Mustank Hypersonic January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 hahhaha...its the truth bro same ....made 15k when i sold my porsche cos of rising coe....haha wah!!! you still make!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 wah!!! you still make!!! lucky that cos owner desp to sell, so priced down, then coe chiong like hell.....then sadly let go lo, but got a tidy profit 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 lucky that cos owner desp to sell, so priced down, then coe chiong like hell.....then sadly let go lo, but got a tidy profit sad meh? drive new car and get paid to do so sell before problems set in sounds like bliss to me ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 actually that's what happened to my uncle, by chance one when he was young, he bought a car then coe cheong until madness he sold off the car at zero loss, as if he drove it around for free for a couple of years he told me that was really a fluke in a lifetime! indeed once in a lifetime i think i will never see another similar situation in Singapore for the rest of my life Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 Very determine guy. No matter how, at all cost, the car stays. Such passion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 indeed once in a lifetime i think i will never see another similar situation in Singapore for the rest of my life I got one friend, his dad gave him his old mercs I ask him his coe how much he told me his one no coe one donno he got snooke me or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jg2000 4th Gear January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 (edited) Aiya those cars u all mention I also know they r good. What I meant are simple cars ard 90k , and how come no one talk about Chevrolet sonic lol General Motor (i.e Chevrolet etc) car quality generally not as good as Japanese, Pure Korean and even Ford (esp. European Ford). For same cost car, safer to get one of the others. Chances are better of having less problem (but in the end, some aspect of luck still there). The other advice is don't buy brand new model that is less than one year old. Nowadays, cars very complicated (lots of electronics and software to save costs since electronics cheaper than hydraulic/mechanical parts) and with software which IT professionals know is never 100% bug-free, Hence, let others debug your car for the first year. My own $90K budget favourites are Note and Attrage from space and japanese engineering plus AD support perspective without caring too much about engine power. (AD support to me important as all the car manufacturers have recalls nowadays so good chance will need good after-sales support for this. If want PI car, then need to see how they do the after-sales support. Some tie up with larger company to do the warranty so may be safer to go with those PIs). Edited January 6, 2016 by jg2000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jungus 4th Gear January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 hahhaha...its the truth bro same ....made 15k when i sold my porsche cos of rising coe....haha Well, it was never a Porsche for me but only a brand new Ford Laser. Drove it for 2 years and sold for 10k profit. Used it for my overseas education. Also owned a 9 year old Sunny once for 13k and scrapped it for 13k a year later... Then again, my recent COE was 70k. I suppose it's like gambling; you never really win! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 General Motor (i.e Chevrolet etc) car quality generally not as good as Japanese, Pure Korean and even Ford (esp. European Ford). For same cost car, safer to get one of the others. Chances are better of having less problem (but in the end, some aspect of luck still there). The other advice is don't buy brand new model that is less than one year old. Nowadays, cars very complicated (lots of electronics and software to save costs since electronics cheaper than hydraulic/mechanical parts) and with software which IT professionals know is never 100% bug-free, Hence, let others debug your car for the first year. My own $90K budget favourites are Note and Attrage from space and japanese engineering plus AD support perspective without caring too much about engine power. (AD support to me important as all the car manufacturers have recalls nowadays so good chance will need good after-sales support for this. If want PI car, then need to see how they do the after-sales support. Some tie up with larger company to do the warranty so may be safer to go with those PIs). don't let cheefarn spot this line ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 (edited) Dude, Cant say that i disagree with your main points but your first sentence can be rude. Noone's life is cheap even in China pls..., there are millions there can buy posh cars that i wouldn't afford. The guy who share his experience on Geely is part of the older MIC cars that has very low depreciation, i think they have improve a lot (those non-copy cat manufacturer) tho i won't get one honestly... Here some people are getting Mobilio because its a "Honda", in Indo its a budget car about 20k that meant for Indo, India market, a very light car to ferry 7 ppl..safety quality may differ much from other PI Honda models that we see on the road. One of B&B car that has decent safety feature is Impreza. Most of us wouldn't consider one because of the look, design, pick-up, FC are inferior to other makes, but in-term of practical & safety, it is pretty good actually. I would say even in SG, safety priority still lower than FC/pick-up concern. Way to go .. Life is not cheap in china? I'm saying there is a very weak culture on consumer and general safety in China. Who cares if u die? The Chinese govt/regulators has another 1.2999999999 billion mouths to house/govern/take care of. The chinese can be exceedingly wealthy. Car/Road safety in India is beyond horrid. more than 100,000 people die on india roads yearly. The ethics/morality in chinese companies is weak due to a legacy of rapid modernisation and the cultural revolution. With time it will improve. If the takata episode happened in china, i think maybe take 30 years to dig up. Edited January 6, 2016 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear January 6, 2016 Author Share January 6, 2016 General Motor (i.e Chevrolet etc) car quality generally not as good as Japanese, Pure Korean and even Ford (esp. European Ford). For same cost car, safer to get one of the others. Chances are better of having less problem (but in the end, some aspect of luck still there). The other advice is don't buy brand new model that is less than one year old. Nowadays, cars very complicated (lots of electronics and software to save costs since electronics cheaper than hydraulic/mechanical parts) and with software which IT professionals know is never 100% bug-free, Hence, let others debug your car for the first year. My own $90K budget favourites are Note and Attrage from space and japanese engineering plus AD support perspective without caring too much about engine power. (AD support to me important as all the car manufacturers have recalls nowadays so good chance will need good after-sales support for this. If want PI car, then need to see how they do the after-sales support. Some tie up with larger company to do the warranty so may be safer to go with those PIs). The plastic interior of note really cmi. I'm hoping to buy a car around $60k and this chance might be coming. There is one gentleman over here. Who bought attrage at $84k and that's before this coe bidding. Now it could be selling for ard $75k?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 (edited) will dealer cut $9k since coe drop $9k? I'm hoping to buy a car around $60k and this chance might be coming. There is one gentleman over here. Who bought attrage at $84k and that's before this coe bidding.Now it could be selling for ard $75k?? Edited January 6, 2016 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear January 6, 2016 Author Share January 6, 2016 will dealer cut $9k since coe drop $9k? Now I think is the buyer market.Dealers have to drop their price if not most Singaporeans will wait for COE to drop further Specially those used car dealers, try sell their aweful looking Toyota vios with a dep of $14k lo, I see which kang gong kia will buy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 will dealer cut $9k since coe drop $9k? Yes, they will cut their offer price for your trade in and say bcos COE drop 9k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 Now I think is the buyer market. Dealers have to drop their price if not most Singaporeans will wait for COE to drop further Specially those used car dealers, try sell their aweful looking Toyota vios with a dep of $14k lo, I see which kang gong kia will buy Sometimes i don't blame the dealers for shouting Vios or Altis to $14k dep in used market. Bcos there is demand and demand push up prices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear January 6, 2016 Author Share January 6, 2016 Sometimes i don't blame the dealers for shouting Vios or Altis to $14k dep in used market. Bcos there is demand and demand push up prices.I have a very bad impression with these ppl. They make use of the high COE price to increase they price then ironically both the seller and buyer blame PAP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 6, 2016 Share January 6, 2016 What may be low value and affordable NOW may not be in the future We’ve often received stories about people (or friends of people) that sank into a snowball of debts after overbuying with their credit cards or their payslips. However, this single story stood out, because he isn’t bankrupt, and he looked perfectly successful in front of others, but deep inside him, he’s struggling just because of a car. Johnny (may or may not be his real name) worked in a local bank when he graduated from university, and admitted that he had a few job offers even before he graduated. His starting pay was relatively high: at more than $4,500, he earned more than his peers and was set for a debt-free life. In the first few months of his work, he had some sort of “culture shock”: when he was schooling, he gave private tuition and was earning about $600 a month. All of a sudden, that ballooned to $3,600 (after his CPF deduction)—that’s way too much for him to handle all of a sudden! He applied for almost all the credit cards that promoters in MRT stations offered to him—one by one, he received tens of credit cards and was feeling “rich” from the credit limit given to him. In fact, he thought he had become “$100,000 richer” simply because everyone was so willing to loan him money. But the trouble didn’t start from those plastic cards. It started when he decided to buy a car. During that time, it was still possible to buy a car with $0—all they needed was his payslip and ta-da: he could walk away with a brand new car, having only to fulfil the monthly instalment. But here’s the thing: the monthly instalment must be fulfilled, because failing which, he would lose a reasonable amount of money. Johnny got a BMW (he didn’t specify which model) and paid $1,000++ every month for the monthly instalment. All was good (not very, but to him, it was)—with him earning $3,600, he could still survive on a $1,000++ monthly expenses. But a few years later, he lost his job. We’re not sure whether he was retrenched or fired, but even when he lost his job, he couldn’t let go of his car. He claimed that the monthly instalment must still be fulfilled, or he’ll lose “tens of thousands of dollars”. The first thing he did was to find a job—fast. He got one as an executive in a financial institution, but the take-home pay of about $2,000 was just enough to pay for his instalment, petrol and maintenance. Then he admitted something: he could have let go of his car and pay his debts slowly. But he didn’t want to—because his friends, family members and everyone around him knew him as the successful banker who drove a BMW. He would rather eat instant noodles and bread than to lose his only status symbol that was “keeping him alive”. It has been a few years now, and with him drawing only $2,000++ and paying $2,000 for his car monthly, his concern now is what would happen next year (2017), when the COE of his car expires. He won’t have enough to renew the COE or buy a new car. Well, when he posed the question in his email, he replied to it himself: “What were I thinking?’ Seriously…Johnny, all we can say is that you’re not alone, and thank you for sharing your story, because it really showed us that the latest policies about car ownership have helped people and not harm others. After all, the moral of the story is simple: don’t buy a big hat if you’ve got a small head. Its ok Johnny. There is a good chance COE will fall in 2016 and he can renew his COE. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged January 7, 2016 Share January 7, 2016 The plastic interior of note really cmi. I'm hoping to buy a car around $60k and this chance might be coming. There is one gentleman over here. Who bought attrage at $84k and that's before this coe bidding. Now it could be selling for ard $75k?? Attrage's new price is out liao.. only dropped 3k to $80k.. guess dealers are anticipating the next COE to go up.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...