DIY W212 side mirror actuator replacement

Ct3833

On 7/26/2023 at 12:32 AM, Ct3833 said:

@Comage if he is referring to the air vent, here is the video, looks like snap-on . I should be able to do it 😅😅

Good thing about these common European cars is that i can find many DIY videos in youtube, i dont see that many similar uploads for japanese cars. 

Altis vents break or not in the 1st place.? Cheap ass plastics in altis are ugly but more robust than nice looking but brittle European plastics. 
why make a video when nothing to break. Look for how to fix broken toyota and Honda on YouTube and you find significantly less videos. 
Need to make content that people will watch. Else difficult to earn money. 🤪

On 7/27/2023 at 6:22 AM, Ct3833 said:

@Yeshe,  if this is what you are looking for, it looks easy, just use 2 L shape wires to pull out the  vent.

Yes, but I only want to replace 1 Tab as existing broke. Unless I replace the entire module instead of single vent tab.

On 7/27/2023 at 7:40 AM, Mkl22 said:

Altis vents break or not in the 1st place.? Cheap ass plastics in altis are ugly but more robust than nice looking but brittle European plastics. 
why make a video when nothing to break. Look for how to fix broken toyota and Honda on YouTube and you find significantly less videos. 

That's the first thing that crossed my mind! 

But can find How to Kill a Toyota video. 

Edited by Volvobrick

On 7/27/2023 at 7:40 AM, Mkl22 said:

but having said all this. even now japanese plastics are crappy due to the need to be biodegradable.

On 7/27/2023 at 8:18 AM, Yeshe said:

Yes, but I only want to replace 1 Tab as existing broke. Unless I replace the entire module instead of single vent tab.

I think unlikely to find just a singe blade. Give a call to those stockists to check what is the price for a whole piece before making further decision

On 7/27/2023 at 12:06 PM, Ct3833 said:

I think unlikely to find just a singe blade. Give a call to those stockists to check what is the price for a whole piece before making further decision

I managed to buy a single piece tab, now trying to figure out how to replace :D

On 7/19/2023 at 5:40 PM, kobayashiGT said:

You should use the Tamiya engine. 

Free-Shipping-Tamiya-Motor-15186-Plasma-

make it faster.  

This must buy a pair. Then put inside fridge for a week.

Aft install, hearsay side mirror can flap like wing, make car fly.

On 7/27/2023 at 3:14 PM, Yeshe said:

Good to know, mind sharing which stockist did you get it from?

Edited by Ct3833

On 7/28/2023 at 7:04 AM, Ct3833 said:

Good to know, mind sharing which stockist did you get it from?

Taobao :D

On 7/27/2023 at 2:14 PM, Yeshe said:

I am always very wary about doing such "component-level" repairs in the car interior, because it simply is not worth the time for the safety risks.

It may hold together under normal driving circumstances, but you never know what happens in the event of a crash.

I seen guys use metal wires to thread through those tab holes and "reinforce" their broken air vents - but TBH even spending $100 for an air vent (if it DOES cost that much) - just gives peace of mind that you won't get impaled by metal wires in your face ever.

I post a response and ask the guy - "Why do you want to risk this?" - and he didn't (couldn't?) even answer me. LOL.

And with so many dick drivers on the road these days, it's just difficult to say anymore that "oh I am a safe driver!".

On 7/29/2023 at 6:09 AM, Comage said:

I am always very wary about doing such "component-level" repairs in the car interior, because it simply is not worth the time for the safety risks.

It may hold together under normal driving circumstances, but you never know what happens in the event of a crash.

I seen guys use metal wires to thread through those tab holes and "reinforce" their broken air vents - but TBH even spending $100 for an air vent (if it DOES cost that much) - just gives peace of mind that you won't get impaled by metal wires in your face ever.

I post a response and ask the guy - "Why do you want to risk this?" - and he didn't (couldn't?) even answer me. LOL.

And with so many dick drivers on the road these days, it's just difficult to say anymore that "oh I am a safe driver!".

U sounded so serious.

This simple component is exterior and no risk lah.

Screenshot_20230729-100938.png

On 7/29/2023 at 10:10 AM, Yeshe said:

U sounded so serious.

Take chill pill also got risk...laugh too much until tio pah...chill simi lj...😂

On 7/29/2023 at 11:10 AM, Yeshe said:

U sounded so serious.

Bro, how? Did you manage to have it replaced ?  Share share leh . You can huy it from lazada.sg is amzing. Thus type of things usually are  not ao popular in sgp becauae our culture is less DIY. I will usually buy it from Sgp stockists, UK  stockits or daobao. 

My style is when all else fails,  will send the car with the part to a mechanic 🤣🤣

Edited by Ct3833

On 7/30/2023 at 5:05 PM, Ct3833 said:

Bro, how? Did you manage to have it replaced ?  Share share leh . You can huy it from lazada.sg is amzing. Thus type of things usually are  not ao popular in sgp becauae our culture is less DIY. I will usually buy it from Sgp stockists, UK  stockits or daobao. 

My style is when all else fails,  will send the car with the part to a mechanic 🤣🤣

Not yet, this week travelling, not in town :D

On 7/29/2023 at 10:10 AM, Yeshe said:

U sounded so serious.

Don't blame him/her, he/she has a history of being a trouble-magnet and loves to amplify issue 😉

Gone for a while and now back.

Maybe car repaired and back here to find back his/her emotional recognition.

On 7/31/2023 at 10:21 AM, Unfazed said:

Don't blame him/her, he/she has a history of being a trouble-magnet and loves to amplify issue 😉

Gone for a while and now back.

Maybe car repaired and back here to find back his/her emotional recognition.

Hey... thanks for remembering me Sir.

Really appreciate it - regardless for good or for bad. Thank you so much!

Posting an updates on the structure of the side mirror adjustment gear assembly.

The entire assembly housing consists of 3 pieces, they are  held togather by just 1 screw. 16915718731496969004668585992518.thumb.jpg.1b35d1dcf7a02fb4be62dc48eb4257d5.jpg

20230809_165408.thumb.jpg.1b0c4862e7241ccc9b0684fcef748459.jpg

Open up the small casing by prying the small little clips at the edge carefully.

20230809_165557.thumb.jpg.6ad37ae12105372043ec755da2642caf.jpg

You will see the two micro motors and some plastic gears in the small casing . One for horizontal and one for vertical adjustment .

20230809_165629.thumb.jpg.1faeb83dad3704ecdf72237d41906147.jpg

The micro motor can be dug out easily from the worm gear side, each motor has two small holes for electrical connectivity purpose. 

20230809_165648.thumb.jpg.1ca4f158bdcf85368b60b62f7d6673da.jpg

1691572298858700240638492991859.thumb.jpg.38f081d61224beab7c8008f9cc08ae10.jpg

This motor can be bought from tao bao but  the price has gone up, i paid less than $5 for my w211 about 7 years ago, now cost about $12 per piece.

For my case, i noticed it is caused by a crack on the casing, it explained why it made some weird noise when in operation.

20230809_165800.thumb.jpg.b48447071fdb8a110516384a80950cba.jpg

So my decision to buy an entire assembly is correct😄😄.

I will keep this old assembly for a few weeks, anyone keen to try or intend to salvage the micro motor can PM me