Gnahp Twincharged January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 On 1/22/2024 at 10:17 AM, Hubwee said: Hurry Tires at Mackenzie has my vote for sure . All my cars done there .. responsible owner with good QC before handing over your car back to you .. thanks 👍 I see their name mentioned more than a couples of time here, so far all positive will definitely put them on the list ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Twincharged January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 On 1/22/2024 at 10:29 AM, Beregond said: Tyre shop and ws to me is like see doctor. I dun keep changing them. I think if u are a regular with them. Esp those smaller shop. Like 3-4 ppl. It's easier to build a relationship and request better service. sigh I had a regular tayar shop that took care of my rubber needs for 20 years two men shop, both are boss they were good and careful with my wheels except one kept spraying saliva on you when he talks all well until they decided to retire and their kids took over then I jumped ship to LS they are good but you sit in an aircon waiting area instead of sitting next to the tayar changing machine and balancing machine and you speak to a person behind the desk looking at the computer screen instead of the guy who work on your wheels me old fart feels uneasy 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 On 1/22/2024 at 11:01 AM, inlinesix said: Whether front to rear or cross-swap, it should be done if there is big enough depth difference between front and rear. Big enough for me is about 1mm. I use ah gong 20c coin to measure...all same same by sight 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 On 1/22/2024 at 11:48 AM, mersaylee said: I use ah gong 20c coin to measure...all same same by sight 😁 Just buy Tyre Depth Gauge. I keep an Excel sheet for that. 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Twincharged January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 On 1/22/2024 at 11:53 AM, inlinesix said: Just buy Tyre Depth Gauge. I keep an Excel sheet for that. I use this but I want this, waiting for it to drop to a home mechanic friendly price graphical representation is much easier to digest and visualise, than a series of numbers 😁 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hubwee Turbocharged January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 (edited) On 1/22/2024 at 11:06 AM, Gnahp said: thanks 👍 I see their name mentioned more than a couples of time here, so far all positive will definitely put them on the list Their main shop is at bukit timah road , managed by the owner , son manages the Mackenzie branch . Prefers the mackenzie branch as shop is not so packed and busy . There was once about 10 years back when my AD discovered that my wheel hub screw thread seems damaged , as Hurry was the only one touching my car , AD called them and somehow , they acknowledged that it might be their worker whom was not careful and paid my AD directly for a new wheel hub which costs almost 5k lo ... After this incident , anything with regards to tires and rims , i go back to them ... Edited January 22, 2024 by Hubwee 6 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 On 1/22/2024 at 12:11 PM, Gnahp said: I use this but I want this, waiting for it to drop to a home mechanic friendly price graphical representation is much easier to digest and visualise, than a series of numbers 😁 I use the same tool as you. Look at your wish list in Amazon. The price is really 😱 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Twincharged January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 On 1/22/2024 at 12:15 PM, Hubwee said: Their main shop is at bukit timah road , managed by the owner , son manages the Mackenzie branch . Prefers the mackenzie branch as shop is not so packed and busy . There was once about 10 years back when my AD discovered that my wheel hub screw thread seems damaged , as Hurry was the only one touching my car , AD called them and somehow , they acknowledged that it might be their worker whom was not careful and paid my AD directly for a new wheel hub which costs almost 5k lo ... After this incident , anything with regards to tires and rims , i go back to them ... thanks again for sharing I will bring the rims for tyre mounting and balancing only probably need to do it in two trips, don't think my wife's car can squeeze in 4 wheels at one go Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 On 1/21/2024 at 10:47 PM, Comage said: I'm not here to diss anyone or "smear reputation" of the tyre workshop in question here... to me, a tyre workshop is a tyre workshop - what distinguishes one from another - is a few things: Price Opening hours Stocks Worksmanship Different people value different combinations of criteria when they send their vehicles in for a tyre job, though for me, the only criteria I valued was the opening hours. Their worksmanship - I now got to experience it firsthand, so I wanted to share this with the good Sirs here to 1) know if my expectations should be lowered further, and along the way, to 2) warn others about what they may potentially get into when they go here for a tyre job. Given that I stood there for at least 30mins while they worked on my vehicle, and watched the cars come in and go like a F1 pitstop on a normal weekday night... I can understand that they are a crowd-favourite. Any "whinings", "rants", "complaints" or "negative review" wouldn't work at all - it will be drowned out by the thousands and thousands of "Thumbs up! Great service!" positive reviews that they receive every week. Initially upon speaking to the tyre mech, he did provide me with excellent advice that showcased his knowledge in tyres and rims (including identification of the worn spare part on my wheel hub assembly that required immediate replacement). But after the job was completed, I came to realise that their worksmanship leaves a lot to be desired... especially the dings on my old rims that I had previously shown (images repeated here for ease of reference): As @Mkl22 had said: TBH - I am not fazed about the damage on the repainted rims I gotten, because I was the one who repainted the rims myself (DIY the sand-down, epoxy restore around the rim edges, 3 x primer coat layers, 3 x paint coat layers, 3 x clear coat layers for a total of 9 layers, with a post-paint cure duration of > 48hrs given to let the paint cure and settle). So, I can easily restore it myself anytime (notwithstanding the overheads involved in such DIY jobs which don't make sense to repair just for 1 small section). To say that the "rim repair paint job is subpar" - that was exactly what the tyre workshop mech said when I asked about the damages to the repainted rims. "Sorry Boss, your paint cmi, it's too soft, so we gouged out a whole chunk so easily, just like that!" was their response. Perhaps there is truth indeed in that statement they said about my DIY tyre repair job... until I saw the damage also on my old tyre rims (which were original and was never repaired before). Unless they also meant to say that the paint on my old Konig rims was also "subpar" - which led to the damages on the spokes and the rim edges as you see in the above 2 pictures... otherwise anything they say about what "paint job being subpar" - it all stinks of excuses and trying to worm out of their responsibilities as a service provider for tyre jobs. my 2 cts, the quality of paint job is not the number of layers that matters. It's the quality of the paint and the use of proper oven to bake the paint layers between that makes them more durable. too many layers of not properly baked primer/paint/clear coat is too soft to withstand the harsh condition on the road...even if the tyre shop managed to handle the rims more carefully, there is a very high chance any road debris can easily chip and gouge away at your meticulously DIY job. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 (edited) On 1/22/2024 at 12:15 PM, Hubwee said: Their main shop is at bukit timah road , managed by the owner , son manages the Mackenzie branch . Prefers the mackenzie branch as shop is not so packed and busy . There was once about 10 years back when my AD discovered that my wheel hub screw thread seems damaged , as Hurry was the only one touching my car , AD called them and somehow , they acknowledged that it might be their worker whom was not careful and paid my AD directly for a new wheel hub which costs almost 5k lo ... After this incident , anything with regards to tires and rims , i go back to them ... I like their Bukit Timah branch but the limited space and so many car squeezed into the small space gives me anxiety each time I was there. I can park in between the cars carefully and open my door carefully but not sure about other car owners there....worse when I see expat women drivers bringing in their soccer-mom mobiles in for tyre change...😅 Edited January 22, 2024 by Vratenza 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comage 5th Gear January 22, 2024 Author Share January 22, 2024 On 1/22/2024 at 12:41 PM, Vratenza said: my 2 cts, the quality of paint job is not the number of layers that matters. It's the quality of the paint and the use of proper oven to bake the paint layers between that makes them more durable. too many layers of not properly baked primer/paint/clear coat is too soft to withstand the harsh condition on the road...even if the tyre shop managed to handle the rims more carefully, there is a very high chance any road debris can easily chip and gouge away at your meticulously DIY job. My point wasn't that my DIY paint job is superior, or that I am whining that my repainted rims got chipped/gouged. As I said a few times earlier, if the rims were dinged in random spots, I wouldn't bat an eyelid over it. To ding 1 x rim in one spot, it's an accident, yeah I agree. To ding 2 x rims in the same spot, it's careless of the tyre mech. To ding 3 x rims in the same spot, it's just plain deliberate. To ding 4 x rims in the same spot... What would you call this? I would say the tyre mech just simply DGAF about his workmanship or job... And then claiming my repaint job was subpar, okay, I take it. I don't have excuse, since I'm not a professional, yes. Then I found that my old rims (Konig), were also damaged in the same way. These rims came original and were never repainted before. Does the "your paint job is subpar" excuse still apply here? Still splitting hairs? Or as my title says - "poor workmanship"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comage 5th Gear January 22, 2024 Author Share January 22, 2024 @Vratenza Btw, I also learnt a new excuse from the tyre workshop... The next time if I ever run over someone and the pedestrian dies, I shall say to the family member - "Aiya, he wasn't strong enough to take the impact.. That's why he died la!" "The last few ones I ran over, only got broken legs and arms, but never die, leh!" 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 On 1/22/2024 at 1:23 PM, Comage said: My point wasn't that my DIY paint job is superior, or that I am whining that my repainted rims got chipped/gouged. As I said a few times earlier, if the rims were dinged in random spots, I wouldn't bat an eyelid over it. To ding 1 x rim in one spot, it's an accident, yeah I agree. To ding 2 x rims in the same spot, it's careless of the tyre mech. To ding 3 x rims in the same spot, it's just plain deliberate. To ding 4 x rims in the same spot... What would you call this? I would say the tyre mech just simply DGAF about his workmanship or job... And then claiming my repaint job was subpar, okay, I take it. I don't have excuse, since I'm not a professional, yes. Then I found that my old rims (Konig), were also damaged in the same way. These rims came original and were never repainted before. Does the "your paint job is subpar" excuse still apply here? Still splitting hairs? Or as my title says - "poor workmanship"? Not splitting any hairs here, and I have no vested interest in defending any tyre/rim shops. Forumers here know which industry I am in and I am the last person to defend any shoddy workmanship. I myself DIY many things in and around my cars when I was younger, so I know the pride and satisfaction from a successful DIY job. Back to the point about poor workmanship car-related businesses, I have had come across my fair share of them over the decades of car ownership. Glad to say that I only had to deal with each of them only once...why? Because I never go back to them and I will tell my friends/relatives/kaki to avoid them if they ask for recommendations. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 Wah TS mellow down so much liao ah...hope this mellowness remain this mellow ya. Already know shop do PHV one, many pte car owners will siam like machiam see hantu. Cheap not good, good not cheap, this logic still works today. Yadaing not about money. It's the principle lah ok? I drive concrete truck I also go tell shop must polish all my 6 rims one hor when I changed tyres. Cannot DGAF ok? 1k on 18" size tyres where got ex? Want 18" size tyres must accept 18" cost. Me drove Wira on 13" pun know this logic. 18" satki satki, must pay in style also, imagine the satki-ness when 4 big tayar roll out. Agree bo? I jin cheapo one, want cheap cheap cheap tyres, go malaysia but if tayar shop say their tayar jin cheap one, me will say I don't go for cheap ones and walk away with my head high. I will go to the most expensive shop and make sure it's still cheap cheaper cheapest than the tayar in Singapore. 😉 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 On 1/21/2024 at 2:41 PM, Starry said: I just look for tyre shop from Carousell, anyone with reasonable prices (for the tyre I want) and can do free/discounted wheel alignment at the same time Same here. The gouges cheap tyre shops make is nothing compared to the scrapes my p-plate kids make. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 On 1/21/2024 at 12:09 AM, Comage said: So, I had a set of tyre rims that I bought used - and I decided to send them to a certain tyre workshop that is very, very popular with PHV drivers. What was supposed to be a very simple tyre change job turned out to be a great disappointment. I did not inspect the tyres in much detail after the job was done. until I got home. Since my rims had been repaired and repainted before I sent in the rims for the tyre job, the surface was flawless, and any form of poor worksmanship were immediately apparent to see, starting with this: Now these scuff marks - make as you will how they surfaced onto the rims, but I didn't really bother so much about it, until I saw the next 4 images: 4 gouges into the rim, all at the same spot. Now before you bash me - note that I do understand that empty tyre rims need to be balanced on the machine after mounting a fresh set of tyres. And I had passed the empty rims to the tyre shop with the center caps in a SEPARATE bag - just like my 1st picture. But what I did not expect was that the 4 gouges where the paint layers came off - were all IN THE SAME SPOT. I mean, how does that happen? When the mech working on the tyre sees the 1st mark being made on the rims with the fresh coat of paint, you'd think he would be a bit more careful with the 2nd rim... But no! The 2nd rim - same gouge being made! And the 3rd rim! BAM! ONE MORE FOR YOU SIR! And the 4th rim! POW! HAHA THERE YOU GO! NOW ALL FOUR RIMS BEAR THE SAME MARK FROM ME, THE ALMIGHTY TYRE MECHANIC! And then, when I inspected the tyres that I had gotten, I was dumbstruck when I saw the below: 4 tyres, each from a different week of the year, and the oldest being 04/23 vs the newest 41/23? Again, how the hell does this sort of thing happen? Does every customer come in and buy only 1 single piece of tyre? Or is it that the tyre mech DGAF when he took the tyres out from the warehouse? Again, I can understand if it's 2+2 or 3+1, or 4 tyres just barely a week apart of each other... but this is really a first for me. Also, mind you, I did not go for their "flagship product", so don't tell me "you paid peanuts, so you must get monkeys". I had instead opted for something more "branded" (anyway, my photos already give a hint of what brand the tyres are). ---------- Conclusion: Am I asking for too much from this tyre workshop? Or any tyre workshop for that matter? Any comments and opinions are welcome. Thanks for reading my post and hearing out my experience. If I’m in your position I’ll be just as dulan. no choice, take it as a lesson learned and choose another tyre shop that’s not so high volume. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 On 1/22/2024 at 10:17 AM, Hubwee said: Hurry Tires at Mackenzie has my vote for sure . All my cars done there .. responsible owner with good QC before handing over your car back to you .. same. Tristan gets my vote. used to go LS but I’ve since switched to Hurry at Mackenzie. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 22, 2024 Share January 22, 2024 (edited) On 1/22/2024 at 12:10 AM, Gnahp said: you encounter made me worry now I am about to order a set of forged rims for my other car the last thing I want is tayar shop scratching the new rims when mounting tayar any good and careful tayar shop to recommend? I guess those one man show tayar shop should has a lower chance to scratch the rim than those that employ a team of foreign workers Mr Tay of Guan Lee Tyres at Kaki Bukit. One man show and he does do a good job. A nice guy too. I recommended him here before. Edited January 22, 2024 by Fcw75 ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...