Acemundo Supercharged February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 second that. I have done that for interview with transport company, contract manufacturer company and 1 more I cannot recall the industry. and those interviews were between 2002-2004 no need to be in F&B, many interviewer could be flying in to conduct interview for local staff, hence easier for them to do it in casual environment rather than in the office. Some time they may even want to avoid to be seen in the local office for conducting interview. I was ever interviewed by my pri school classmate, no thanks to the 2 years lag due to ns. my brother also worked for his female course mate in poly before. hmm. was having a chat with a friend on this topic. and he was telling me that he was just interviewed by a guy that was his junior in his first job. in fact, he was his mentor when he came in. now 10 year later. he is his boss's boss. then he got sibei emo. ask himself, where did he go wrong.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IDrago 3rd Gear February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 your fren dont be so emo lah that is life some people are good and will climb fast.. some people are crap but will also climb higher some people are talented but can be stuck in a dead end job as long as you do your job properly, happy at work and good relationship with colleagues, make enough money to be comfortable, have good health and happy family, that's good enough for me my junior, or whatever do much better then me, i will be happy for them too Actually to be honest, I will also be damn depress if I am that friend. One's career depends on a lot of factors but its still up to individuals to play the game right to progress. Or die fighting. Perhaps, I am a very prideful person myself, pride makes a man, but conversely, it kills you when you are down. I believe his friend will be even more depress if he falls flat on everything else (looks, personal assets, family, characteristics, job potential, etc) But that's just life, pick himself up and continue fighting lor, he is still in the race and the finishing line is not even in sight yet unless he is close to retirement. If that's the case, he can amass his contacts and build a successful business that will outshine his ex mentee. Or if he doesn't have the fighting spirit, he can go to the drink stall and ask for a straw... Really. True statement bro. Luck and 人缘 counts much much more than hard work and IQ. haha, actually EQ is more important that IQ unless a person is really below normal IQ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 Perhaps, I am a very prideful person myself, pride makes a man, but conversely, it kills you when you are down. I believe his friend will be even more depress if he falls flat on everything else (looks, personal assets, family, characteristics, job potential, etc) I got pride too. I am proud of the fact that I earn enough to feed my family, no need to work too hard, have time to exercise every day, can get home by 6 pm and take a short nap before dinner, have time to spend with my kids, no need to work on weekends, very little stress etc. There are other high-flyers who are much younger than me, who have risen above me. But it does not bother me. To each his own. These guys/girls work 8.30 am till 9 pm - they go home, have a late dinner, go to sleep and then the cycle starts again. That kind of life is not for me. I have other priorities. But my subordinates who want to chiong, I will help them. In fact, I have helped emplaced 2 ex-staff somewhere else where they have more room for progression. Both are doing very well and I am happy for them. They too, are grateful for what I have done for them. Although they have risen above me in terms of pay, job titles etc. they still call me "boss" whenever we meet. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 24, 2016 Author Share February 24, 2016 White flower is in appreciation of his work to get more customers. need more flowers like that :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IDrago 3rd Gear February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 I got pride too. I am proud of the fact that I earn enough to feed my family, no need to work too hard, have time to exercise every day, can get home by 6 pm and take a short nap before dinner, have time to spend with my kids, no need to work on weekends, very little stress etc. There are other high-flyers who are much younger than me, who have risen above me. But it does not bother me. To each his own. These guys/girls work 8.30 am till 9 pm - they go home, have a late dinner, go to sleep and then the cycle starts again. That kind of life is not for me. I have other priorities. But my subordinates who want to chiong, I will help them. In fact, I have helped emplaced 2 ex-staff somewhere else where they have more room for progression. Both are doing very well and I am happy for them. They too, are grateful for what I have done for them. Although they have risen above me in terms of pay, job titles etc. they still call me "boss" whenever we meet. Different individuals have their own level of perceived satisfaction which is shaped by past experiences and exposures in life. End of the day, extremely prideful people will always end up extremely successful, extremely miserable or extremely delusional. Do agree that you are leading a very holistic lifestyle and that "sweet science" will come if one is willing to fight and never give up. I have an NS buddy whom I am really proud off.. This guy (pardon me if you are reading this bro) is like roaches on riods!! He never gives up!! Started a couple of business ventures and failed and started again.. From a humble Subaru TS, he drove a 5ser a couple of years later and now owns a lambo .. Best part, he goes to work at 11, and leaves office by what.. 3?? And he is a self made man!! Proud of you too, to have mentored people in total good faith who have transcended you.. But personally, I have seen other cases whereby the now more successful subordinate meets his ex bosses for catch ups and calling them "boss" with a smirk in their faces.. and to be honest, no man should be subjected to that kind of siao kians.. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 hmm. was having a chat with a friend on this topic. and he was telling me that he was just interviewed by a guy that was his junior in his first job. in fact, he was his mentor when he came in. now 10 year later. he is his boss's boss. then he got sibei emo. ask himself, where did he go wrong.... yeah. like other MCFers said. nothing went wrong. He shld be proud of his junior. Important part of successful management practice is to help your team people succeed in their own goals. If the manager can coach and train the team members to succeed and move on, he's considered as a good manager and motivator. Be careful of any manager or boss when they say they prefer their people not to resign and to stay put where they are. These are the most bloody selfish bosses in the world and never work for them. Because if you do, then you yourself are stuck in your job for life with no progression or goals to aim. I myself don't expect my team members to stay in the same job forever. I would expect them to work for few years and leave. Those who want to stay forever are the ones I should be careful of...... 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 I got one moment, the interview went well but both interviewer and myself come to an understanding that I will not be taking up the job as I am not interested and the position requires much more experience than I had. It was an interview which my fren arranged for me at her company. Then few months later, this company became one of my company's vendor. The very same interviewer, an ang mo, came to my office and had project discussion with my boss!!! An this ang mo told my boss that I went to their company for the interview!!! Chao ang mo!!! My boss(ang mo also) spoke to me after that and asked if I was not happy with my current position. I told him that it was arranged by a fren and I had no intention to jump ship. Just looking at the market. He accepted and made a call to that ang mo in front of me and tell that ang mo that I am not interested in the job offer!!! Sibei steady....................me been working for him till now, 11.5yrs liao. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 My boss(ang mo also) spoke to me after that and asked if I was not happy with my current position. I told him that it was arranged by a fren and I had no intention to jump ship. Just looking at the market. He accepted and made a call to that ang mo in front of me and tell that ang mo that I am not interested in the job offer!!! Sibei steady....................me been working for him till now, 11.5yrs liao. your boss more sounds like sibei insecure 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 Maybe the AM totally cho boh and tao nao kang kang one. So, if Adrian resigned, hoh kan liao. your boss more sounds like sibei insecure Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 I got one moment, the interview went well but both interviewer and myself come to an understanding that I will not be taking up the job as I am not interested and the position requires much more experience than I had. It was an interview which my fren arranged for me at her company. Then few months later, this company became one of my company's vendor. The very same interviewer, an ang mo, came to my office and had project discussion with my boss!!! An this ang mo told my boss that I went to their company for the interview!!! Chao ang mo!!! My boss(ang mo also) spoke to me after that and asked if I was not happy with my current position. I told him that it was arranged by a fren and I had no intention to jump ship. Just looking at the market. He accepted and made a call to that ang mo in front of me and tell that ang mo that I am not interested in the job offer!!! Sibei steady....................me been working for him till now, 11.5yrs liao. we have to know that world is very small now. Who you meet now will come back in another way in the future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 your boss more sounds like sibei insecure Becos during the formation years of my company, I am the only kah kia. Its only him, his secretary and a naval architect. So rest of the work done by me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IDrago 3rd Gear February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 I got one moment, the interview went well but both interviewer and myself come to an understanding that I will not be taking up the job as I am not interested and the position requires much more experience than I had. It was an interview which my fren arranged for me at her company. Then few months later, this company became one of my company's vendor. The very same interviewer, an ang mo, came to my office and had project discussion with my boss!!! An this ang mo told my boss that I went to their company for the interview!!! Chao ang mo!!! My boss(ang mo also) spoke to me after that and asked if I was not happy with my current position. I told him that it was arranged by a fren and I had no intention to jump ship. Just looking at the market. He accepted and made a call to that ang mo in front of me and tell that ang mo that I am not interested in the job offer!!! Sibei steady....................me been working for him till now, 11.5yrs liao. You damn heng!! lol ..teo tua!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 we have to know that world is very small now. Who you meet now will come back in another way in the future. yup...and for me, quite naturally all will come look for me...sooner or later..cannot run wan....hahahahahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 yup...and for me, quite naturally all will come look for me...sooner or later..cannot run wan....hahahahahah then u better be a good boy to everyone. if not, they will come back to you pretty angry.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 then u better be a good boy to everyone. if not, they will come back to you pretty angry.... lol....nehmai, that month i go away for holiday....hahhaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 But personally, I have seen other cases whereby the now more successful subordinate meets his ex bosses for catch ups and calling them "boss" with a smirk in their faces.. and to be honest, no man should be subjected to that kind of siao kians.. lol Then the boss probably did not know his people well ... that they should have turned out like that. Agree with you that no man should be subjected to that kind of mockery. Thankfully my ex-staff are still very grateful and respectful and I know they appreciate what I have done for them. They never fail to thank me, after all these years. I once joked that they should give me their first born child. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L23 6th Gear February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 yah lor....that is why ppl never happy...compare this compare that.....i still like my fav example.... Who tell you that !! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lausai88 Hypersonic February 24, 2016 Share February 24, 2016 it's ok, if you bigger, you WILL go sooner....hahha. You cannot have them all... if smaller (see below), we can live longer --- radx says one ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...