JB Forest City

Sdf4786k

Hmm.

If u need a FC unit in 2030. Then just buy in 2030 lor.

Yes. Too much political and execution risks. Just buy completed and off the shelf.

I think for any singaporeans, we have to be honest, why would we want to go live in a PRC chinese enclave in johor. Haha isn't that what we are trying to escape? [laugh][:p]

safe is safe. good investment? I dunno. Definitely need strong stomach. I don't think driving from the houses in the nearby estates in geylang patah is very far also.

yeah precisely. Any singaporeans want to do that? NO.

I dont know if it is really safe, but good investment it surely is not, at least to me it never is. 

Back in the early 2000s already I have seen so many project end up houses no body want. Just look at some of the early golf course projects like palm resort and pulai spring, I almost bought one unit because  that time I was crazy golfing. My friend bought one unit, I think he wrote it off  liao..

And yah, last thing I want is to have ppl call me a PRC living with all the PRCs.. [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Yes sir, I went there ( Puteri Harbour ) twice and were utterly disappointed with the  lack of activities and promotion which the developer promises to bring in crowds, many shops were closed and some vacant.

By night fall, maybe sitting by the restaurant sipping wine and resonating the yatches nearby is only a memories within, too quiet and nothing behold me to come back, i really pitied those investors who bought unit@Puteri

yah, really quiet place, even make me wonder if the food is fresh in the food outlet with the rate of turn over.  [laugh]

I have seen many projects promise heaven but end up given hell in MY.

So far i think Bukit indah area still holding very strongly, although I heard horizon hill golf course not doing too well, but the housing estate there still looks well maintain and fairly attractive because of the crowd and malls there. Last I heard the new condo development near the malls sold very well, even to locals.  ^_^  

buy a unit in malaysia to stay for retirement or 2nd home for holiday if got spare cash, i think no issue.

esp FS .

but as investment hope to sell for profit later or rent for profit, i think very very hard.

new property is alway coming up. ppl can alway buy first hand from developer, who want to buy 2nd hand from u at higher price??

totally agree with you on this bro!!!  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

under his tenure as CEO, the motor insurance policy payout was difficult. always trying to cut corners and give you to raw deal.

As an insurance CEO, he is not all bad.  At least his 20 year endowment plan yield >5% p.a, my 21 year endowment plan matured in 2013 with his competitor only 2.3% p.a :TT_TT:

under his tenure as CEO, the motor insurance policy payout was difficult. always trying to cut corners and give you to raw deal.

I see. Then he is a good CEO from the view of shareholders  :D

I was wondering how you could claim someone who built the largest insurer in Singapore can be considered a lousy CEO.

I see. Then he is a good CEO from the view of shareholders :D

I was wondering how you could claim someone who built the largest insurer in Singapore can be considered a lousy CEO.

Depends on if you are looking from shareholder or policy holder perspective. He and his people implemented policies which I got screwed. So till date I never had another ntuc income policy.

I think all insurers are just waiting to screw policyholders - it is their biz model  [laugh]

Other than car insurance, I only have term life insurance. I believe in buying term and investing the rest on my own.

yah, really quiet place, even make me wonder if the food is fresh in the food outlet with the rate of turn over.  [laugh]

I have seen many projects promise heaven but end up given hell in MY.

So far i think Bukit indah area still holding very strongly, although I heard horizon hill golf course not doing too well, but the housing estate there still looks well maintain and fairly attractive because of the crowd and malls there. Last I heard the new condo development near the malls sold very well, even to locals.  ^_^  

I will avoid Johor.

I will either get it in KL or Penang Island.

If you are in KL, visit Desa Park City.  I might want to retire there.

Edited by Davidtch

I don't know him personally and don't follow him online but I know of 2 persons who bought into the FC story, both are not idiots.

I think it depends on their financial status

if the FC apartment is only 0.01% of their investable funds, then no worries.

if it's like... 20% of their portfolio, then it's a huge gamble.

I think it depends on their financial status

if the FC apartment is only 0.01% of their investable funds, then no worries.

if it's like... 20% of their portfolio, then it's a huge gamble.

It is for own use, so definitely not a gamble. Don't think they borrowed money.

I will avoid Johor.

I will either get it in KL or Penang Island.

If you are in KL, visit Desa Park City.  I might want to retire there.

Not for me lah.

Even if I really want to retired in MY, it would still be in Johor, not in JB town, but wont be so far away to KL or Penang. I still want to come back and visit or make it easy for others to visit me leh.

Bukit Indah still attractive to me for its convenience and the type of population segment there. Otherwise I may move a little further up to Senai or Kulai, but that is about as far as it can get. 

For me to retired in  Penang, I might as well go to quanzhou China.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Not for me lah.

Even if I really want to retired in MY, it would still be in Johor, not in JB town, but wont be so far away to KL or Penang. I still want to come back and visit or make it easy for others to visit me leh.

Bukit Indah still attractive to me for its convenience and the type of population segment there. Otherwise I may move a little further up to Senai or Kulai, but that is about as far as it can get. 

For me to retired in  Penang, I might as well go to quanzhou China.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

yeah i will just stay somewhere that i can drive in 1-2 hrs back here.

For the last 2 years I hv been seriously thinking of buying a house in JB, horizon hills or other landed place in JB, definitely not in Iskandar and definitely not FC. Poor SG who can't afford landed in SG always thinking of retirement in JB with a small garden in MY. However most of the places is just inflated to above 1 mio MYR for SG to buy becos of regulations whereas locals can buy same or similar places for 600k? To pay 40% more feels like Robert( no offence to pple with this name [:p] ) This is wat put me off till now.

Y would I wanna to pay 'premium' to buy when the px is not 'rght'  However, looking at how our country is heading to, a lot of us may have to look to retire in another place to stretch our dollar.

yeah i will just stay somewhere that i can drive in 1-2 hrs back here.

Yah lor, at least that is logical to me.

The purpose is to be able to come back in the shortest time possible and yet enjoy paying a fraction of what we would have to pay here doing the same thing. 

BI is only 30 min drive less the jam, senai is 45 min, and kulai is about 60-90 min depending how far off.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Yah lor, at least that is logical to me.

The purpose is to be able to come back in the shortest time possible and yet enjoy paying a fraction of what we would have to pay here doing the same thing.

BI is only 30 min drive less the jam, senai is 45 min, and kulai is about 60-90 min depending how far off. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Not really a fraction of what things cost here .... most to most cheaper by 40-50% at most even day to day grocery / electricity / fuel and be prepared to travel the longer distance; public transport.... nah ! Sucks .....Security ?? Walk in quiet area at night ??

I think we all know the potential security issues in MY.

Unfortunately singapore has no hinterland or areas to retire to cos it's just one city state.

It's just like it's difficult to retire in like manhattan in NYC. U have to move out to the surrounding burroughs or move to upstate NY. 

Few years back, they had a lot of news reports of late 50s-60s year old living in JB and coming back to SG as and when.

Seems to be no longer featured in the media.