JB Forest City

Sdf4786k

and your hdb is $0 at the end of the day

better offload to a sucker ... LOL

no matter what....we Singapirean must have something in SG mar........rent out still got income and the flat even 99 yrs will get HIP , HIP2 and VERS.....asset enhancement they call it....

Public transport is rubbish. Bus driver can decide on this day that he will show up later, or not show up at all. [laugh] [laugh] Taxi drivers just want to chop carrot at every opportunity. I've ever kenna before reaching KL late night, and taxi driver took me to hor lan, then tell me he can't find the way, pay him more or drop me off at some ulu place near cemetery. This is the time when you need to appear more fierce and more street-smart than him. This is partly why Malaysian-founded Grab is a popular service in MY.

I've seen with my own eyes more than once, robbery or dispute with firearms in KL. This is the time when you don't want to be hero, quickly walk away where possible. Usually, it's business or gang dispute. I think just last month, got one M-16 firing near Maluri.

Having said that, I can't say it is unique to MY. I've also kenna rogue taxi driver in PRC and elsewhere before. 

So did you eventually pay the driver more?

I had a similar incident in New York when I was travelling on a business trip a number of years ago. It was already past midnight after landing at JFK International Airport and clearing the custom. I was alone and very tired after the long-haul flight and long queue at the custom, and just wanted to get to the hotel room as soon as possible for a shower and rest before a business meeting in a few hours' time. It was freezing cold at the taxi stand outside and there was already a long queue. When I was about to join the queue, a negro approached me and offered a limo service. I asked if the ride would be based on metered fare and if a receipt would be issued. With his affirmation, I followed him into his car. After a couple of minutes into the journey to the hotel, I realized that he did not turn on the meter, so I reminded him to do so, but he started to quote me a flat rate which was much higher than I would expect for the short journey to the hotel. Even though I could claim reimbursement for expenses related to the business trip, I firmly turned him down and asked him to either go with the agreed meter rate or drive me back to the airport. He continued to drive for a while before suddenly making an U-turn and drove me back to the airport, but not without cursing and swearing all along the way, while I kept silent so as not to provoke him further. Thinking back, I wonder if I had been rash, as he was much taller and had a burly figure, and might even have a gang. Nowadays, I will try to make prearrangement for limo service if possible or queue for a taxi when travelling overseas.

So did you eventually pay the driver more?

I had a similar incident in New York when I was travelling on a business trip a number of years ago. It was already past midnight after landing at JFK International Airport and clearing the custom. I was alone and very tired after the long-haul flight and long queue at the custom, and just wanted to get to the hotel room as soon as possible for a shower and rest before a business meeting in a few hours' time. It was freezing cold at the taxi stand outside and there was already a long queue. When I was about to join the queue, a negro approached me and offered a limo service. I asked if the ride would be based on metered fare and if a receipt would be issued. With his affirmation, I followed him into his car. After a couple of minutes into the journey to the hotel, I realized that he did not turn on the meter, so I reminded him to do so, but he started to quote me a flat rate which was much higher than I would expect for the short journey to the hotel. Even though I could claim reimbursement for expenses related to the business trip, I firmly turned him down and asked him to either go with the agreed meter rate or drive me back to the airport. He continued to drive for a while before suddenly making an U-turn and drove me back to the airport, but not without cursing and swearing all along the way, while I kept silent so as not to provoke him further. Thinking back, I wonder if I had been rash, as he was much taller and had a burly figure, and might even have a gang. Nowadays, I will try to make prearrangement for limo service if possible or queue for a taxi when travelling overseas.

queue at taxi stand also not the safest of all. I was sold away to "return taxi"  for RMB50 at shenzhen airport, and I bloody paid RMB250 to the taxi at the airport.  <_<

Another time the taxi driver wanted us to pay to him RMB10 more on the return trip because of peak hour traffic, i refuse and told him to go back on his own, i can wait until peak hr over.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

queue at taxi stand also not the safest of all. I was sold away to "return taxi"  for RMB50 at shenzhen airport, and I bloody paid RMB250 to the taxi at the airport.  <_<

Another time the taxi driver wanted us to pay to him RMB10 more on the return trip because of peak hour traffic, i refuse and told him to go back on his own, i can wait until peak hr over.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Sigh ..... usually only when we are overseas will we really appreciate the law and order in our country :)

a lot of people think of retirement as maybe between 60-80 thereabouts when they are still active, can drive car, move house every few years, do charity work some more.  

But what about beyond, when you are old and infirm, can't work, need people to shower and help you pee, then what?  really still want to live in a foreign land at that point?  

In the end 省不到那里去。LPPL

a lot of people think of retirement as maybe between 60-80 thereabouts when they are still active, can drive car, move house every few years, do charity work some more.  

But what about beyond, when you are old and infirm, can't work, need people to shower and help you pee, then what?  really still want to live in a foreign land at that point?  

Not to mention the litany of documents/ red tape your spouse or kids have to go thru'  when you are no more around and want to transfer the property and the legal implications involved as the legal filing may have to be done in both countries all over and probate or letters of admin in both countries altogether.....and locals will low ball when they know a foreigner is selling or they just cannot afford to pay with our prices which we have paid...... there is also capital gains tax if sold within 5 years too... Think Long Term,........ very very long term.... I dont even know if the LPA (Lasting Power of Attorney done here) is valid for foreign properties to be encashed ......we are not getting young and assume that our mental capacities are going to be that good too......      

Not to mention the litany of documents/ red tape your spouse or kids have to go thru' when you are no more around and want to transfer the property and the legal implications involved as the legal filing may have to be done in both countries all over and probate or letters of admin in both countries altogether.....and locals will low ball when they know a foreigner is selling or they just cannot afford to pay with our prices which we have paid...... there is also capital gains tax if sold within 5 years too... Think Long Term,........ very very long term.... I dont even know if the LPA (Lasting Power of Attorney done here) is valid for foreign properties to be encashed ......we are not getting young and assume that our mental capacities are going to be that good too......

For foreign property, u can always have it under whoever you want them to inherit.

Under critical stage, can always ambulance back to Singapore.

Of course, it is not suitable for ppl who cannot live out of this cocoon.

totally agree on your inputs, and that is also why I mentioned there is a very high chance I wont retired somewhere else. To retired somewhere away from home is never easy, its easy to think abt it now, but there are really many considerations and when the time finally arrive to pull the trigger, not many are actually able to do it. 

But thats just me, for me it will be more of an emotional thingy to be born Singaporean and die Malaysian. Family will always be another factor that will hold me back, beside the thought of the body aging each day. 

However, using security, transportation and time of travel to  negative the idea is not something I find logical and acceptable. There are always choices, and we have to take charge and make that choice ourselves.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

totally agree on your inputs, and that is also why I mentioned there is a very high chance I wont retired somewhere else. To retired somewhere away from home is never easy, its easy to think abt it now, but there are really many considerations and when the time finally arrive to pull the trigger, not many are actually able to do it. 

But thats just me, for me it will be more of an emotional thingy to be born Singaporean and die Malaysian. Family will always be another factor that will hold me back, beside the thought of the body aging each day. 

However, using security, transportation and time of travel to  negative the idea is not something I find logical and acceptable. There are always choices, and we have to take charge and make that choice ourselves.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

All this is TCSS niah. Unless my kids are overseas, i doubt i will retire overseas.

That's why it makes sense to rent if u are living in malaysia and still hold your HDB/condo in Sg lor. Wind direction change, come back here  [laugh]

For foreign property, u can always have it under whoever you want them to inherit.

Under critical stage, can always ambulance back to Singapore.

Of course, it is not suitable for ppl who cannot live out of this cocoon.

TBH, I am quite an environment adapting animal,  and i can likely stay anywhere and blend in a short period of time. But I think when I grow older, there is a high chance I might just crawl back into the cocoon and stay home.  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

But again, thats just me, however i still think that the option is valid. Who knows, when I finally decide to stop work, I might just pack up and go backpack ard the world while I still can move and piak piak.. [:p]

All this is TCSS niah. Unless my kids are overseas, i doubt i will retire overseas.

That's why it makes sense to rent if u are living in malaysia and still hold your HDB/condo in Sg lor. Wind direction change, come back here  [laugh]

Yah lor, TCSS only, I also think highly unlikely I will retired anywhere else.  [:p]

Even if I want, the woman may not want, and the children may need me to fetch grandchildren and things like that. 

I think first is go rent for 3 months see really can stay there long term or not, not everyone can be a fast adapting animal. Seriously I think most SG Chinese will find it not easy, esp if spoken Malay is half past 6 kind.  [laugh]

As we grow older, our health and body might not allow us to do what we had plan in our 40s.

Goes back to heart vs mind. For me, I think I would still want to remain in sin. This has been home since birth and it won't be easy to just pack up and go retire somewhere else when old. Like some bros said, health care is one big concern liao.

As we grow older, our health and body might not allow us to do what we had plan in our 40s.

Goes back to heart vs mind. For me, I think I would still want to remain in sin. This has been home since birth and it won't be easy to just pack up and go retire somewhere else when old. Like some bros said, health care is one big concern liao.

if u can drive around, or be driven around regularly to the various doctors there, i don't think the healthcare there is bad.

But if u are like mostly in wheelchair, want to leave the house also difficult, confirm SG is much better.

Yah lor, TCSS only, I also think highly unlikely I will retired anywhere else.  [:p]

Even if I want, the woman may not want, and the children may need me to fetch grandchildren and things like that. 

I think first is go rent for 3 months see really can stay there long term or not, not everyone can be a fast adapting animal. Seriously I think most SG Chinese will find it not easy, esp if spoken Malay is half past 6 kind.  [laugh]

i think can adapt lah. but it will take 1-2 years. I think just purely retirement in SG, my dad also took like 1-2 years to get into his comfort zone.

wen you visualise a retirement overseas, you are seeing thing from your current age, when you grow older your perception change.

plus the activities you do when you are there now will be different when you are starting there 24/7/365x??. Friends, neighbourhood, food, activities, etc that you can accept now might not be the same after that.