VES 2018

Fuelsaver

http://carfueldata.direct.gov.uk/search-new-or-used-cars.aspx?vid=35900

http://carfueldata.direct.gov.uk/search-new-or-used-cars.aspx?vid=35904

One is an existing M2 and the other is New Unregistered M2

The newer is able to get -10K VES if NOx is trimmed 4mg lor.

Either the LTA officer inspecting the test did not fart that day or Mazda trimmed the ECU to pass.  Nature always find a way one.

There is however a small small price to pay for the user.  From 90PS to 75PS ........ 16.67% drop in torque only ???

Either the LTA officer inspecting the test did not fart that day or Mazda trimmed the ECU to pass. Nature always find a way one.

There is however a small small price to pay for the user. From 90PS to 75PS ........ 16.67% drop in torque only ???

Then after ves inspection reload mapping upped bhp again.. next time vehicle inspection will add new inspection criteria to check ecu mapping to avoid cheating of VES lol!

wah ... like that all vehicle must tune to “retard” mode to go in for LTA testing

after getting VES approved ... reload the ECU ... lol

Either the LTA officer inspecting the test did not fart that day or Mazda trimmed the ECU to pass. Nature always find a way one.

There is however a small small price to pay for the user. From 90PS to 75PS ........ 16.67% drop in torque only ???

That's 16.67% drop in bhp!!!!

It is harder to hack the ECU these days, the firmware is poly-morphed encrypted, a single bit change will brick the ECU lor.  By the time you figure out the keys, the ECU PCB is hardware tagged lor.

All in all just change the whole ECU will do ?? Not so fast, the pinout is slightly different lor ..... example instead of a 248 pins connector it become 265 pins lor.  The manufacturer has got that all figure out.

So you change the cable harness and ECU altogether.  Good idea, even it is very costly and you need to take the whole car apart. Then you solve the compatibility issue with Cluster display unit, the immobilizer etc......  

So you got a soup up car.  Noooo ........

LTA, I thought, tighten the vehicle inspection spec since April this year ?? In 3 years time, all these new cars will be subjected to these new ultra test spec.  It is said that the spec is so tight that even a slight mod to the engine system, you will fail lor.....

That means no more driving with a broken O2 sensor or Catalytic Convertor, fix it then test lor ........

Do you know you can ask for a STA for a report of your vehicle inspection results, you can see for yourself how dirty is your car lor.  Forget about Vicom, they say it is a state secret lor.

Ask next time you do the test, it is FREE !!! I love FREE things ......

So, think before you mod the exhaust that is so big you can put your head in ...... heeeee ....

Then after ves inspection reload mapping upped bhp again.. next time vehicle inspection will add new inspection criteria to check ecu mapping to avoid cheating of VES lol!

post-170907-0-14524800-1509109482_thumb.jpg

With today e-Throttle engine as standard issue, it is so easy to detune or tune up.  Last time the accel pedal has direct control, the ECU has no choice by to pump more fuel when you do a WOT (Wide Open Throttle) you floored the engine.

These days with e-throttle, ECU control everything.  Less Air so Less fuel and less fuel = less power lor ...... so less emission.

BTW, LTA by-law stated Only Manufacturer at factory can mod the car especially the exhaust and engine system.  Hence Mazda Japan cannot just email a firmware to AD and AD do upgrade.  It is illegal lor.

That why the met rush to sell off Euro5 car as the same engine only need a firmware upgrade lor......

So come next year ...... 2 M2 race to the next junction, you will see the difference.

Wait ....... why not sell 2 variant Mazda 2 and Mazda 2 Extreme !!!  15K more ........ more profit ....

I already see the future, the ONLY MOD left to poison your ride ......... Open a hole at the bonnet lor ......more air ..... hahaha

So how did Mazda 2 do it?

I'm really curious.

Did they detune the engine just to meet emissions?

I wonder why is it so hard for LTA to provide a list of the VES charges for all the cars that get imported into SG?

Publish it online, even charge a small fee if needed, or put it into a magazine like Torque and let buyers choose what they want..

Aiya, it is simply EVERYBODY want to cause wide scale panic lor ,  the Government of Singapore, the AD, the Bank, that man that polish your new car.  More panic more profit.

Also sell off all failed VES cars lor ...... easily, without even giving you fire sale discount.  For that matter, increase price as demand outstrip supply lor.

So, please, potential buyer, help yourself, be calm and sen-sable buying.

I tell they all got plan B liao, like the Carens Diesel, AFTER I signed, they said they can get VES neutral instead of current trim, +20K.

Anyway, C&C did not con me to sign as current is -5K CEVS.  Next year even neutral VES, it will cost 5K more lor.

So it is a good deal, anyway, my research from UK LTA shows Carens can easily get neutral VES lor.

As for 5008 and GC4, I think they need to cut the engine into half to solve lor ...... heeeee ...... nay ...... I think they also found a solution.

I wonder why is it so hard for LTA to provide a list of the VES charges for all the cars that get imported into SG?

Publish it online, even charge a small fee if needed, or put it into a magazine like Torque and let buyers choose what they want..

Edited by Apple-Tree

Because....... Saving the environment is not really the objective. 

Why else would they make it so mysterious and nebulous? 

$$$

fraud or not. Heard the new Golf R was fully sold out on 21 Oct

Because they only brought in 4?

Because they haven't found a way to justify why they have charged certain makes at certain prices yet mah. Wait till they come up with a convoluted formula that confuses the shite out of everyone then they will quickly release faster than you can say, "LTA scholar".

And it won't be as easy as guessing Cheryl's birthday.

Edited by Terrylmt

Because....... Saving the environment is not really the objective.

Why else would they make it so mysterious and nebulous?

$$$

Like our country generate the most pollution harmful to environment? What about China and USA? Do they give a damn? Why do we have to follow Paris agreement and why USA can opt out of it?

Because we are not the biggest size bullies kids in the playground. 

Like our country generate the most pollution harmful to environment? What about China and USA? Do they give a damn? Why do we have to follow Paris agreement and why USA can opt out of it?

I recall reading an article about taxing one Tesla car owner.. The formula used by LTA was something like the amount of equivalent power needed to generate that electricity.

So.. Maybe that's the same they used.

There you go... Prius is more pollutant than M2

This is some joke. Under new scheme, non of the listed cars qualifies for rebate, at best neutral only.  Look at the Prius n Renault.

Its all about Mani.

Aiya, it is simply EVERYBODY want to cause wide scale panic lor , the Government of Singapore, the AD, the Bank, that man that polish your new car. More panic more profit.

Also sell off all failed VES cars lor ...... easily, without even giving you fire sale discount. For that matter, increase price as demand outstrip supply lor.

So, please, potential buyer, help yourself, be calm and sen-sable buying.

I tell they all got plan B liao, like the Carens Diesel, AFTER I signed, they said they can get VES neutral instead of current trim, +20K.

Anyway, C&C did not con me to sign as current is -5K CEVS. Next year even neutral VES, it will cost 5K more lor.

So it is a good deal, anyway, my research from UK LTA shows Carens can easily get neutral VES lor.

As for 5008 and GC4, I think they need to cut the engine into half to solve lor ...... heeeee ...... nay ...... I think they also found a solution.

People seems to focus on the differences. But from having cevs to neutral, the change of 5k also translate to slightly higher scrap value. So the saving itself is smaller than what is perceived. The total quantum itself however, has literally gone up.

Really buah tahan this kind of VES.

If they really have the intention to reduce pollution, they should encourage old car owner to scrap their car early.

VES only make the new car more expensive. If old car owner cannot afford new car, they had to renew COE for their old car.

In the end, more pollution due to more old car on the road. [thumbsdown]

Maybe there will be emission pegged Road tax in future?

You pay normal Road tax and erp and petrol tax still not enough ah? Want to add on emission Road tax ah?

Because they only brought in 4?

Because they haven't found a way to justify why they have charged certain makes at certain prices yet mah. Wait till they come up with a convoluted formula that confuses the shite out of everyone then they will quickly release faster than you can say, "LTA scholar".

And it won't be as easy as guessing Cheryl's birthday.

nope 10 units.

because by next year is 231K