke 12V Fuel can liao..... 15 cm deep v 30mm plus diameter hole (took a while because awkward position) . Other time just use the lighter impact drill driver (M12 Fuel). Even that is too powerful for screws. I use another cheap Taobao weaker one for screws and small jobs. For heavy screwing (doesn't sound too right) I switch to impact driver. And there are still a corded and another cordless one in my store! 

Edited by Volvobrick

2 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

My Milwauke 12V Fuel can liao..... 15 cm deep v 30mm plus diameter hole (took a while because awkward position) . Other time just use the lighter impact drill driver (M12 Fuel). Even that is too powerful for screws. I use another cheap Taobao weaker one for screws and small jobs. 

Ah Milwaukee then different. Premium tool. I entered the eco system many years back and locally no Milwaukee. Anyway all my makita tools are bought from eBay USA. Even batteries. Locally so ex! 

Must see what you need it for la, no need so excessive.

Lala81 probably need it to drill screw to hang photo and all the minor stuff. I predict he will barely use it after that.

He’s a doctor, probably use a pen much more often than a rotary drill. 🤣

1 minute ago, Fcw75 said:

Must see what you need it for la, no need so excessive.

Lala81 probably need it to drill screw to hang photo and all the minor stuff. I predict he will barely use it after that.

He’s a doctor, probably use a pen much more often than a rotary drill. 🤣

Yeah not like we have to do rough job..... 

He only needs his pen to mark the spot and get someone to drill. 

Edited by Volvobrick

2 hours ago, Lala81 said:

maybe an ingco rotary hammer then...
https://www.horme.com.sg/product.aspx?id=15158

Don't want to spend too much on something infrequently used. 

I have something like this.. it works, just that the SDS ones cut through like a hot blade through butter... but just lean into it, that's what my teacher said at a course I attended...

6 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

My Milwauke 12V Fuel can liao..... 15 cm deep v 30mm plus diameter hole (took a while because awkward position) . Other time just use the lighter impact drill driver (M12 Fuel). Even that is too powerful for screws. I use another cheap Taobao weaker one for screws and small jobs. For heavy screwing (doesn't sound too right) I switch to impact driver. And there are still a corded and another cordless one in my store! 

I only have the 1/4" driver Fuel. Yeah, damn powerful, even for a 12V.

But now I use the ratchet.

I bought all my MIlwaukee from ebay and Amazon, local supplier is very expensive.

6 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

I only have the 1/4" driver Fuel. Yeah, damn powerful, even for a 12V.

But now I use the ratchet.

I bought all my MIlwaukee from ebay and Amazon, local supplier is very expensive.

I bought in Bolehland..... One whole set 4 tools plus 2 x 4AH batteries for around 500 plus SGD. That's how I ended up with a rotary drill and a reciprocating saw. I only wanted the small drill...

PS friend bought on lelong.my and I collected it in his JB spare apartment. 

Edited by Volvobrick

23 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Yeah not like we have to do rough job..... 

He only needs his pen to mark the spot and get someone to drill. 

hahaha honestly i can just get my ID to do it. Just tasking only.

But i think some simple power tool knowledge and usage is required lah for men. Cannot be so useless, everything also pass to handyman to do.
I hate plumbing, so that one no issues, i won't touch, hire plumber to fix. 

And i also want to maximize hanging space in my new place. Anything on the ground attracts my dog's fur. Dam irritated by it. 

9 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

But i think some simple power tool knowledge and usage is required lah for men. Cannot be so useless, everything also pass to handyman to do.

And i also want to maximize hanging space in my new place. Anything on the ground attracts my dog's fur. Dam irritated by it. 

if you are only hanging photo frame, just use this will do.

https://www.horme.com.sg/product.aspx?id=7372

I've used this mainly on the ikea photo frame. Even those medium size ribba also no problem. 

16 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Last time, my walls are empty, now many are filled with brackets, shelves, cabinets. Get the ingco rotary hammer and have fun. [:p]