New JC named Eunoia

Kamikaze89

Trinity JC sounds better.

trinity got some christian significance. I guess not easy to pick a completely neutral name.

Uh...

Then Jurong JC should change name to Corporation JC since the address is 800 corporation road?

If you look at the map, the new JC is right beside Marymount road.

JJC general premise within Jurong which is the general location. Common sense.

As for that new Atas JC, it will be build on an existing golf range which is closing today just to make way.

Asiaone (Jan 2014) Closure of range blow to golfers

Wanna guess what's the address where the new JC will be build on ?

Nature Park Golf Driving Range, 601 Sin Ming Avenue 575734

http://www.streetdirectory.com/sg/nature-park-golf-driving-range/601-sin-ming-avenue-575734/44894_103141.html

sin_ming.jpg

trinity got some christian significance. I guess not easy to pick a completely neutral name.

It's made up of 3 Catholic feeder schools, so there is already some religious aspect to it.

Analyze so much, end up Eunoia (you know ah)...

It's made up of 3 Catholic feeder schools, so there is already some religious aspect to it.

true.

Well...

who wants to put their kid in a completely new school?

Not me.

JJC general premise within Jurong which is the general location. Common sense.

As for that new Atas JC, it will be build on an existing golf range which is closing today just to make way.

Asiaone (Jan 2014) Closure of range blow to golfers

http://www.streetdirectory.com/sg/nature-park-golf-driving-range/601-sin-ming-avenue-575734/44894_103141.html

sin_ming.jpg

actually Thomson JC sounds alright

1. it's located near Upper Thomson Road

2. Thomson was a pioneer who contributed much to Singapore

3. Thomson is ang moh mia, also sounds atas

Trinity JC sounds better.

Sin Ming JC better since the location is already well known, and not counting the nearby famous 光明山庙 has similar tone "ming".

When people waan go for prayer at Sin Ming, people will know liao.

15433750634_936d313390.jpg

actually Thomson JC sounds alright

1. it's located near Upper Thomson Road

2. Thomson was a pioneer who contributed much to Singapore

3. Thomson is ang moh mia, also sounds atas

Too bad, apparently "Thomson" does not sound atas enuf for MOE.

That's why that super-duper chim Greek word to make the new JC even more super~Atas.

It is like some people like to given themselve fantantic sounding angmoh name to be "高人一等"

Seems like that Atas School board chairmen is sticking to his gun.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/education/eunoia-still-a-meaningful-choice-for-singapores-newest-jc-school-board

SINGAPORE - Amid the scrutiny that Singapore's newest junior college has been under in the last two days since its name was unveiled, some people have defended the name, saying it is a meaningful choice for the school.

Reverend Father Henry Siew, chairman of the school management committee of Catholic High School, told The Straits Times on Wednesday (Dec 30) that "Eunoia" is a "good name" because of its meaning: To have a sound mind and goodwill.

The word has Greek origins and means "beautiful thinking" and "goodwill towards others".

"It may not be a familiar word and it's Greek, but it reflects the world view that we want our students to have as leaders," said Rev Siew, who was consulted in the naming process.

bc1530_fdb9631645b64901a785acce87d5fea6.

For an elitist school they put so much emphasis on naming it. For a neighbourhood school I doubt anyone will bother coz "every school is a good school". [grin]

Some schools are MORE EQUAL than other schools - Welcome to our Animal Farm...

Since when is SCGS catholic?

Then we shld call it Driving Range JC. 

Heck, got Rifle Range Road so why not?

Let's call a spade a spade. Simi greek you know-I know rubbish?

Then we shld call it Driving Range JC.  Heck, got Rifle Range Road so why not?

Let's call a spade a spade. Simi greek you know-I know rubbish?

Don't know leh...but for some atas-elite schools, I know some have golf as one of their CCA curriculum.

One of the guy involved in the naming process did mention he wanted the new school to make future leaders like that.

Seems like that Atas School board chairmen is sticking to his gun.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/education/eunoia-still-a-meaningful-choice-for-singapores-newest-jc-school-board

SINGAPORE - Amid the scrutiny that Singapore's newest junior college has been under in the last two days since its name was unveiled, some people have defended the name, saying it is a meaningful choice for the school.

Reverend Father Henry Siew, chairman of the school management committee of Catholic High School, told The Straits Times on Wednesday (Dec 30) that "Eunoia" is a "good name" because of its meaning: To have a sound mind and goodwill.

The word has Greek origins and means "beautiful thinking" and "goodwill towards others".

"It may not be a familiar word and it's Greek, but it reflects the world view that we want our students to have as leaders," said Rev Siew, who was consulted in the naming process.

bc1530_fdb9631645b64901a785acce87d5fea6.

Some schools are MORE EQUAL than other schools - Welcome to our Animal Farm...

This one confirm + chop PAP JC. :D

Zeus more power, got lightning you know ahh?

Zeus JC [grin]

Darth Vader JC.

Welcome to the dark side.

It's college Day set on May the 4th - May the Force be with you.

hm.... so its a catholic madrasah now?