Darthrevan Supercharged April 2, 2016 Share April 2, 2016 patriarch gone liao so all d bickering appear 树倒猢狲散 墙倒众人推 破鼓万人捶 ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 2, 2016 Share April 2, 2016 Sph song Bo 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 2, 2016 Share April 2, 2016 (edited) I remembering long ago reading that when they attended some police academy course in their younger days, the trainer asked lky if he had chosen the wrong successor. . Of course impossible to verify. But one wonders. . What are the sons doing? ? Seems the daughter has more balls to speak her mind. It's easy to "have balls" and "speak your mind" when you know you're untouchable. I have far more respect for those without connections that dare to take up the cudgels for truth and the common person's interests. Anyway, even Princess is engaging in a little selective recall lah. All that stuff about "defending (one's) reputation in court" rings pretty hollow to me considering the climate here. If the powers that be truly respected an independent court's words and deeds, then certain things (that some of us older folk would have been umm.... "PRIVY" to) might've gone down very differently. I shall, of course, be no less cryptic than that about this. I hope you understand. Edited April 2, 2016 by Turboflat4 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic April 2, 2016 Share April 2, 2016 Very interesting.... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 2, 2016 Share April 2, 2016 I remembering long ago reading that when they attended some police academy course in their younger days, the trainer asked lky if he had chosen the wrong successor. . Of course impossible to verify. But one wonders. . What are the sons doing? ? Seems the daughter has more balls to speak her mind. she had from young never respected anyone else but her own views.............if she is not THE daughter you really think she will have such balls???...................have balls also depends on who is your father lah............. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 2, 2016 Share April 2, 2016 Her Limpeh is different from our Limpeh 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic April 2, 2016 Share April 2, 2016 only she can lor ... if peasant like me talk like that will end up pay damages over 30 years also ... 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Still2016 Twincharged April 2, 2016 Share April 2, 2016 It's easy to "have balls" and "speak your mind" when you know you're untouchable. I have far more respect for those without connections that dare to take up the cudgels for truth and the common person's interests. Anyway, even Princess is engaging in a little selective recall lah. All that stuff about "defending (one's) reputation in court" rings pretty hollow to me considering the climate here. If the powers that be truly respected an independent court's words and deeds, then certain things (that some of us older folk would have been umm.... "PRIVY" to) might've gone down very differently. I shall, of course, be no less cryptic than that about this. I hope you understand. Please give her some latitude. Firstly, she had a privilege life which is difficult for her to understand what peasants life or mind-set is like. Eg. If a billionaire for all his life suddenly become bankrupt and had to move from a 25000 sq feet bungalow to a rented 1 room flat. Either he goes mad or he will commit suicide. But if a peasant would be bankrupt he may have to downgrade from a 3 room flat to a 1 room flat. To the latter it is like staying in a youth hostel. Secondly, you will never see that she "have balls", that is, why she is a she. Thirdly, I believe the ruling party are extremely worried on how to move forward without LKY as most had never had the hardship of fighting for the citizens like our founding fathers. They are just being cautious and rather go with the flow that having someone from the inside pointing the obvious, that is curtail of freedom of speech. Lastly, my personal thoughts, anybody commenting on LKY, should be someone unbiased, that is, someone not related. Otherwise imagine if LKY were to assess himself, then who would believe. One thing for sure, where we are now had been largely the sacrifices of our founding fathers including LKY but too often we forget the greater sacrifice from our pioneer generation. It is easy to give 1000 dollars if you are a millionaire but for the commoner to give 1 dollar is like extracting blood. We should never forget that it is not just our leaders but our people too who have created and made what Singapore is today. I believe we are all smart enough, let Wei Ling say or write whatever she wants. If we treasure freedom of speech, then we equally have to accord her despite past history. We should move forward and stop wallowing in our past and glorify our past. It will be our stumbling block to our nation's growth. Other countries will not wait for to wallow and glorify, they will always try to be one up against us. There are so many pressing things that needed to be done, why waste time or resources on petty things like this where no consequences will come out in the end. We have MRT issues to solve, housing issues to managed, impending unemployment, terrorist, water shortage, healthcare issues and rising cost of living. 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear April 2, 2016 Share April 2, 2016 She want to become editor? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 We need to give her some slack la.. She is lky daughter, but imo, her articles over the years have been quite decent and non political. If there are any offensive articles. . I honestly haven't seen. Her article about the Mao like cult the eestablishment is building on lky is a reflection of a daughters love for her dad. If anyone's is in your opinion using your dead father in ways you disagree with. . You would speak up too right? She has a much bigger problem at home if she had to resort to using FB publicly over such a personal family issue. Interestingly, lau GOH came out to support. . 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 (edited) We need to give her some slack la.. She is lky daughter, but imo, her articles over the years have been quite decent and non political. If there are any offensive articles. . I honestly haven't seen. Her article about the Mao like cult the eestablishment is building on lky is a reflection of a daughters love for her dad. If anyone's is in your opinion using your dead father in ways you disagree with. . You would speak up too right? She has a much bigger problem at home if she had to resort to using FB publicly over such a personal family issue. Interestingly, lau GOH came out to support. . Anyway, her character is not one I trust implicitly. It's an opinion shared by some doctors I know who know her better (through past actions) than most laypersons. Edited April 3, 2016 by Turboflat4 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cosmicclaw 6th Gear April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 2nd Generation fight...first Lee vs Nair or maybe eventually Lee vs Lee ... Pinky no problem with using his lau peh's image to help him keep a hold on the population but his Sister thinks otherwise. Wonder which side will other Bro take? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 2nd Generation fight...first Lee vs Nair or maybe eventually Lee vs Lee ... Pinky no problem with using his lau peh's image to help him keep a hold on the population but his Sister thinks otherwise. Wonder which side will other Bro take? IMO - lines already drawn. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/mr-lee-kuan-yews-two-younger-children-apply-to-court-to-look-into-use-of 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 (edited) It's easy to "have balls" and "speak your mind" when you know you're untouchable. I have far more respect for those without connections that dare to take up the cudgels for truth and the common person's interests. Lee Han Shih got both balls and connections still kenna tiak from SPH. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Foundation https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/soc.culture.singapore/5ESBk23lceI Edited April 3, 2016 by Kklim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 We need to give her some slack la.. She is lky daughter, but imo, her articles over the years have been quite decent and non political. If there are any offensive articles. . I honestly haven't seen. Her article about the Mao like cult the eestablishment is building on lky is a reflection of a daughters love for her dad. If anyone's is in your opinion using your dead father in ways you disagree with. . You would speak up too right? She has a much bigger problem at home if she had to resort to using FB publicly over such a personal family issue. Interestingly, lau GOH came out to support. . Well, everyone have their own opinion and have a mind of what Singapore should be like and also Singapore future. Just that there are a lot of things somehow become political for whatever reasons that is the main problem. How to solve that? difficult sia, as long as there are different viewpoint and you all know la, human is not perfect. These kind of shit will continue to happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 Lee Han Shih got both balls and connections still kenna tiak from SPH. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Foundation https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/soc.culture.singapore/5ESBk23lceI Unfortunately for him, wrong "Lee". Wealth can give you connections. But they're never as strong as blood. I like to think of Singapore, Inc. as the largest famiLEE run business in history. Anyway, on a note intimately related to this thread topic, look at what mothership is now coming up with: http://mothership.sg/2015/04/13-signs-you-are-a-fair-weather-lee-kuan-yew-fan/ I bet they would never have dared put up such an article if they hadn't perceived that they now had "permission" because of this saga. Utterly pathetic. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 3, 2016 Share April 3, 2016 I didn't really read what she said other than her FB post. Her opinions are her own, as someone privileged to be have a voice that no one else can really shoot down. But since most of her comments are regarding social/materialism issues (and not political), it doesn't really hinder other people's freedom of speech. But agree with the personality cult thing. I thought we are mature enough to move beyond this. Remember the man is ok (like my avatar), but like what GCT said, look forward siah ... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boringchap Turbocharged April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 (edited) According to ST associate editor Ivan Fernandez, Dr Lee insisted on publishing a version of her article that contained significant sections of tex were plagiarised. The evidence presented by Ivan Fernandez looks compelling. http://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/why-dr-lees-column-was-not-published Edited April 9, 2016 by Boringchap ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...