inlinesix Hypersonic May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2026 at 11:09 AM, Tianmo said: Means it is okay to charge to 100% with DC and drive off immediately? Sound like suit my style. Your LFP can sleep with 100%🤭 ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged May 12 Share May 12 (edited) On 5/12/2026 at 11:57 AM, inlinesix said: Your LFP can sleep with 100%🤭 LFP : Can charge to 100% in that it can tahan 100% charge without significant degradation BUT charging an LFP to 100% will still stress the LFP more than charging it to 80%. But you can argue thats academic because it can supposedly still last 1000s of cycles. Manual advises against charging to 100% and storing it that way, especially in high heat (>30 deg C). Manual suggest if you away for 1 week or more, charge to between 40 to 60%. Dropping it to below 10% and trying to call high power, also stresses the battery. But need to do a <10 to 100% charge every 3 to 6 months to calibrate range. So, to lower degradation, best to keep it 20 to 80% but you need to charge to 100% to balance cells/calibrate battery for health also.... cannot win. Basically hor, everything you do, also pro and con. So just shaddap and drive like @Tianmo. Unless we PHV, unlikely the battery SoH will even touch 90% by 10 years. Edited May 12 by Ake109 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2026 at 6:03 AM, snowleopard99 said: @kayabread82 Depend on what you prioritize for the interior between MG S6 vs Sealion 7. In terms of physical button layout, I felt MG is less "loud" as it's further away from the driver. Although on paper SL7 is slightly longer and wider, however, the interior felt slightly smaller than MG, not sure where the space went to. The height of the rear passenger window is not homogenous throughout. Towards the end, it will get narrower and some passenger felt claustrophobic effect. The rear windscreen is much smaller than MG viewing from a rear mirror. The plus of SL7 will be their full nappa leather as opposed to MG half-bake offering with partial Alcantara leather (a.k.a synthetic) and cloth (or rather velvet like) type of upholstery. Sounds good on paper right? NAPPA leather. But you go to BYD showroom, run between the Cat A synthetic leather and the Cat B NAPPA leather. Maybe you can tell the diff, I cant. I mean, I balls more song because its Nappa, but really hor... i cant tell. For all these interior comparisons, never take what reviewers say lor, always ownself plonk arse on the car in showroom. Its too personal. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ConnorMcLeod 2nd Gear May 12 Share May 12 @13177 I was comparing the MG S5 and Aion V at the Car Expo last weekend. My perception - driver seat : S5 driver seat is tight - it is surrounded by the dashboard and the centre console, one can say it is nice secure feel but I'd want space around me instead. Aion V seemed more spacious for the driver seat - rear entry : S5 seems higher possible due to a higher inner frame, while Aion V as a lower one. Both seats seemed to be around the same height (above ground). My parents may like the Aion V for easier entry and exit. - Aion V does not have glove box. this can be the deal breaker for wifey. not so sure how practical are the massage seat and fridge/heater box for the luxury model. - S5 got quite a big frunk. - AC charging time is similar for both models. DC charging a bit faster for Aion V so might be a good thing when need quickly charge the car. haven't test drove both cars so no idea about handling / NVH etc. all along I drove cars with rear torsion beams so the S5 rear multi-link suspension I guess will give a better ride/handling. Some YouTube videos say the Aion V handling is good despite torsion beam rear suspension so I also want to experience it before conclusion. thinking with my wallet I'd go for Aion V while I like the design of S5 😅 just hate myself for being lazy not to test drive before the Expo to close the deal on the spot. now hope this weekend test drive and still can get the same deals. initially was interested in Atto 3, but the interior design and the attitude of SEs turned me off. Atto 2 interior was better from my view. On 4/29/2026 at 9:20 PM, 13177 said: If want spacious rear space, i find aion V rear space super spacious. Lol. S5 rear space not say very spacious if compared with others EV. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
samwongothers Clutched May 12 Share May 12 (edited) @ConnorMcLeod Hello, are you actually comparing the Aion V with the MG S6? Cos the S5 does not come with a frunk. Also, do take note that if you go for non-guarantee COE bidding, the Aion cars will not come with 10 yr free servicing option while the MG cars still include 10 yr free servicing. Edited May 12 by samwongothers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2026 at 9:25 PM, ConnorMcLeod said: @13177 I was comparing the MG S5 and Aion V at the Car Expo last weekend. My perception - driver seat : S5 driver seat is tight - it is surrounded by the dashboard and the centre console, one can say it is nice secure feel but I'd want space around me instead. Aion V seemed more spacious for the driver seat - rear entry : S5 seems higher possible due to a higher inner frame, while Aion V as a lower one. Both seats seemed to be around the same height (above ground). My parents may like the Aion V for easier entry and exit. - Aion V does not have glove box. this can be the deal breaker for wifey. not so sure how practical are the massage seat and fridge/heater box for the luxury model. - S5 got quite a big frunk. - AC charging time is similar for both models. DC charging a bit faster for Aion V so might be a good thing when need quickly charge the car. haven't test drove both cars so no idea about handling / NVH etc. all along I drove cars with rear torsion beams so the S5 rear multi-link suspension I guess will give a better ride/handling. Some YouTube videos say the Aion V handling is good despite torsion beam rear suspension so I also want to experience it before conclusion. thinking with my wallet I'd go for Aion V while I like the design of S5 😅 just hate myself for being lazy not to test drive before the Expo to close the deal on the spot. now hope this weekend test drive and still can get the same deals. initially was interested in Atto 3, but the interior design and the attitude of SEs turned me off. Atto 2 interior was better from my view. Forget the DC charging bit. Hardly ever hit the max limit. If not too diff then I guess in actual use probably 5-8min difference. S5 has RWD. So if the old MG4 is anything to go by. It will drive better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2026 at 9:25 PM, ConnorMcLeod said: @13177 I was comparing the MG S5 and Aion V at the Car Expo last weekend. My perception - driver seat : S5 driver seat is tight - it is surrounded by the dashboard and the centre console, one can say it is nice secure feel but I'd want space around me instead. Aion V seemed more spacious for the driver seat - rear entry : S5 seems higher possible due to a higher inner frame, while Aion V as a lower one. Both seats seemed to be around the same height (above ground). My parents may like the Aion V for easier entry and exit. - Aion V does not have glove box. this can be the deal breaker for wifey. not so sure how practical are the massage seat and fridge/heater box for the luxury model. - S5 got quite a big frunk. - AC charging time is similar for both models. DC charging a bit faster for Aion V so might be a good thing when need quickly charge the car. haven't test drove both cars so no idea about handling / NVH etc. all along I drove cars with rear torsion beams so the S5 rear multi-link suspension I guess will give a better ride/handling. Some YouTube videos say the Aion V handling is good despite torsion beam rear suspension so I also want to experience it before conclusion. thinking with my wallet I'd go for Aion V while I like the design of S5 😅 just hate myself for being lazy not to test drive before the Expo to close the deal on the spot. now hope this weekend test drive and still can get the same deals. initially was interested in Atto 3, but the interior design and the attitude of SEs turned me off. Atto 2 interior was better from my view. I believe the deals offered at car expo should still able to get the same on this weekend, as ADs also want to close more deals lo. Aion V interior spacious and features quite attractive as compared with S5. I find S5 interior space and features don't have the wow factor. I test drove Aion V and S5, i find the handling and ride in Aion V feels very EV. S5 handling and ride is good and nice and it doesn't drive like an EV. Atto 3 not nice. I also find atto 2 interior is nice but too bad this car is entry level EV, range and battery are small. So what did the SE has done to turn you off le? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TurboSkyHawk 1st Gear May 12 Share May 12 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ConnorMcLeod 2nd Gear May 12 Share May 12 @samwongothers Hi, i looked at both S5 n S6. possible i mixed up the frunk. S6 is beyond my budget, n i doubt i can handle a big car like it. Thanks. i noticed the "free" service that comes with the guaranteed COE package. not exactly free to me. On 5/12/2026 at 10:08 PM, samwongothers said: @ConnorMcLeod Hello, are you actually comparing the Aion V with the MG S6? Cos the S5 does not come with a frunk. Also, do take note that if you go for non-guarantee COE bidding, the Aion cars will not come with 10 yr free servicing option while the MG cars still include 10 yr free servicing. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ConnorMcLeod 2nd Gear May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2026 at 10:24 PM, Mkl22 said: Forget the DC charging bit. Hardly ever hit the max limit. If not too diff then I guess in actual use probably 5-8min difference. S5 has RWD. So if the old MG4 is anything to go by. It will drive better yes in several YouTube videos they made remark on the good handling on the S5 n even it is enjoyable to drive unlike a typical ev. have to try it myself to experience it before final decision. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ConnorMcLeod 2nd Gear May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2026 at 10:49 PM, 13177 said: I believe the deals offered at car expo should still able to get the same on this weekend, as ADs also want to close more deals lo. Aion V interior spacious and features quite attractive as compared with S5. I find S5 interior space and features don't have the wow factor. I test drove Aion V and S5, i find the handling and ride in Aion V feels very EV. S5 handling and ride is good and nice and it doesn't drive like an EV. Atto 3 not nice. I also find atto 2 interior is nice but too bad this car is entry level EV, range and battery are small. So what did the SE has done to turn you off le? in the past i saw the deals last for about another week after the car show. hope it is the same this time. the byd SEs i tried to make my enquiry either said he was engaged with customers (he was just wandering around when i walked up to him) n the other one just want to tell me to get the guaranteed coe package w/o answering my other questions. Kia SEs ignored me too. maybe i should dress up n wear a rolex to go car show in the future to show i sm a serious customer. actually before i go to the expo, my mind was on atto3 n S5. i ended up going forth n back between MG S5 n Aion V many times to compare the two cars, especially getting in n out of the cars (coz my old parents may find it challenging whrn too high). 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
samwongothers Clutched May 12 Share May 12 (edited) @ConnorMcLeod I’m sharing the same concern about elderly parents having difficulties going into cars if the height is too tall. However, i read up that the ground clearance for S5 is shorter (~140mm) than the Aion V ‘s ~180mm. So it’s interesting to hear that you (or your parents) actually prefers Aion V’s rear entry. Btw I’ve also PMed you 🙂 Edited May 12 by samwongothers 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 12 Share May 12 On 5/12/2026 at 11:46 PM, ConnorMcLeod said: @samwongothers Hi, i looked at both S5 n S6. possible i mixed up the frunk. S6 is beyond my budget, n i doubt i can handle a big car like it. Thanks. i noticed the "free" service that comes with the guaranteed COE package. not exactly free to me. During the car expo, MG was selling S5 event car at $169k. Consider not a bad deal during this high coe. When the S6 was first launched early this year, i think the price was around $190k which also quite a good deal. As S5 price was once selling around $190k also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 12 Share May 12 (edited) On 5/13/2026 at 12:04 AM, ConnorMcLeod said: in the past i saw the deals last for about another week after the car show. hope it is the same this time. the byd SEs i tried to make my enquiry either said he was engaged with customers (he was just wandering around when i walked up to him) n the other one just want to tell me to get the guaranteed coe package w/o answering my other questions. Kia SEs ignored me too. maybe i should dress up n wear a rolex to go car show in the future to show i sm a serious customer. actually before i go to the expo, my mind was on atto3 n S5. i ended up going forth n back between MG S5 n Aion V many times to compare the two cars, especially getting in n out of the cars (coz my old parents may find it challenging whrn too high). Usually there are tons of SE at BYD, no one could entertain you? Their service so bad ah. Quite surprising that KIA SEs also has bad service?! Thought their cars not selling very well?! Lol. If you want for easy getting in and out of the car, then the only choice would be Aion V. S5 a bit high, although still not say very high la. I find Aion V overall the interior quite big and comfortable, and comes with many many features which S5 don’t have. The only thing the exterior design esp the front part might not appeal to some people. And the drive and handling might be too EV. Edited May 12 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ConnorMcLeod 2nd Gear May 12 Share May 12 @samwongothers my understanding of ground clearance is bottom of car to ground, while i am more foncerned about seat to ground n how high to lift leg to get in & out of car. both cars i feel seat to ground are almost the same height, but s5 seems to have a slightly taller door frame bottom that i have to lift my legs higher to get pass it. my dad will nag me to get a mifa 7 with sliding doors 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ConnorMcLeod 2nd Gear May 13 Share May 13 (edited) @13177 $169k is for the event cars and already sold out when i reach the Expo on Sunday afternoon. those who went to the expo prepared n early can benefit from this deal. Edited May 13 by ConnorMcLeod 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged May 13 Share May 13 On 5/13/2026 at 7:59 AM, ConnorMcLeod said: @samwongothers my understanding of ground clearance is bottom of car to ground, while i am more foncerned about seat to ground n how high to lift leg to get in & out of car. both cars i feel seat to ground are almost the same height, but s5 seems to have a slightly taller door frame bottom that i have to lift my legs higher to get pass it. my dad will nag me to get a mifa 7 with sliding doors Short of getting a 7-seater car with sliding doors, and if you can get pass the exterior look (subjective though), the EV with the cabin space of the Aion V and with nearly the same trunk space as well as very ingress and egress whether at rear or in front is the AION Y Plus. Its sides has NO frame kerbs as its floor is flat throughout side-to-side. Your dad can easily slide his feet into and out of the cabin. It feels wider than its sibling due to the kerbless floor. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ConnorMcLeod 2nd Gear May 13 Share May 13 @DOBIEMKZ Thanks for the info. didn't look at the Y Plus at all. will take a look at it online later today. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...