Volvobrick Hypersonic June 17 Share June 17 (edited) On 6/17/2025 at 5:00 PM, SGCM928 said: You hit the nail on the head. Same piece of shitty certificate, yet can earn so much more, why not? It is just disgusting that he make it sound so noble, to protect us commoner. Pui!! “If we didn’t have private-hire cars today, actually the reverse would be true, that a large number of these people will feel that they need to buy a car, and then... they will bid the price of the COE up,” he argued. Noting that the economics of a private-hire car are “much more efficient”, Mr Siow asked: “If you had one COE left to allocate, is it better to allocate it to a private car owner, who then drives maybe two trips a day and leaves the car in the garage? “Or is it better to share the car among a much larger group of Singaporeans who can have access to the use of a car when they need it? Surely it must be the latter, right?” I think 99% of MCF member can see the policy written on the wall, except a few id10ts (yah, I finally decided to block them today) who keep arguing for the sake of argument. The statement by Jeffery is fundamentally flawed. 1. Without PHV, the number of people looking to buy a car will increase, that is for sure, but with limited financial resources (vs PHV operators, rental companies, etc.), there is bound to be a "cut-off point", especially for most bread and butter car buyers. In contrast, business owners has little concern with COE premium since hirer will be the one footing the bill. 2. The reverse may actually happen (PHV driving up COE premium) when people more people get addicted to car sharing wagon. More hirers = more demand, more players enter the market, more companies bidding for the limited COE, and premium goes up. If you think what I mentioned is a little far stretch, look at the price and rental of commercial properties. End of the day, we are going to be the one footing the bill, whether we own a car or not. 3. The 2nd statement says it all, leaving the car in the garage. Is Jeffery referring to people like Tommie Goh? If that is the case, why not impose ABSD for owning 2nd, 3rd, or more cars, or impose surcharge for not hitting a min annual mileage? The converse is true. 2nd car onwards should be coe free and arf free since it is not driven and only parked at home. Doesn't contribute to road congestion yet pay road tax. Provided only one named driver with already a full COE/ARF car under his name. Everyone happy! Let's call it Project Blue Ribbon - Second Car instead of Second Chance. PS I will buy a Kancil as first car and 911 Turbo S as the second car.... Edited June 17 by Volvobrick ↡ Advertisement 2 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged June 17 Share June 17 On 6/17/2025 at 6:52 PM, Etnt said: Can lead by example for him and his compatriots, return their coe. Please. They are professional. They need to travel. Peasant like us just go downstairs pick cardboard boxes. Good form of exercise too. No nid car. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 17 Share June 17 This js wont live long...at least on this job...first time oredi kena left right centre even from our somewhat mild mannered voodoman and lalaeggsatu...lampah min presented sk over pmd...this fellow gonna cost termite another one...let's join ah mock...ccb pxp...😁 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniu82 Supercharged June 17 Share June 17 See! Siow liao right? 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic June 17 Share June 17 Jeffrey is a joke. 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged June 17 Share June 17 On 6/17/2025 at 2:55 PM, 13177 said: I interpret that he means that all private car owner are wasting every coe quota cause they only use the car two times per day and car is parked in the carpark most of the time?! 🙄 He has conveniently forgotten it's the PHVs which are out on the roads every other hour that is causing the jams and congestions, not the private owners 😁 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged June 17 Share June 17 On 6/17/2025 at 4:24 PM, Rickster said: And tell me sir, why would you want to allocate car ownership and limit vehicle population? All things considered, between a marginal Merc C-Class/BMW 3 Series buyer and a high end Ferrari/Rolls-Royce buyer, Govt will prefer the latter. Because the accompanying taxes from the higher end is now very substantial for the Govt coffers. So we are heading towards: Cat A - PHV Cat B - Ultra luxury Anything in between will be eliminated. 2 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged June 17 Share June 17 (edited) A bit more here. Seems like he's another Lui Tuck Yew. https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/i-take-it-whenever-i-can-acting-transport-minister-jeffrey-siow-wants-rekindle Quote "I take public transport whenever I can because it's helpful to see things for yourself," said Siow, who revealed he commutes on the North East Line and Circle Line. "And whenever I see something, LTA is kept a little busy. Yesterday evening, I saw that one of the handrails on the escalator was a bit worn. So, I told them (to) fix it," he added. The MRT staff must really hate seeing him. Quote Siow said that his ministry will continue investing to improve reliability to the rail and bus systems. To that end, Siow said that public transport fares are expected to rise over time. Calling it "planned unhappiness", he said: "We know we have to do this.. .because there are people who work in the transport sector whose wages need to rise over time. "If you say that fares must decline, you are essentially saying that wages must decline." Well, you heard it here first. Edited June 17 by Benarsenal 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 17 Share June 17 Kim Huat for Ministar! https://youtu.be/H1qCuYYI0sM?feature=shared 2 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 17 Share June 17 On 6/17/2025 at 9:08 PM, Soya said: Kim Huat for Ministar! https://youtu.be/H1qCuYYI0sM?feature=shared This is the first time I've seen Kim huat openly imply what a absolute dumbass comment. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic June 17 Share June 17 On 6/17/2025 at 9:06 PM, Benarsenal said: A bit more here. Seems like he's another Lui Tuck Yew. https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/i-take-it-whenever-i-can-acting-transport-minister-jeffrey-siow-wants-rekindle The MRT staff must really hate seeing him. Well, you heard it here first. "Siow said that his ministry will continue investing to improve reliability to the rail and bus systems." "And whenever I see something, LTA is kept a little busy. Yesterday evening, I saw that one of the handrails on the escalator was a bit worn. So, I told them (to) fix it," he added. Siao liao! Improve the rail system is not go improve the hand rail! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic June 17 Share June 17 On 6/17/2025 at 9:08 PM, Soya said: Kim Huat for Ministar! https://youtu.be/H1qCuYYI0sM?feature=shared First time I actually finished listening to his TKSS! Yeah MPs/Ministers should car pool to go farliment! 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator June 17 Share June 17 Classified Information Date: Days after GE2025 Venue: Unknown Event: Interview for Transport Minister role Transcript LW: Thanks for coming. You know you are here for? JS: Yes, PM. I am sure I can take up whatever role you offer me. LW: Great. Let cut the chase. Tell me what you will do if I put you to lead the transport ministry. JS: I would say this... "If you had one COE left to allocate, is it better to allocate it to a private car owner, who then drives maybe two trips a day and leaves the car in the garage? “Or is it better to share the car among a much larger group of Singaporeans who can have access to the use of a car when they need it? Surely it must be the latter, right?” LW: Ok you got the job! But let start with Acting Minister. I will promote you to a full Minister if you survived the baptism of fire. God bless. 19 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear June 17 Share June 17 On 6/17/2025 at 11:11 PM, Volvobrick said: First time I actually finished listening to his TKSS! Yeah MPs/Ministers should car pool to go farliment! I suspect Mr Brown is lurking in mcf haha. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic June 18 Share June 18 (edited) On 6/18/2025 at 4:47 AM, badlammy said: I suspect Mr Brown is lurking in mcf haha. Maybe is @Jamesc?or @inlinesix.? Edited June 18 by ER-3682 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 18 Share June 18 On 6/18/2025 at 4:47 AM, badlammy said: I suspect Mr Brown is lurking in mcf haha. Mr Brown is a 国宝。 Can do comedy wearing singlet and sleeveless tee like a true singkie who don't switch on AC in daytime. Can sing canto and Chinese karaoke. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raychay 6th Gear June 18 Share June 18 He means better to allocate it to a phv, leave the car in the car park and then wait for someone to lease.... 4 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 18 Share June 18 On 6/17/2025 at 10:15 PM, Lala81 said: This is the first time I've seen Kim huat openly imply what a absolute dumbass comment. Like that he calls out such dumbass comments in a humorous way instead of juz F here F there ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...