Worst interview moment?

Runforyourlife

Worst interview moment may not the worst situation. I feel that if you invite someone over for an interview, it is just being professional to conduct the interview professionally even if you find him/her not suitable.

I also cannot understand why some organization fix an appointment then make that person wait for so long.

HR practioner and those tasked to conduct interviews also have to remember their profession. The fact that you work for someone, you are also being interviewed too.

Ah, i can kinda explain why, even though when u have estimated the time for the interview, there is always some candidates who insist to continue with the interview until they feel certain that u are going to give them the job... 

i meet one myself previously when i told the candidate that we will get back to them with the result by the end of the week, the candidate then keep on wanting us to continue with the interview if we have any doubts on her capabilities...  In the end, sometimes, interviews might be dragged on for some reasons that we might not have expected...

Ah, i can kinda explain why, even though when u have estimated the time for the interview, there is always some candidates who insist to continue with the interview until they feel certain that u are going to give them the job...

i meet one myself previously when i told the candidate that we will get back to them with the result by the end of the week, the candidate then keep on wanting us to continue with the interview if we have any doubts on her capabilities... In the end, sometimes, interviews might be dragged on for some reasons that we might not have expected...

i can understand if this is a mass recruitment and chances are you will have a group of staff attending to them.

for higher position, i would generally not arrange for back to back interviews. i also dont want the interviewees to bump into each other. afterall the market is quite small.

i meet one myself previously when i told the candidate that we will get back to them with the result by the end of the week, the candidate then keep on wanting us to continue with the interview if we have any doubts on her capabilities...  In the end, sometimes, interviews might be dragged on for some reasons that we might not have expected...

Wah. This is like forcing you to interview them ah.

So have you actually hired someone after they forced you?

went for quite a few...

3rd / 4th rounds, thought ho say liao.... end up, they decide to KIV hiring. :omg:

Then, there're some like companies which after the interview, I wish and pray that I won't get the job. [:p]

the worst (i feel) is when attended 2nd or 3rd interview still didnt get the job

like those competition only subaru challenge, only 1 winner. 2nd person suay siao..endured all the way still got nothing 

true for 99.9%

some lucky ones, chio sexcretary hired by company to do nothing just bai swee in office

Wah. This is like forcing you to interview them ah.

So have you actually hired someone after they forced you?

Lol, of cos not, what if u hire them and after that, they sit in my office every day till their demands are met? [;)]

i can understand if this is a mass recruitment and chances are you will have a group of staff attending to them.

for higher position, i would generally not arrange for back to back interviews. i also dont want the interviewees to bump into each other. afterall the market is quite small.

This is true, nah, we are a small company and have limited number of people in the HR dept

It's just like how some people think the more you write for an exam, the more marks you will get. There was once when I has to present during an interview, the candidate before me ate into my scheduled time by 45 minutes. Even the receptionist felt bad and kept trying to check for me. After he was done, the bugger came out still yakking to the interviewers like still trying to score last minute points.   

went for quite a few...

3rd / 4th rounds, thought ho say liao.... end up, they decide to KIV hiring. :omg:

Then, there're some like companies which after the interview, I wish and pray that I won't get the job. [:p]

They can offered the job to you, but still depends if you want to take up the offer lo. So no need pray and scare. Lol.

there's one kept hassling me even when I turned down the low ball offer! [:|]

They can offered the job to you, but still depends if you want to take up the offer lo. So no need pray and scare. Lol.

there's one kept hassling me even when I turned down the low ball offer! [:|]

Wa, the company so desperate ah?! Maybe you should bargain for a higher pay package since they are "begging" you?! Lol. 

This kind of company... give you higher salary you sure you want?

Lol, of cos not, what if u hire them and after that, they sit in my office every day till their demands are met? [;)]

This is true, nah, we are a small company and have limited number of people in the HR dept

Pretty sure there are some kinds of bosses who actually like such candidates. 

Otherwise why do you think they are like that?

He's so honest, he's said it 3 times. In case anyone missed it  [laugh]  [wave]

u repeated this story 3x already here...next time SEARCH and link lah... :XD:

All companies pretend they love employee

but what they really love is money. [thumbsup]

Very insightful [laugh]

The company loves you as long as you are able to generate profit and contribute to the bottomline for the them....

Just wait till you see how they turn into a bitch when you make them lose money... [laugh]

The labour situation here is getting colder with the newer generation of scholar being put in charge. It is purely result base and no humanity.

When high level people is telling our people to accept contract base works, it shows how bad a situation we have arrived.

Bluntly, we are telling people to work just for money?

What's wrong with working for money?

Everyday I tell my staff if our company cannot afford

to pay me I don't want to work for them anymore.

No hypocrisy from me about I love my company,

I love job etc etc.

What's wrong with working for money?

Everyday I tell my staff if our company cannot afford

to pay me I don't want to work for them anymore.

No hypocrisy from me about I love my company,

I love job etc etc.

ya...everyday i surf mcf half the work day and i effectively doubled my pay

The labour situation here is getting colder with the newer generation of scholar being put in charge. It is purely result base and no humanity.

When high level people is telling our people to accept contract base works, it shows how bad a situation we have arrived.

Bluntly, we are telling people to work just for money?

I disagree. Why not step back and look at the bigger picture?

Why high level people are doing this? I tell you why. It's becos the clients give them the budget otherwise they will go to your competitors who can not only meet their budget but also the expectations. The day the business loses clients it also the day workers have to go. It's as simple as that.

We do not live in a world where workers call the shots. We got to realise that. Businesses got to adapt on whatever's that's changing. You cannot just sit back and look only from the workers' point of view and comment.

Very insightful [laugh]

The company loves you as long as you are able to generate profit and contribute to the bottomline for the them....

Just wait till you see how they turn into a bitch when you make them lose money... [laugh]

Here praise you