Singapore Reckless Drivers part VII

hello,

for the benefit of your kind self and all, i am reposting this again. 

refer to this  >>.https://www.facebook...32958246736577/

LTA and TP have put road hogging as an offence with an educational flyer. This was launched in January 2016 and we look forward to boots on the ground to enforce this bad habit on our expressways.

"Drive in such a manner as to obstruct vehicles moving at a faster speed" . This sentence have few meanings and can be misleading. I suspect many will still think its OK to keep on the fast lane because he/she is driving at the maximum road speed limit.

Correct way is just move back to lane 2 and keep lane 1 as an overtaking lane.

That is actually what I'm contesting. That phrase seems to be completely untrue. That's is why I've posted an image linked to a screenshot of someone communicating with a TP in regards to the true definition of "road hogging".

The flyer is ambiguous as it does not consider any of the other edge cases. Also, this was posted on 2016. The image I sent was from 2018. I'll take it with a pinch of salt that it's not a lie.

I'm only making  distinction between a couple of things:

1. People who drive at 90km/h (or perhaps above. Come on, we all know that 90km/h isn't the true speed limit  [;)]. The speedometer is a lie and even your other devices does not measure the altitude of the ground you're travelling on, only the latitude) on the 1st lane or not are not considered road hogging. They could also be overtaking other slower vehicles.
  2. People who drive at an unreasonably slow speed (in accordance to the basic theory book) are considered road hoggers and should stick to the left unless overtaking.

And with regards to anyone who want to speed while meeting the 2 cases above:

1. If I want to speed above someone who is already driving at the speed limit, it is MY own responsibility to overtake the other vehicle, preferably on the right. No point tailgating and endangering lives.
  2. If a road hogger is being inconsiderate to me, it is their legal responsibility, in order not to break a traffic law, to give way to me. However, if they don't, no point tailgating and endangering lives. I should simply overtake and ignore the self-entitled bugger.

TLDR; I'm just trying to say, it does not matter whether someone is road hogging or not. If road hoggers get caught, sucks to be them. They deserve it. Instead, we should stop empowering people to tailgate simply because others are road hogging.

• Dislike 1

That is actually what I'm contesting. That phrase seems to be completely untrue. That's is why I've posted an image linked to a screenshot of someone communicating with a TP in regards to the true definition of "road hogging".

The flyer is ambiguous as it does not consider any of the other edge cases. Also, this was posted on 2016. The image I sent was from 2018. I'll take it with a pinch of salt that it's not a lie.

I'm only making distinction between a couple of things:

• People who drive at 90km/h (or perhaps above. Come on, we all know that 90km/h isn't the true speed limit [;)]. The speedometer is a lie and even your other devices does not measure the altitude of the ground you're travelling on, only the latitude) on the 1st lane or not are not considered road hogging. They could also be overtaking other slower vehicles.
  • People who drive at an unreasonably slow speed (in accordance to the basic theory book) are considered road hoggers and should stick to the left unless overtaking.

And with regards to anyone who want to speed while meeting the 2 cases above:

• If I want to speed above someone who is already driving at the speed limit, it is MY own responsibility to overtake the other vehicle, preferably on the right. No point tailgating and endangering lives.
  • If a road hogger is being inconsiderate to me, it is their legal responsibility, in order not to break a traffic law, to give way to me. However, if they don't, no point tailgating and endangering lives. I should simply overtake and ignore the self-entitled bugger.

TLDR; I'm just trying to say, it does not matter whether someone is road hogging or not. If road hoggers get caught, sucks to be them. They deserve it. Instead, we should stop empowering people to tailgate simply because others are road hogging.

Noted. And my own expectation is if there no other car is in front of me, when a car is coming faster than me from behind, I will give way, Speed is irrelevant.

hihi welcum to MCF. Now "clutched" liao, no limit on the number of posts you can make :grin:

we need more logical and rational members like you to contribute to the forum! agree with you 100% on defensive driving.

but me being human, it irks me when they wanna play the "i'm at the speed limit" card and hold up traffic unnecessarily and then come forum to act righteous about it.

it is ok to go slow, just don't obstruct others who want to go faster. 

so to those road hoggers... please, just give way. don't hog the first lane.

driving fast doesn't mean driving reckless.

Thanks for the wel"cum".  :grin: Got it? Hahahaha.

But I don't see the myself having no limit on number of posts. It literally says:

"You can make 3 more posts until 22 February 2019 - 12:16 PM. This restriction is in place until you have 8 more approved posts"

Meh.

Noted. And my own expectation is if there no other car is in front of me, when a car is coming faster than me from behind, I will give way, Speed is irrelevant.

This is absolutely the right attitude to have. I do this in any car I drive including the rather fast ones.

If I don't feel like speeding up myself, I immediately signal and yield to any car coming up behind me. It just feels right damnit.

• Praise 10

road hog confirm is an ash--- . end of discussion

tail gate. we cannot assume. from your point here he tailgate because he wanted to be an as-- etc e

but what if its a real emergency case??

even if there is a less then 10% chance of genuine case that he need to go fast.

we should get out of the way .

karma is a bit--. trust me..

The thing about tailgating is, it's not necessary. Even in an emergency.

Also, I find it hard to believe most people who tailgate are really in an emergency. If someone is dying, I think an ambulance does a better job most of the time, but I won't argue on that. It's highly improbable, but not impossible. So let's assume I'm driving and I'm in a emergency.

There are only 2 possible cases yeah?

1. I am in Lane 1 and someone is blocking me. Lane 2 / 3 / 4 is empty and that douchebag is blocking my way. I overtake on the left and go my way.
  2. I am in Lane 1 and someone is blocking me. Lane 2 / 3 / 4 is not empty and that douchebag is blocking my way. If my lane is slower than the other lanes, I overtake and go my way. If my lane is faster, then I don't have a choice but to give the benefit of the doubt that the driver in front is also overtaking the other vehicles on the left. I can try to signal right to be courteous to him, but tailgating is still not the way to go.

In the worst case, I am already in an emergency. I tailgate. The driver in front decides to brake (Maybe that driver guai lan? Maybe he/she is inexperienced and had a panic attack because I applied pressure by tailgating? Who knows) and I crash. Who is going to receive the blunt of the problem? Even if I somehow can claim everything from him, what happens to my emergency?

Sometimes, it's better to be polite even if the other person is a d*ck. Really.

Better to drive safe and stay alive than to drive right and get into an accident.

Ignore the road hoggers by simply overtaking them. No amount of high beaming / honking is going to get into the head of a**holes who are inconsiderate, neither is any amount of tailgating if they are extremely self entitled to begin with.

However, why would anyone attempt to tailgate a hogger if they can simply undertake from the left and carry on?

I'm sure most of such actions happen when they are unable to overtake/undertake the hogger due to hogger travel same speed as left lanes, intentionally (or not) pacing the slower left lanes to prevent others from going faster.

However, why would anyone attempt to tailgate a hogger if they can simply undertake from the left and carry on?

I'm sure most of such actions happen when they are unable to overtake/undertake the hogger due to hogger travel same speed as left lanes, intentionally (or not) pacing the slower left lanes to prevent others from going faster.

Right. I actually didn't think of this. In fact, I don't see this a lot on the roads, but if someone does that... wow, that is really a b**tard move. I think I'd be pissed off too.

I still wouldn't tailgate though. Maybe try giving the car horn a go and hope everything goes well.

1. I am in Lane 1 and someone is blocking me. Lane 2 / 3 / 4 is empty and that douchebag is blocking my way. I overtake on the left and go my way.
  2. I am in Lane 1 and someone is blocking me. Lane 2 / 3 / 4 is not empty and that douchebag is blocking my way. If my lane is slower than the other lanes, I overtake and go my way. If my lane is faster, then I don't have a choice but to give the benefit of the doubt that the driver in front is also overtaking the other vehicles on the left. I can try to signal right to be courteous to him, but tailgating is still not the way to go.

your point 1 is very true. thats what i alway do. no point tail gating when i can over take easily on the left.

but some time, lane 2 got abit of traffic moving like 80-90 got gaps  on off between.

1 car move at 80-90 also in lane 1 HIS FRONT TOTALLY CLEAR BLOCKING WHOLE STRETCH OF CARS BEHIND.

is it safer for that hogger to move to 2nd lane ?? or

u want all the cars behind to go land 2 and back??

from your post i can see u are a very sensible person, although u are asking questions.

but i still believe u are a sensible driver on the road also.

pls do the right thing.

thats all..

hat the driver in front is also overtaking the other vehicles on the left. 

after u over take u should move left and let other over take u also right??

make sense??

Edited by Beregond

The thing about tailgating is, it's not necessary. Even in an emergency.

Also, I find it hard to believe most people who tailgate are really in an emergency. If someone is dying, I think an ambulance does a better job most of the time, but I won't argue on that. It's highly improbable, but not impossible. So let's assume I'm driving and I'm in a emergency.

There are only 2 possible cases yeah?

In the worst case, I am already in an emergency. I tailgate. The driver in front decides to brake (Maybe that driver guai lan? Maybe he/she is inexperienced and had a panic attack because I applied pressure by tailgating? Who knows) and I crash. Who is going to receive the blunt of the problem? Even if I somehow can claim everything from him, what happens to my emergency?

Sometimes, it's better to be polite even if the other person is a d*ck. Really.

Better to drive safe and stay alive than to drive right and get into an accident.

reference to the comment in red: what if i'm driving and my passenger suddenly has a cardiac arrest, or something along the lines. Call ambulance, wait for maybe 20 mins, and have them rush my passenger to hospital?

also, there's a 3rd possible scenario of an emergency. Doctors rushing back hospital, or attend an urgent private house call etc. I need to deliver a packet of tisu to my CEO urgently so that he doesn't miss his flight.. etc etc.

i can safely say without provocation (roadhogging), there won't be altercations (tailgating)

One should tailgate a road hogger if a) you are driving a 5 tonne truck and the hogger is in a less than 2 tonne car b) you enjoy visiting the workshop and paying higher premiums later c) you want to be led by the hogger like a sheep to the slaughter

So either a) drop gear, undertake and say goodbye to the hogger or b) ease off and turn on adaptive cruise control.  [laugh]

A road hogger even if he wins when kenna rear ended will get whiplash.

The impact bends the spine out of shape and he will suffer back ache all his life.

The pain and discomfort is only a matter of degrees. Like a dull pain in the back to too painful for even sex.

Road hogger more lah and feel the suffering of a whiplash.

So scary reading here.. road hog Jialat.. tailgate jialat

Makes me drive lane 2 and 3 most of the time. M

Isn’t lane 1 especially on expressway a overtaking lane? Why some people say sometimes will give way on lane 1?

Anyway lane 3 faster than lane 1. Why bother to be angry with road hoggers?

For those who said nothing wrong with keeping to the speed limit on lane 1, I pray one day you kenna some emergency and you get block by a hogger on lane 1 with lane 2 heavy and no chance to overtake at all.

actually what is everyone's definition of tailgate?

1 car length, 2 ? 3 ?

talking with my friend and he say 3 car length already tailgate. He is the type that keeps 5 car length away from car in front. [smash]

I do the same. Regardless of the (behind oncoming) car make/CC/BHP/0-100km/h in how many seconds, if I am not prepared to speed up or drive quickly, I will quickly signal to change lane & smoothly do it.

I don't see the need to insist on my right of way.

I don't see the need to question the reason why the car behind is speeding.

In the first place, if I'm not prepared to drive quickly, I will stick to 2nd or 3rd lane, will not even find myself on lane 1, having to give way to faster moving vehicles behind me. Something so simple.. yet many people cannot accomplish.

Right. I actually didn't think of this. In fact, I don't see this a lot on the roads, but if someone does that... wow, that is really a b**tard move. I think I'd be pissed off too.

I still wouldn't tailgate though. Maybe try giving the car horn a go and hope everything goes well.

In SG context.. not so simple.

Have tried many times to do that, they jam brake or play brake checking game.. or even slow down. I guessed bruised ego? Give way will lose a limb maybe.

Sometimes I also tap horn to get attention of cars infront or beside to signal their lights are turned off.. most of them just continue to look straight ahead and play deaf or gesture angrily.. so defensive  [hur]

So scary reading here.. road hog Jialat.. tailgate jialat

Makes me drive lane 2 and 3 most of the time. M

Isnât lane 1 especially on expressway a overtaking lane? Why some people say sometimes will give way on lane 1?

Anyway lane 3 faster than lane 1. Why bother to be angry with road hoggers?

Because I'm already in lane 1 and can't filter out to lanes 2 or even 3 cos vehicles on all 3 lanes are moving at same speed.

1 car length, 2 ? 3 ?

talking with my friend and he say 3 car length already tailgate. He is the type that keeps 5 car length away from car in front. [smash]

I would say when u are inside your own safety braking distance

1 car length, 2 ? 3 ?

For your friend's sake, I hope he keeps to the left all the time.